Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: This is a classic example of why you should avoid the first model year of a new car. Sure, it's new and shiny but there's going to be some growing pains.

The 2005 Magnum has problems with the gear shifter getting stuck, a shaky and sometimes stalled engine and transmission failure at 75,000 miles.

Let someone else deal with those headaches.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
27,222 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Magnum seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Magnum:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Magnum Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #34

Dec 182014

Magnum

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have been placed on a waiting list with the Dodge dealership since December 2014 when I received the first safety recall notice in the mail. I have yet been able to get the recall issues repaired/corrected.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #33

Aug 102015

Magnum

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Magnum. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bryan, TX, USA

problem #32

Jul 312013

Magnum 6-cyl

  • 72,518 miles
1). on 7-31-13, I got into my car and started it in my driveway, the shift knob would not come out of park position. I called aaa to tow it to finnegan Dodge in rosenberg, tx. The dealer replaced shift assembly. Paid $390.36. Since then, car still will not come out of park to go into gear most of the time. I have to pump brake pedal about 4 to 5 times before it would go into gear. 2) received airbag recall and called finnegan Dodge, and dropped off vehicle on 6-22-15. Mileage was 82,058. Dealer stated they replaced driver airbag inflater and tested the system. I picked up car on 6-23-15 and the passenger airbag warning light started coming on at any given time whether there was a passenger or not. I did not have these problems until airbag work was done. Called several times and said someone will call back, but never did. I called on 7-24-15, and they scheduled me to bring the car back on 8-5-15. Hopefully, they won't charge me for their mess-up. Updated 09/14/15. Updated 08/04/16.

- Richmond, TX, USA

problem #31

Mar 022015

Magnum

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Dodge Magnum. Consumer writes in regards to parts not available to complete passenger airbag inflator housing recall notice.

- Grand Rapids, MN, USA

problem #30

May 292015

Magnum

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Magnum. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable timeframe to schedule the recall repair. The dealer kept asking the contact to call back, but there was no follow up call to schedule the recall repair appointment. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The VIN was unknown. The contact was not experiencing a failure.

- Bedford, OH, USA

problem #29

May 272015

Magnum

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Magnum. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #28

Jun 282015

Magnum

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Magnum. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V770000 (air bags) and 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Suagr Grove, IL, USA

problem #27

Jun 052015

Magnum

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Magnum. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #26

May 182015

Magnum 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Magnum. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V817000 (air bags) in January; however, the part needed to do the repair was still not available. The contact was made aware that there was no timeframe for the part to become available. The contact felt the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/16/15 updated 9/22/2015

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #25

May 012015

Magnum

  • 114,521 miles
A driver suddenly stopped in front of while I was moving resulting of me hitting her in the back. Front of my car is totaled. The shock was violent but the airbag never deployed. Thank god I was not greatly hurt.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #24

Apr 232015

Magnum 6-cyl

  • 138,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There is a recall on my vehicle P78 / NHTSA 14V-770. I received the notice on 15 Feb 15. I called my local Dodge dealer, landers mclarty Dodge of huntsville, al on 25 Feb 15 and asked about how to schedule my vehicle for repair. I was told by the person that I was connected to in the service dept that I need to call back after the first of March as they had not received any parts to perform the recall. On 5 March 15, I called back and was told that someone would contact me from the dealership to set up an appointment. Nobody ever called me. On 2 April I called to check on the status of the parts and was told that they had not received them yet. They was again told that someone form the dealership would call me about this matter. Nobody ever called me. On 23 Apr, I called again and explained that twice I had been told that someone would contact and that nobody ever did. I asked how much longer I would have to wait to get my car fixed to where it was safe to drive. This time, I was told that since my car is 10 years old, I should forget about repairing it according to the recall and just trade it in on a new car. This is highly unprofessional of this dealership. I simply want my car's airbags fixed, I should not have to continually call the dealership and be stonewalled. If a dealership wants my business, they should return phone calls when they say that they will. My car is unsafe to drive in its present condition, and I should not have to wait over three months to get the recall applied to it. I should not have to subjected to sales pressure just because my car is 10 years old. It still runs great, and meets my needs with the exception that now I am told that it is unsafe to drive until the airbags get replaced/repaired.

- Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #23

Apr 102015

Magnum

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Magnum. The contact stated that the air bag warning light flashed for a few days and then a red air bag warning light flashed on the front passenger side. In addition, the red warning light for the air bag remained illuminated. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V817000 (air bags). The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Irvington, NJ, USA

problem #22

Apr 102015

Magnum

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Magnum. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V770000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- North Richland Hills, TX, USA

problem #21

Sep 152014

Magnum

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Magnum. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number:14V817000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #20

Mar 202015

Magnum

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Magnum. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V817000 (air bags) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #19

Mar 172015

Magnum

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Magnum. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V770000 (air bags) and 14V817000 (air bags) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mililani, HI, USA

problem #18

Nov 302014

Magnum

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Magnum. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers:14V817000 (air bags) and 14V770000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bothan, AL, USA

problem #17

Feb 252015

Magnum 6-cyl

  • 32,000 miles
2005 Dodge Magnum SXT 3.5 liter V6 all wheel drive passenger airbag light stays on replace clock spring on March 5th and March 6th came right back on code was B1B02 is there a recall for passenger side airbag light.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #16

Dec 142014

Magnum

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Magnum. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V817000 (air bags). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #15

Dec 312014

Magnum

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Magnum. The contact received notification of the NHTSA campaign number: 14V817000 (air bags) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- Dade City, FL, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?