Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,799 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Dodge Ram 1500 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #11

Jul 102001

Ram 1500 4WD Diesel

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Total loss of steering and braking. Am in process of replacing power steering pump/brake vacuum pump (one unit) for the second time. At time of loss of steering and braking control was driving downhill with a full size camper on ice. Slid sideways and stopped in snowbank. Am afraid to drive vehicle after second incident. Know several drivers who have experienced same problem with 2001 Dodge Ram.

- Grants Pass, OR, USA

problem #10

Apr 282001

Ram 1500

  • miles
My truck has an engine miss, that is confirmed by the manufactures own engineers who say there is no known solution. DC refuses to honor their comittment and has failed in their so called attempts at repair. The clockspring has twice been replaced, first after it broke two days after the DC rep inspected my truck but refused to do anything with the concerns. Second time was the recall 982 which was performed on 7/9/01. The noise in the steering wheel has since returned and the steering at times gets tight while turning right. The first clockspring that broke was also after the vehicle steering wheel was turned to the right. The brakes will shudder when coming to a stop, and the dealer replaced the rear drums at one point but refused to procede further. On 5/13/01 coming to an intersection the trucks rear tires locked up and the truck entered the intersection approx. 1/3 to 1/2 the length of the truck, on 11/17/01while returning home I noticed a burnt odor at the rear of the truck, a further inspection showed smoke coming from the wheels, touching the rear wheel it was extremely hot to the touch. So hot in fact I pulled my hand away before I was burnt. Front tires still show extreme signs of wear, dealer has refused to do anything further. In fact dependable Dodge of vero beach on 5/14/01 told me DC ordered that no further work be done on my truck. They in fact stated they will breach their warranty.

- Vero Beach, FL, USA

problem #9

Apr 282001

Ram 1500

  • miles
My truck has an engine miss, that is confirmed by the manufactures own engineers who say there is no known solution. DC refuses to honor their comittment and has failed in their so called attempts at repair. The clockspring has twice been replaced, first after it broke two days after the DC rep inspected my truck but refused to do anything with the concerns. Second time was the recall 982 which was performed on 7/9/01. The noise in the steering wheel has since returned and the steering at times gets tight while turning right. The first clockspring that broke was also after the vehicle steering wheel was turned to the right. The brakes will shudder when coming to a stop, and the dealer replaced the rear drums at one point but refused to procede further. On 5/13/01 coming to an intersection the trucks rear tires locked up and the truck entered the intersection approx. 1/3 to 1/2 the length of the truck, on 11/17/01while returning home I noticed a burnt odor at the rear of the truck, a further inspection showed smoke coming from the wheels, touching the rear wheel it was extremely hot to the touch. So hot in fact I pulled my hand away before I was burnt. Front tires still show extreme signs of wear, dealer has refused to do anything further. In fact dependable Dodge of vero beach on 5/14/01 told me DC ordered that no further work be done on my truck. They in fact stated they will breach their warranty.

- Vero Beach, FL, USA

problem #8

Aug 172001

Ram 1500 4WD Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When applying brakes back wheels lock up. It's noticeable mostly in gravel or wet road. Brakes will lock up, and make vehicle slide. Contact dealer, and dealer stated it was a problem with brakes.

- Dillshorn, IN, USA

problem #7

Jun 152001

Ram 1500

  • miles
Consumer was traveling 55mph on highway and traffic was moving slowly. There were three lanes of traffic, and he was trying to get into an opening to a clear lane. Applied brakes, and brakes didn't grab at all. Also, airbags didn't deploy, and hit a coach bus. Dealership was aware of problem.

- Abington, MA, USA

problem #6

Jun 012001

Ram 1500

  • miles
Brake system fails to operate properly when pressure is applied to brake pedal. While traveling at low speeds, brake pedal will have no resistance behind it, and fall to the floor intermittently. Dealership has examined vehicle three times, and has been unable to duplicate problem or determine a cause. Please provide any additional information/attachments.

- Cameron, SC, USA

problem #5

Nov 152000

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Braking system performs erratically. Problem with not stopping properly. Dealer / manufacturer were notified, and unwilling to assist in this matter. Please provide any further details concerning this situation.

- Campton, KY, USA

problem #4

Apr 052001

Ram 1500

  • miles
While driving could step on the brakes pedal and noise will come from bottom of vehicle, and another noise from fuel tank that makes a lot of noise, like bouncing. Could not be corrected by dealer. The consumer was concerned about the fuel tank noise and states that it should be investigated. There is a cluncking noise on take off or stoping due to trans mount failure.

- Cerritos, CA, USA

problem #3

Feb 062001

Ram 1500 4WD

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
The ABS is very poor and dangerous in that on tire lock up or skid, the brakes on both rear wheels are released even if only one tire is on snow. This condition provides no stopping power. The consumer would like upgrading the ABS or removing it.

- Wilkes-Barre, PA, USA

problem #2

Jan 172001

Ram 1500

  • miles
When applying brake pedal pedal went to floor, and both ABS/brake lights came on. Vehicle intermittently lost brakes. Vehicle taken to dealer for insepection. Please feel free to provide any further details on this matter.

- Febastopol, CA, USA

problem #1

May 012000

Ram 1500 4WD Diesel

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Vehicle wanders into another lane when letting go of steering. Applying brakes and vehicle pulls to the right. Manufacturer & dealer say that vehicle is within specifications. The parts aren't available for corrections to take place.

- Lindon, UT, USA

Not what you are looking for?