Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

4.2

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
28,132 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Dodge Nitro engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Dodge Nitro:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Dodge Nitro Owner Comments

problem #15

Jan 022012

Nitro

  • 51,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Nitro. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, the battery lamp illuminated and the temperature gauge indicated that the vehicle was overheating. The contact also stated that the water pump had come loose and the serpentine belt detached. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who verified the failure but was unable to determine what caused the failure. The water pump, serpentine belt, and head gasket were replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and offered no assistance. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 51,000 and the current mileage was 52,690.

- Brush Prairie, WA, USA

problem #14

Oct 192011

Nitro

  • 75,000 miles
My electronics control module warning light came on I pulled over and then took it straight to the nearest Dodge dealership. They called me tues next day and said that my engine had hydro locked.

- Amarillo, TX, USA

problem #13

Dec 042011

Nitro

  • 65,000 miles
Used the key fob to lock the car, walked out about 10 minutes later to find the cooling fan running on the car even though the car had not moved. Unlocked the car the fan stopped running but he battery was dead. Charged the battery and all was fine till trying to leave for work on Monday morning when battery was dead again after using the key fob to lock the car. No longer using the key fob until we can find out what is going on.

- Ladson, SC, USA

problem #12

Sep 132011

Nitro 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2007 Dodge Nitro. The car is less four years old and I am having major repair problems already. I understand that wear and tear of a vechicle will result in repairs, but I have never had an ac compresser go out within four years. Needless to say, Dodge is refusing to fix the problem. I have researched the problem on line and their are countless Dodge Nitro customers with the same problem. If there is a defect with the compressor, it's not my responsibility to pay for it. Dodge really needs to investigate this complaint. I requested to speak to a supervisor at Dodge headquarters, and I was told that would not happen. The customer service representative went on to say the repairs would be my responsibility.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #11

Jul 192011

Nitro

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Nitro. The contact stated that while parked, the vehicle began to shake because a part detached from the engine and the vehicle became inoperable. The contact was unaware as to what the specific part was. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostics. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Resaca, GA, USA

problem #10

Dec 202010

Nitro 6-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
First repair: Vehicle would jerk (as if it was shifting too hard) when going over bumps in the road and would stop (RPM gauge drops to 0, lose power steering, would have to coast to shoulder and re-start vehicle). Fuel injector was replaced. Second repair: Vehicle would not start without several attempts, once it started it would stop driving (RPM gauge drops to 0, lose power steering, would have to coast to shoulder and re-start vehicle). Relay was replaced. Third repair (about to go back to shop tomorrow)- car started normally and then stopped while driving (RPM gauge drops to 0, lose power steering, would have to coast to shoulder and re-start vehicle). This is the third time in 2 weeks that the car has been in for servicing for the same problem, and the manufacturer's dealership cannot figure out what is wrong with the vehicle. This has become a major safety concern, as I do not know when the vehicle will stop unexpectedly while driving. I have rented a car until I can have my car repaired again, because I am afraid to drive my car.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #9

May 122010

Nitro

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) I own a 2007 model Dodge Nitro, which I bought in March 2008, from al mulla & behbehani motor co. W.L.L., the official dealer of Chrysler, Dodge & Jeep in kuwait. The vehicle information number is [xxx]. till date my vehicle has covered 45,000 kms. On May 12, 2010, I took my vehicle to the dealer for its periodic oil change. When I returned to pick up my vehicle, I found smoke arising from the engine, even though the engine was switched off. Since then I have contacted the dealer several times to inquire about my vehicle and when I could have it back. Their answer has always been, ┐we need more time.┐ they said they needed to change the whole wiring. The branch manager never takes the telephone. But, after all these local repair work, how can I be sure that a similar incident will not happen again? I would like to know the reason why my vehicle caught fire just after an oil change and while the engine was still off. If this should have happened while I was driving on the highway, it could have resulted in a fatal accident. Incidentally, the dealer provided me the temporary usage of a 2008 model Jeep, in which I discovered to my horror that the hand-brakes were not even functioning. I would appreciate if somebody responsible would look into this matter seriously and respond to my predicament at having bought a Dodge. Looking forward to hearing from you. [xxx]

- Kuwait, 00, USA

problem #8

Jul 312007

Nitro 6-cyl

  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Nitro. The contact stated that the vehicle was smoking in rainy weather/wet conditions from the time she purchased it. More recently and frequently, the vehicle would emit smoke from the engine even when the weather conditions were normal. The passenger seat also had broken piece of plastic on the bracket broke which was replaced three times. The dealer could not determine what caused the vehicle to smoke. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. She had not spoken with the manufacturer to-date. The current mileage was approximately 32,000. The failure mileage was approximately 100. Updated 03/10/10 the consumer also stated she was unable to control the vehicle during high wind conditons. The vehicle also stall times. Updated 05/20/10

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #7

Sep 232009

Nitro

  • 38,000 miles
I have a 2007 Dodge Nitro that I purchased in 2007. Within a few months of owning I took it too the dealer to have the below recall item fixed. I have had problems recently (3 to be exact) when driving down the road at 50-60mph the engine will shut off and all the lights on the instrument panel will come on. Once the engine stalls I am unable to steer or brake. I have notice on the web that there are several other 2007 Dodge Nitro owners experiencing the same issue. Please let me know what action I can take in this matter with Chrysler Dodge. I have yet another service appt set with my dealer. Make: Dodge model: Nitro model year: 2007 manufacturer: DaimlerChrysler corporation mfr's report date: Jul 03, 2007 NHTSA campaign id number: 07V291000 PE07027 NHTSA action number: PE07027 component: Electrical system potential number of units affected: 80894 summary: On certain vehicles, the totally integrated power module (tipm) was programmed with software that may allow the engine to stall under certain operating conditions. Consequence: This could cause a crash without warning. Remedy: Dealers will reprogram the tipm. The recall began on July 5, 2007. Owners may contact DaimlerChrysler at 1-800-853-1403. Notes: DaimlerChrysler recall no. G25. Customers may also contact the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration's vehicle safety hotline at 1-888-327-4236 (tty 1-800-424-9153), or go to www.safercar.gov.

- Kimberly, AL, USA

problem #6

Jul 082008

Nitro 6-cyl

  • 5,495 miles
I am writing to you to express my concerns and also complaints regarding daytona Dodge. My husband and I purchased a 2007 Dodge Nitro on July 7, 2008. We brought it back the very next day, because it wasn't running correctly, and also a check engine light was on. Between July 8th and January 1, 2009, that vehicle has been in the service department of daytona Dodge 11 or 12 times. They have had to drop the transmission on this vehicle 3 times; they brought in a corporate representative from Dodge over in orlando. He test drove the vehicle with us, and did identify that there was a problem. However, after inducting the vehicle back in for service, the problem was still not fixed. I was finally told by the service manager that daytona Dodge service department has done everything they were told to do, and that the vehicle is just suppose to run that way. I find it very difficult to believe that any corporation would manufacture a vehicle to run the way this Nitro does. I have done some investigating, and found that there are various problems that have been associated with the Dodge Nitro. The Nitro I have both shudders at around 40 mph and also has a problem idling, it tries to shut off periodically whilst at a red light. I feel that this is a terrible way to treat customers. Please understand that I am writing to you in the hopes that perhaps you can get someone to address the issue. Updated 03/06/09.

- Daytona Beach, FL, USA

problem #5

Jan 132008

Nitro 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Nitro. With the heater settings on the high and low selections, the air that came from the floor vents produced a lot of cold air. The contact stated that there was warm air coming from the vents above. He took the vehicle to the dealer twice. The first time, the vehicle was with the dealer for three days and they were unable to find any failure. The second time, the vehicle was in the shop for approximately three weeks. The contact was informed that the vehicle was not 100% repaired, and the foam placed under the console on the driver side cut down on some of the cold air coming from the vents. A Chrysler representative was notified to inspect the vehicle. The contact had an appointment scheduled for April 2, 2008, but it was rescheduled for April 3, 2008. The current mileage was 10,852 and failure mileage was 8,000. Updated 04/29/08. The consumer was informed there was a design flaw with the heating system. The consumer stated the vehicle overheated. Updated

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #4

Jun 242007

Nitro 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,400 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Nitro. While driving 15 mph, the engine shut off and several warning indicator lights illuminated. On May 11, 2007, the dealer stated that a wire was loose and made the repair. The dealer's computer also indicated that there was a power shut down. The dealer stated that they may be unable to diagnose the cause of failure if the second failure cannot be duplicated. The Alabama lemon law applies if three failures occur for the same incident. The contact can provide an invoice. The current mileage is 9,800 and failure mileage was 9,400.

- Birmingham , AL, USA

problem #3

May 142007

Nitro 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 800 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Nitro. While driving 65 mph, the vehicle shut off twice. While driving 35 mph down an exit ramp, the steering failed and the contact pulled off the road. The vehicle is currently at the dealer. The VIN and engine size were unavailable. The contact was advised by Chrysler to file a complaint. The current mileage is 1,100 and failure mileage was 800.

- Lena, MS, USA

problem #2

Mar 012007

Nitro 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 560 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Nitro slt. Since its purchase in February O 2007 the vehicle has been in the shop several times for random stalling. After the first couple of occurrences the vehicle was taken to the shop. The mechanics were unable to diagnose the cause of failure. When the vehicle was taken to the shop for failure again the contact told the mechanics to test drive the vehicle for a day in hopes that they could duplicate the failure. The mechanic obeyed, and called the contact the next day. The mechanic stated that the cause of failure was determined, adjusted, and repaired. Two to three days after the repair was performed all of the instrument panel lights illuminated, the vehicle jerked and stalled, and finally shut off. After approximately 40 seconds she was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle returned to the shop two days later where it currently remained. The contact met with the general manager of the dealer and made him aware of the failure. The current mileage is 4,200, and failure mileage was 560.

- Driftwood, TX, USA

problem #1

Apr 192007

Nitro 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,619 miles
With only 4,500 miles on my 2007 Dodge Nitro, the entire engine stalled, died, while I was driving to work, going about 45 miles per hour. Power loss was complete, no radio, no engine, all lights on the instrument panel came on. The outage lasted about, I guess 30 secs to 1 minute, then the engine came back on as did the radio. I was in heavy traffic, on the inside lane and had it not restarted, I was in a wreck for sure as a big truck was behind me, another car next to me in the outside lane. I have taken it to the dealer which says it could be the ignition switch, but after reading for hours on the Dodge Nitro forum, I find that many have experienced this same issue and not one dealer has been able to find a fix. I have had this vehicle in the shop 7 times since I bought it. All of the problems are a problem for me as this is my only vehicle and being single, I have no other transportation to my teaching job. But this stalling issue, if not fixed, will lead to a major accident any day. Chrysler need to be actively pursuing a fix or a recall for this problem before someone is killed.

- Rockport, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?