Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
21 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
26 / 1
Average Mileage:
21,745 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Dodge Ram 1500 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 9 of 19)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #215

Jun 302015

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Mission, TX, USA

problem #214

Mar 032014

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts unavailable. Updated 02/12/16 updated 02/22/16.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #213

Dec 222015

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall -my VIN is [xxx]. I live in Hawaii where humidity is a factor in everyday life, Hawaii should be in priority group 1 without question due to this factor alone. My 2003 Dodge Ram 1500 is in an hah area yet it follows behind "safer" vehicles in non-hah areas. I bought this truck two months ago unaware that it was unsafe and affected by the recall. In my opinion the vehicle is unsafe to drive and not road worthy. So now I have a $10,000 yard ornament, there is no way I would feel safe driving my family in this truck. The excessive wait time for parts is unacceptable as we need a vehicle to complete the requirements of our daily lives...ie.... making a payment on a truck I can't drive. Not having a safe vehicle drive severely cripples our ability to earn money and put food on our table. We live in Hawaii in probably the most humid climate in the United States, being that failure was much more prevalent in humid climates it is in no way safe to drive. I will be contacting the factory immediately following the submission of this complaint. Further information puts my vehicle in priority group 2, really" in Hawaii the most humid place in the U.S." unacceptable on every level. Please get the factory to either repair or replace my vehicle, if there were an injury to myself or my family no amount of money could ease the pain of our family....do you get that this is about the safety of our families not money!!!! no failure to date. Vehicle parked because of this issue. Complaint date 12/22/15 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Ewa Beach, HI, USA

problem #212

May 292015

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 02/12/16

- Smithville, MO, USA

problem #211

Sep 212015

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 02/23/16 updated 02/24/16.

- New Caney, TX, USA

problem #210

Dec 212015

Ram 1500

  • 115,000 miles
Takata recall - I received a recall notice on my 2003 Dodge 1500 pickup, R26 / NHTSA 15V-312 around the end of May 2015. Contacted my dealer, said part is not available. Contacted dealer again today, still not available.what is going on" why hasn't the parts been manufactured yet, it has been longer than 6 months? what are you doing waiting on, people to get killed" there has been no failure so far but who knows when the airbag might implode or when someone may have as accident and cause the airbag to implode. Nothing has happened yet so I can't put a date down, only the date of my complaint. I will say that I called the customer service number and I was told that if I was worried about someone getting hurt or killed riding as a passenger to have them ride in the back seat. Well I bought the truck to ride in and that includes someone riding in all the seats.

- Enigma, GA, USA

problem #209

Apr 082015

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Manhattan, KS, USA

problem #208

Jun 102015

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000(air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #207

Dec 162015

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags) however, the part for the repair was unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. VIN tool confirms parts unavailable.

- Saginway, MI, USA

problem #206

Jul 062015

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata inflators - we were told the truck is part of the recall in the summer, but we have never been contacted to set up a replacement.

- Knox, PA, USA

problem #205

May 272015

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Oaklyn, NJ, USA

problem #204

May 292015

Ram 1500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 02/12/16 updated 02/17/16

- Williamstown, NJ, USA

problem #203

Oct 062015

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 02/12/16 updated 02/22/16.

- Wildwood, MO, USA

problem #202

Oct 152015

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags) however, the part to do the recall repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer has exceeded a reasonable amount of time to do the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 02/12/16 updated 02/17/16.8jb

- Winchester, VA, USA

problem #201

Dec 042015

Ram 1500

  • miles
Open recall to replace the air bag but nothing has ever been done and we've owned the vehicle since 2004. I'm very concerned it could rupture and injure to those in the vehicle. Please help!

- Middlebourne, WV, USA

problem #200

Jun 082015

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Newton, AL, USA

problem #199

Aug 072015

Ram 1500

  • 146,000 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator remained illuminated. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 146,000. VIN tool confirms parts unavailable. Updated 07/27/16

- San Bernardino, CA, USA

problem #198

Dec 012015

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V770000 (air bags) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 02/10/16

- Santa Fe, NM, USA

problem #197

Aug 202015

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Center Ridge, AR, USA

problem #196

May 042015

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V312000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the recall repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Brainerd, MN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?