Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
19,544 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Dodge Journey steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Dodge Journey Owner Comments

problem #9

Jun 162016


  • 90,000 miles


Twice now while driving my car it has completely shut down. The car goes from the speed I am doing to everything in my car shutting down with no warning. I had several problems with my radio not working(touch screen) and my car charger in the car doesn't work, ireally thing that the car has an electrical roblem

- Mechancvillie, NY, USA

problem #8

Dec 312014


  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Journey. While driving at approximately 55 mph, the throttle and traction control warning indicators illuminated and the vehicle shook violently. On a separate occasion, while driving at low speeds, the engine stalled without warning. The failures recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the BCM needed to be replaced and reprogrammed. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. While driving at approximately 15 mph, the check engine, throttle, and traction control warning indicators illuminated and the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the BCM needed to be replaced and reprogrammed. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 33,000. Updated 05/03/16

- Lilburn, GA, USA

problem #7

Dec 012014

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
2012 Dodge Journey. Consumer writes in regards to steering issues, fuel leaks and brake system problems. The consumer stated upon picking the vehicle up from the dealer, it was leaking gas while driving on the freeway. The vehicle stalled. Also, there was an issue with the steering......updated 02/11/16

- Belleville, MI, USA

problem #6

Aug 012012

Journey 6-cyl

  • 900 miles


I purchased this car new on July 23,2012, and almost immediately there was a loud groaning noise from the front end, also started to pull to the right. My first dealer contact was on Sept 4, 2012 and worked on the brakes, and this somewhat corrected the problem for about a week. The dealer has worked on the steering and brakes a total of 8 times, replacing the brakes several times, also deglazeing and lubricating and whatever, each time it worked for a week or so. The last time, April 29, 2014, a complete brake job was done on the rear brakes, a front end alignment, and repair the front brakes. This cost me $499. Mileage is 46700. They also rebuilt the engine due to head and valve failure. As of May 25, 2015 it is again making the noise and pulling hard to the right. I think Chrysler should take this car back. VIN [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Hampshire, IL, USA

problem #5

Aug 012014


  • 33,000 miles
The contact owned a 2012 Dodge Journey. While driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle veered to the right without warning. As a result, the contact crashed into a boulder and the air bags failed to deploy. The driver sustained shoulder, chest, neck, and head injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 33,000.

- Bradford, NY, USA

problem #4

Jun 062013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 13,000 miles
We purchased a new 2012 Journey in March 2012 from are local Dodge dealer...bought a new vehicle because we did not want to be shelling out money for repairs....have been a Dodge customer for some 20 yrs... all in all..I love my Journey...can't say the same for the dealer or Chrysler.. in March of 2013 at about 12,500 my mechanic suggested I might want to get alignment checked out because the front tires were wearing abnormally...I tried to call the dealer about the warranty to see if this was covered...they never called me back....on 6/15/13 at about 13,000...I went back to my guy...he informed me that the front tires were indeed bald already, and suggested I go to the dealer to see what they could do....I was greeting by a very smug, cocky and rude service manager named john.....he told me Chrysler does not stand behind the tires or the alignment.....really john"??? even at 13000 you don't see a possible problem ?? what did I pay 26,000 $ for ?" at this point john and I exchanged some words and he said you too.....ended up having my guy take care of this...600 $ later, and feeling much safer, I now have two new tires on the front, fixed the alignment and also put in two front camberts. Which he thought were defective from the factory knowing the car has not been hit.. also have noticed the when driving at lower speeds (10-30) that it seems like the acceleration seems to struggle or wants to skip at times....I have seen this issue mentioned before. While my issues do not compare to some of these others on issue still the same that cost me 600 $ and an issue that will lead me to another dealer when the time comes !!!!!!

- Binghamton, NY, USA

problem #3

Sep 222012

Journey 4-cyl

  • 2,000 miles


While I exited off a highway ramp to proceed on another highway, I put my indicator on to break into highway traffic, my vehicle then lost control by itself and slammed repeatedly onto the guard rails. The vehicle did not come to an immediate stop so I struggled to gain control and the vehicle stopped approximately.45 mi from the accident. It is a new car with a 100,000 miles warranty so I called the manufacturer and made a complaint. They had an investigator come out and investigate the crash and car and I don't know what the end result is because up to this day I have not received a copy of the report or any information on what happened to my car the day of the crash. I am devastated because I have been without my car ever since. It is still in the manufacturers possession. They do not answer any of my calls or respond to any of my massages. I struggled the entire winter months with my children because we had to walk in severe weather and temperatures. I am a mom with five children and its been a struggle fro me not knowing anything about my car or having it to use. Please help me because this is abuse and injustice to my civil rights.

- Boonton, NJ, USA

problem #2

Sep 222012


  • 3,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Journey SE. The contact stated that while driving approximately 20 to 25 mph, the vehicle spun out of control without any warning. The vehicle stopped after it crashed into the guard rail. The contact did not receive any injuries. The police were contacted and a report was available. The vehicle was later towed to a dealer. The manufacturer was contacted and they informed her that an investigator would come out and diagnose the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired pending the investigation. The failure and current mileages were approximately 3,000.

- Boonton, NJ, USA

problem #1

Sep 222012

Journey 4-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
I purchased the vehicle on June 15,2012. Unexpectedly, on September 22, 2012 my vehicle lost control at the location I 287nb exit 41A parsippany ramp onto 80 E traffic then my vehicle lost control and slammed onto the guard rail repeatedly. I immediately notified john johnson of the incident and I pleaded for them to send me a tow truck because of my 100,000 mi warranty. Further, I contacted the manufacturers Chrysler group and explained the situation. Eventually, because of the accident cause and effect they took the vehicle and send for a contractor inspector from Pennsylvania to inspect the car. After the inspection, the contractor contacted me and told me he is sending in the report to Chrysler and wait a week before contacting them for a copy of the report. Moreover, I followed up, and Chrysler could not tell me who was handling my case. Finally, after pursuing my case someone told me that my vehicle case file was closed and sent to the legal department because it was determined that my vehicle steering wheel went out. Further, I was told that someone would be in contact with me shortly. No one contacted me and several weeks passed and I still didn't hear anything from the Chrysler group. I tried again until I got an answer and I was told to expect a letter and no further information was provided. Eventually, after a long wait, I received a letter that stated that my claim is denied and that the inspector did not find any manufacturing defect that caused the accident. I asked for a copy of the report and Chrysler refuse to provide me with the inspection report that gathered information from the vehicle imaging onboard computer systems. Additionally, I am still without my car or a car. My family and I have had pain and suffering and hardship over this ordeal. And I am still making monthly payments for a car I don't have or drive. Can you please help me?

- Boonton, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?