Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,057 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Dodge Journey electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Dodge Journey Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #32

Aug 102016

Journey

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Helfman Dodge katy freeway houston 713-533-6100 say parts for safety recall "on back order, ,,may take a few weeks or months" before they have the parts. ABS notice R61/NHTSA 15V-675. So we are left with a potentially serious problem with dealer unable or unwilling to repair.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #31

Jul 022016

Journey

  • 39,000 miles
I took my vehicle in to the dealership for the recall to update the computer. After having the recall fixed in May 2016, I was turning left from a complete stop at a stop light and the vehicle started missing, it would not accelerate properly, and the engine light started flashing. This was on 6/2/16. The vehicle was running really rough, as though it was going to stall. I came to a complete stop at the next traffic light, the engine light quit flashing & appeared solid. It stopped missing, but there was a definite lack of power and acceleration capability. I got the vehicle back to dealer on 6/3/16. Again unable to recreate incident, so they reran the computer update from the recall, cleared codes & turned check engine light off. On 7/2/16, I was once again sitting completely stopped at a traffic light getting ready to turn left. While idling at stop light check engine light started flashing again & the vehicle started running rough. I was turning into a parking lot for a shopping center. As I attempted to pull into a parking spot the vehicle stalled half in the parking spot. I put the vehicle in park and was able to start it back up and pull the rest of the way in the spot. After being in the store about an hour, we came back out, the vehicle started, but again had a definite lack of power. After driving it less than a mile, it stalled out again while slowing down to come to a stop. We were able to start the vehicle back and get it back home, still with a definitely lack of power, and park it for the holiday weekend. After the holiday, on 7/5/16, I took the vehicle back to the dealership. Once again they can't find anything wrong, have cleared codes, turned off check engine light & advised me to come pick it up. I chatted with Dodge customer service and they claim to be unaware of the issue or any resolution. Transcript attached.

- Middletown, OH, USA

problem #30

Apr 282016

Journey

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Journey. While attempting to start the vehicle, it failed to start. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 35,000.

- San Jacinto, CA, USA

problem #29

Jan 152016

Journey

  • 47,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Journey. While driving 55 mph, the gauges and meters failed to function. All the lights on the instrument cluster failed to illuminate. In addition, the accelerator pedal was depressed, but the vehicle jerked and hesitated before accelerating. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who was unable to diagnose or repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 47,000.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #28

Jan 152016

Journey

  • miles
Ed voyles Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram has failed to remedy the recall of the anti-lock brake system control module for my 2014 Dodge Journey in a reasonable amount of time. After I was initially notified of the recall, I called to schedule a service to address the problem. I was told at this time that the parts required were not in stock and to check back in a few days. Upon calling a second time, I was told that I would be notified when the parts became available. After a month of waiting and no notification, I called for a third time and was told parts were still not in stock and that I would now be placed on a waiting list. Ed voyles failed to offer a timeline for resolution nor simply tell me my place on the wait list, stating that it was not numbered.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #27

Jan 072015

Journey

  • 9,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the instrument panel lights failed to illuminate. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The contact also stated that when the gear shifter was placed into the reverse position, the accelerator was depressed, the vehicle independently shifted into the drive position. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the transmission was recalibrated. In addition, the contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the brake pedal was depressed, but the vehicle hesitated to stop while making a grinding sound. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V675000 (electronic stability control, service brakes, hydraulic) however, the parts were unavailable to perform the repairs. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 9,000.

- Winder, GA, USA

problem #26

Oct 142015

Journey

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Journey. When the brake pedal was depressed, the vehicle jerked. The battery warning indicator illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the failure was not determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V675000 (electronic stability control, service brakes, hydraulic); however, the parts were unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #25

May 112014

Journey 4-cyl

  • 1,100 miles
The vehicle described above has been unable to unlock by itself on a continuing, but not regular basis. This occurs upon leaving the vehicle on several occasion. Per the dealer request, we began recording the number of times and locations. The attempts to correct or define the issue by Fiat Chrysler America and blue water Chrysler-Dodge- Jeep have garnered no corrective measures. I believe the compromises my family's safety as it remains uncorrected. The vehicle has been to the repair shop seven times for the issue.....updated 11/18/15

- Port Huron, MI, USA

problem #24

Oct 262015

Journey

  • 100 miles
During drive the car shuts down, I have taken it to the dealer, and they say nothing is coming up and they only have had it for 3 days, I told the dealership that it shuts down when it wants to.

- Covina, CA, USA

problem #23

Jan 152015

Journey

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that while driving at 70 mph, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was able to be restarted. The vehicle also was shaking and would jerk while driving at 70 mph. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 10,000.

- Decatur, GA, USA

problem #22

Sep 162015

Journey

  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

One of the biggest problem is the back doors not locking when in drive like they use to. My sons door didn't lock like normal (inside door child lock was locked too) but worse of all my car didn't even show that the door was open in the back and I didn't hear him fall out and it open and he fell out while driving, my check engine has been on and my outside temp on car dash reads 185 all the time, it loses power while driving, the radio also turns volume up and down and channels changes by itself. My wipes back and front sometimes go and don't turn off. My right fender is no longer on the car because when I got a flat aaa lifted the car from the under carriage and the fender just came off on one side like bolts weren't even place on there I bought this car for safety for myself and kids and this car is not safe and Dodge won't help and I'm very upside down on it, im a recently divorced mom waiting for disability for my back. I can't afford to trade it with more money down. I paid a down 6500 and pay 400. Per month and never thought I would have to worry that my kid would fall out while child lock was on and when the doors should lock, . now this new recall with the engine makes me worried to drive my three kids to school or anywhere for that matter.

- North Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #21

Jun 052014

Journey

  • 200 miles
Driving at any speed the power to the stereo console/informational, control center and the center console intermittently loses power. Not set situation, speed, weather. Took to dealership in which we bought it from button motors in kokomo, in. They stated they couldn't duplicate the problem and gave us the car back. To this day and my mileage is now 25,000. The problem is still happening.

- Kokomo, IN, USA

problem #20

Jun 222015

Journey 4-cyl

  • 14,189 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled after it was started. The vehicle was able to restart after numerous attempts. The check engine warning indicator illuminated. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V431000 (engine and engine cooling); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 11/09/15 updated 11/18/15.

- Lachine, MI, USA

problem #19

Aug 272015

Journey

  • 16,000 miles
The entire vehicle lost all power temporarily as we were driving.

- Douglasville, GA, USA

problem #18

Aug 042015

Journey

  • 20,000 miles
The vehicle erupted into flames while sitting in the driveway. The car was off and had not been driven for about 12 hours. The vehicle had been into the dealership several times for the radio, navigation, back up camera shorting out while coming to a stop. The night before the fire the vehicles back up camera shorted out and came back on while reversing out of a parking spot. We were going to take the car into the dealership for this problem on 08-06-2015. The neighbors came and got my wife and children out of the house and called the fire department. I have pictures of the fire and all service records of the vehicle leading up to the fire.

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #17

Jul 062015

Journey

  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that when the key fob was left in the vehicle, the vehicle automatically locked and unlocked independently. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the failure was not duplicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 13,000.

- Hondo, TX, USA

problem #16

Jul 042015

Journey

  • 97,050 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the key fobs failed and the vehicle would lock independently. On one occasion, the contact left the keys in the vehicle accidently while an infant was in the vehicle. The vehicle locked independently and failed to unlock. As a result, the contact shattered the front passenger side window. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 97,050.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #15

Jul 012015

Journey

  • 500 miles
The vehicle doors will often unlock after leaving the vehicle. The doors are locked, the doors are closed and when about 3 feet from the car, sometimes the doors will unlock themselves. This happens intermittently. The key fob is in the drivers pocket, by itself.

- Manchester, MI, USA

problem #14

Mar 022015

Journey

  • 20,000 miles
Bought this wonderful (not) car to replace my minivan. Within the first month, when I would put my cell phone in the "cave" under the radio, the radio would scan. Did this multiple times and eventually when I opened the doors (a couple of times), the radio actually muted, ,,,they checked it out and they replaced the radio, then something else to do with the radio....butttt, it still does it. Mentioned that while driving through country roads, the read end gets loose. After he asked me 1) do you drive fast through on the country roads and 2) do I live in in the country (both no answers), they "checked it out" and bam....new shocks on the back. Kinda miffed that they questioned my driving ability actually. I told them that the transmission seemed to shift weird. They checked it out and said there was an "upgrade" that could be done, and they did it. Seemed to work for a while, but it is doing it again. Turned the rear wiper on and off (light rain) and it kept going. I did not push the washer option, and know how to work a rear wiper, but when I mentioned that to them, they looked at me like I was an idiot and explained how the washer option works. But of course, they could find nothing wrong with it. With my next oil change, they are checking on the creaking sound that it makes while driving on bumpy roads at slow speeds....they think that it is the bearings in my leaf spring, but sounds like when we had to replace a strut on my van. All in all, I like the room and setup of the inside of the car, but boy....I have never paid so much for a lemon in my life!! and....guess who didn't buy the extended warranty"???" you guessed it.

- Ramsey, IL, USA

problem #13

Jun 052015

Journey

  • 20,000 miles
I purchased this car in Feb 2015. Family and I drove 900 miles from ga to NJ for a funeral. The car would not start, no lights, power steering, nothing! the non-Chrysler dealer blamed Chrysler and Chrysler blamed the non-Chrysler dealer. Chrysler roadside picked up the car Saturday morning and took it to a NJ Chrysler dealer for repair. My family and I had to return to ga on Sunday night. No one provided us with a rental car to return home. We had to secure/pay for a rental vehicle on our own. On Monday (2 days later) the NJ Chrysler dealer had not looked at the car. On Tuesday (3 days later) the NJ Chrysler dealer told me it was the BCM (body control module) = one of the computers and the part was on backorder with no eta. This car had 18K miles and a 2014 when I bought it less than 4 months earlier. I called Chrysler warranty that assigned a case manager. On Wednesday (4 days later) case manager contacted me to submit my receipts for rental car reimbursement, they have a rental car for me in NJ and not ga, and trying to expedite backorder part. I told the case manager that I don't need the rental in NJ, I need it in ga. Have not heard from her since. I am so disappointed in the lack of quality customer service I received from the everyone involved. I am afraid to drive this vehicle from NJ to ga as what is being told to me will be the case in order for me to get the car back. This car is still under warranty and provisions should be made to accommodate me for the repair and inconvenience. I have not received either from Chrysler corporation or the non-Chrysler dealer. I will never by a Chrysler or recommend it to someone.

- Smryna, GA, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?