Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.6

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
34,973 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Dodge Nitro electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Dodge Nitro:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Dodge Nitro Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Oct 142016

Nitro

  • 92,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since last week, randomly while vehicle was in motion or sitting at idle, it will chime with a warning. All my warning lights flash, all my gauges stop working except vehicle temp, my odometer reads "no bus". the wipers begin to go crazy on their own and I lose operation of my blinkers and high beams as well as fog lights and control of wipers. Main headlights just stay on. The vehicle still runs and drives but the gauges just sound like everything is constantly trying to reset. This lasts anywhere from a minute to 20 minutes. The vehicle will go back to normal and then randomly it will happen again. I drove from charleston wv to la plata md and this instance occurred 9 times in that 6 hour drive. It was completely random and lasted random amounts of time. No bumps or turns triggered it. It didn't favor happening going up or down mountains, just whenever it decided to glitch out. So at any given point during my drive, I'd lose capabilities to use my blinkers and high beams, let alone know how fast I was going and how much fuel I had left....it was very nerve-wracking. From my research with these symptoms, it points to the tipm. This concerns me as multiple other Chrysler, Jeep and Dodge vehicles have had recalls on the tipm for this and fuel pump relay issues. But my vehicle wasn't listed. I feel loss of blinkers, speed and fuel gauges, and proper use of my high beams/fog lights and windshield wipers is a major safety concern. If I can be pulled over not using a blinker but cannot use it due to this issue at random times...that should drive a safety recall.

- La Plata, MD, USA

problem #23

Jun 272016

Nitro

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Nitro. The contact stated that the air bag warning light remained illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V282000 (air bags, electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure and provided no repair solution. The failure mileage was not available.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #22

May 122016

Nitro

  • 1 miles
The wind shield wipers come on and wont turn off and none of the lighting controls work, high beam, on /off, dash controls... this happens randomly.

- Liverpool, NY, USA

problem #21

Mar 262016

Nitro

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My vehicle intermittently will shut off or deny power to the fuel pump, it also will intermittently flash warning signs, and turn the wipers on indefinitely. The issues have all been traced back to the power module and more specifically nonservicable relays. I've contacted the dealership and Chrysler and neither have an eta on the part should I order one. Mostly it happens while stationary but it caused the vehicle to stall on the highway twice. It stated doing this in fall of 2015 but I couldn't properly diagnosis it until March due to it being intermittent.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #20

Feb 152016

Nitro

  • miles
After remote starting my vehicle which was parked in the driveway, the windshield wipers will not turn off.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #19

Jul 012015

Nitro

  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Nitro. The contact stated that while driving at 70 mph, the engine began to rev as the rpms increased independently. In addition, the doors failed to lock electronically and all doors locked independently. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the tipm needed to be replaced however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 53,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- San Marcos, TX, USA

problem #18

Dec 112015

Nitro

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving on 2 lane highway and had to brake hard as another vehicle cut me off. As soon as I did (brake) my SUV shut off...all the lights flashed on the dash board. I immediately put the flashers on and hoped I didn't get rear-ended. I tried 3X to restart my 2011 Dodge Nitro- it finally started. I was near the dealership where I purchased the vehicle, I pulled in, told them what just happened. They hooked it up to the computer and reported 'no errors'. it was a near miss on a busy highway, and I am worried if this were to happen again. I don't feel safe in my Dodge Nitro. I was alone, but what if I had passengers, children, etc.? it is definitely a safety issue when you brake hard and your vehicle just shuts off, wouldn't move. This is incredible scary. Someone or more than one person is going to be killed when they get slammed from behind and pushed into on coming traffic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

- Cortland, NY, USA

problem #17

Oct 192015

Nitro

  • 30,000 miles
My vehicle stalled out due to a failure with a defective totally integrated power module. According to the dealer making the repair wires leading to the alternator and wires leading to the PCM were fried. The wiring issue appear to be a fire hazard. My first concern is this defective part has caused me about $2,000 in repairs from replacing the battery, 2 alternators and towing. My second concern is that in both situations the car died on me in traffic one on a six lane road and another time on the highway. I also had a similar incident on the highway when the motor died with only 30K miles on it and had to be replaced by the manufacturer.

- Riverdale, GA, USA

problem #16

Sep 092015

Nitro

  • 68,370 miles
The horn sounds unexpectedly and usually when parked or moving slowly thru parking areas. Not only does this startle the driver, pedestrians could attempt to move away but into the vehicles path. There have also been incidents of the front door windows rolling down and the moonroof opening after the vehilce has been parked and secured. This presents a safety hazard to my wife who commutes to work and relies on her vehicle beening secure when she leaves after dark. Not to mention the risk of bad weather. These issues have occured at several random intervals and internet forums discuss the same and similar occurences. The date referenced is the most current horn incidence however my wife can't chase down a horn circuit to disable it and the horn is a required safety device.

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #15

Jul 282015

Nitro

  • 88,000 miles
We were on vacation in St augustine fl in the middle of an intersection getting ready to turn and the engine just completely shut off for no reason at all, thank goodness it was around 11:00 at night and there wasn't much traffic because we had a semi truck coming at us, luckily it started right back up and we got out of the way because it could have been a horrific accident ! this vehicle also sputters from time to time like the engine is going to die and also the windshield wipers come on by them selves for no reason ! updated 09/15/15

- Eustis, FL, USA

problem #14

Jul 302014

Nitro 4WD 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving down interstate with 3 passengers including a toddler the keys fell out of the ignition. The truck lost power and steering abilities. When the truck reached 20 mph I noticed the keys were not in the ignition. I grabbed them, handed them to my husband. He put truck in neutral, started truck. This happened again at an intersection about a month later. I usually only have truck key and or a house key on a single ring. Please consider testing vehicles for this possibility and the deadly probability. Update 9/15/15 the consumer has since sold the vehicle. Updated 10/01/15

- Janesville , WI, USA

problem #13

Dec 082014

Nitro

  • 50,255 miles
The car start, windsheild wipers come on by themself and vehicle will not go in gear. Have to remove the battery cable for car to go into gear.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #12

Jun 152011

Nitro 6-cyl

  • 23 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Nitro. The contact stated that while at a complete stop, the engine rpms increased and the vehicle accelerated without warning. The brake pedal was depressed several times in order for the vehicle to come to a stop. In addition, the contact stated that while attempting to accelerate from a stop light, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 23. Updated 03/10/15 updated 10/15/2015

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #11

Oct 202014

Nitro 6-cyl

  • 63,534 miles
I purchased my 2011 Dodge Nitro brand new from gulf gate Dodge here in houston tx. Since then, I have had numerous issues with this truck starting in 2013. Last year, the water pump went out. This year the fuel injectors went out. In both occasions, I paid out of pocket to get the issues corrected. I have also called the dealership to ask for assistance, and have had no luck. They were probably as helpful as a grain of rice. I was not made aware that my repairs were covered under my powertrain warranty until the repairs were done, (how convenient). Now the most recent situation seems to be an electrical problem with the driver's side power master window switch (pmws). Back in Aug 2014, the driver window went out. Then 10/17/2014(Friday) the passenger back window went out. 10/20/2014, Monday evening, my fiancé went (around the corner) to run an errand and returned home with in about 15 minutes, screaming grab the ph!, and come out side the driver side door caught fire. Apparently, the (pmws) started to smoke and caught a fire. He told me he was unable to get out through the driver side, and crossed over to the passenger side. When I did make it outside to the truck. You could smell the burn, and see where the side door panel was melted. I reported this to Chrysler on 10/21/2014. Today is 10/30/2014 and in spite of the "someone will contact you in 24hrs" statements, I am still waiting on the call. I am still really deeply disturbed with the thought that my kids father could have died, or even worse if it would have been either of my 2 small kids or my self. Since the incident with my truck. I have had to pay for a rental car, walk to the stores, walk my kids to the bus stop. I'm having to catch the metro bus in the we hours of the morning just to make it to work in time. I'm very sadden, upset, and confused with this. I will never purchase any Chrysler vehicles again.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #10

Sep 242014

Nitro 4WD 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
The first sign of issues was in September, one morning after my car had been locked all night like always, the car alarm on the vehicle just sounded. I ran outside and unlocked the car then locked it again and went inside, I went back and forth multiple times, each time after locking the vehicle the alarm would sound within five minutes, I proceeded to turn on the car, I had system warnings present stating my trunk was unlocked. I closed the trunk multiple times but the warning never subsided. I had to leave the car unlocked while parked until I took the car into the dealership later that day, the mechanics could not replicate the "gate ajar" warning, and the car alarm system problem couldn't be fixed that day. Two days later, keeping my car constantly unlocked, I took my Nitro in for an evaluation, I left with a copy of the diagnosis, after the hour they hooked my engine up to their computer they still were unable to tell me what was wrong. The next day after 5 hours in the shop and $708 Dodge reprogrammed the tipm and replaced my spark plugs. The car problems were solved for two days, then again my car alarm went off while locked, the gate ajar warning also comes on randomly. I made an appointment to bring it in one last time, the day before I brought it in I was driving at 65mph and the car just shut off without warning. I had to remove the keys and jumpstarted, the car was okay until later that evening when the dash computer started flashing random warnings while driving. Today my car was in the shop for 10 hours, they reprogrammed the tipm again, and the mechanics have no fix for my car. Every issue I am experiencing is that of the vehicles recalled in the Chrysler tipm recall, Dodge refuses to refund or replace my tipm and state that my VIN was not affected. I am in a rental car for the night, tomorrow I have the option of taking the car home as is.

- Colorado , CO, USA

problem #9

Nov 212013

Nitro

  • 33,000 miles
This is about the ignition key. An extra key costs $200, this is a safety issue if somebody loses their key and was not able to afford a spare. It is extortion by Dodge. Also-- to check the transmission fluid? make an appointment with the dealer and pay $25 minimum. Neither my mechanic nor the quick oil change place can check it-- there is no dipstick, there is a special tool and where the dipstick would be it says "dealer only" and that is true. More extortion. It is not right and needs to be stopped. "a" pillars are extremely thick-- di to the styling, overall visibility is severely compromised in this vehicle. They should all be recalled. Trans and 4WD are jerky and growl and howl. Dealer: "they're all like that". these are also very much safety issues. Thank you, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Three Rivers, MI, USA

problem #8

Sep 282014

Nitro 6-cyl

  • 21,500 miles
Horn started blaring on it own. I was in my house with my Nitro in my drive way. At appox. 10am the horn started blaring on its own. I tried disabling the alarm to no avail. I ended up disconnecting the battery to get the horn to stop. This is the second time this have happened, the first was about two months ago and I had to disconnect the battery then to get it to stop.

- Vista, CA, USA

problem #7

Mar 182014

Nitro 6-cyl

  • 34,585 miles
Mid Nov. 7:45am while driving I noticed a low roar like the Nitro was stuck in first gear but it wasn't, sound continued and the car was not picking up speed. I turned into a parking lot, waited then turned it back on and went to work. At 2:30 the dash thermometer said "120 degrees? I have the temperature on my phone so I know it was 80. I choose to ignore it and not take it into the dealership because I didn't want to make a big fuss and I needed my car. Wed, 3-12-14 7:50am I was driving the 2011 Dodge Nitro to take kids to school. It turned off while turning, my blinker stopped working and there were not lights-on the dash. The wheel was very stiff, I rolled to park along the curb. I put the car in park and turned the key to start the car and it started. Big safety concern so I chose to bring it in for service since. I took in into the dealership at 8:10am that same morning. Bustter torres checked in my car. He said he could not ?duplicate" the problem and could not figure out what caused the car to stop while driving.. fri 3-14-14 7:55am I was preparing to turn right, as I was approaching I had my blinker on and my car turned off as I was about to turn into the drive way. I was able to turn my wheel (the steering wheel was very stiff) and roll into the driveway. I noticed there were no lights on to indicate anything, I heard a click when the car turned off. I then turned the key to start the car and the car started fine. Car sat at dealer for 4 days without service because employee messed up and did not create a new work order. Not apologetic, made excuses when confronted. Had wrong mileage, employee just guessed. We had to argue to get them to check actual mileage. Horrible customer service all around, no respect for us as customers. Car still not repaired, car is a lemon.

- Rowland Heights, CA, USA

problem #6

Feb 162014

Nitro 6-cyl

  • 55,127 miles
I purchased this vehicle in November 2013, unaware that there was a recall on the tipm. Here it is a few months later and my vehicle breaks down. I had it towed to the dealership. They told me diagnostic and a check up was done and they couldnt find anything wrong. The vehicle started right up. I picked up my truck Tuesday 02/18/2014. I live less then 2 miles from the dealership. When I got home the vehicle would not start. Called dealership back stated to wait 30 minutes and try to restart it. I ended up waiting an hour before it could start and took it back to ed voyles. They ran a diagnostic in front of me. The truck wouldnt start so they pushed it into repair shop. I recieved a call the next day stating it was the tipm. The charge was $1,030 and $117 for running test. I decided to research the vehicle only to find out there was a recall for that part. I called Dodge @ 800-247-9753 on 02/20/2014 spoke to rep she stated there was a recall but my vehicle VIN# was not apart of the recall. I informed her that they should have recalled all the vehicles because its the same exact issue. She stated they could not repair the vehilce and my warranty will not cover it.

- Atlanta , GA, USA

problem #5

Oct 232013

Nitro

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Nitro. The contact stated that there was a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 13V3282000 (air bags, electrical system). The vehicle was included in the recall however, the part needed to complete the repair was unavailable. The dealer and manufacturer were notified and neither could provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Houston, TX, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?