Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,715 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Dodge Ram 1500 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

Jun 152006

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,000 miles


Before the occurrences, my 5.7L Ram 1500 would sputter on idle and when first put into gear, and the check engine light would come on for about 25 miles and then go back off. When the code was checked for the light, the forward passenger-side oxygen sensor was showing voltage high. I replaced the sensor, cleared the codes and everything was fine for a while. The first event happened when I was making a left turn on a small road-when I turned, the truck died. I didn't notice that the truck had died until I felt the power steering go out, and then I realized I was stuck in the middle of the road. I then had to crank the engine 5 or 6 times before it started again, and, when it did, the check engine light was back on. The same problem happened 2 more times that day. When taken to the dealer, an engine diagnostic was run, and the same code was showing up. The mechanics put about 45 miles on it trying to duplicate the problem, but were unable to. The problem stopped for about 2 weeks, and then it started sputtering again. When taken again to the dealer, 4 cylinders were showing a mis-fire, and the same oxygen sensor was showing voltage high. The mechanic informed me that the cylinders were mis-firing due to bad spark plugs (which were not due for service yet). I have changed the spark plugs, and my truck has died twice since then. This has become more than frustrating because I bought the truck used with 39,000 miles (roughly) on it. The mechanic charged me for my last visit because different codes showed up, so it was a different problem-even though the truck was in the shop for the same conditions. If some actions aren't taken, I am ready to file for lemon laws.

- Cabot, AR, USA

problem #18

Feb 282006

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,500 miles
I bought my truck used approximately Dec 1, 2005 with 49,500 km on the odometer. It is a 2004 Dodge quad cab 1500 with a 5.7L hemi engine. Approximately 3 weeks ago the engine stopped. I was driving along a residential street at between 20 and 30 km/hr. My foot was barely on the accelerator and the engine stopped. There was no warning (I.e. no hesitation, stumbling or mis-fire). No dash lights came on. I pulled over, put it in park and the engine started up right away with no problems afterward. It was approximately 真10 or 真12C temperature outside and had gone to 真20C overnight. I had a full tank of gas and my throttle body had been serviced in the previous 2 weeks. The engine was reasonably warm, but I had only been driving for approximately 5 minutes at low speeds. Odometer was about 56,000km. The truck was into Chrysler service on Feb 24 and I mentioned that the engine stopped to the service manager. I asked if he had heard of anyone else complaining of this problem. He said he had never heard of any complaints. Today (Feb 28, 2006), the engine stopped again. The temperature outside was approximately 真10C and had gone to about 真13 or 真15C overnight. Same symptoms. I had driven for about 5 minutes, light accelerator, speed of about 20 to 30 km/hr and was in heavy traffic. I put it in neutral and the engine started right up without any problems. No dash lights came on. Odometer is about 59,000 km.

- Toronto, 00, USA

problem #17

Aug 242005

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles
I have a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500 with a hemi it has a stalling and idle drop problem. I have almost hit other car due to the engine stalling loss of steering and brakes. I have taken my truck in had the upgrade done stalling was less now only twice but idle drops to 300 RPM and bounces around truck shakes like its going to stall then smoothes out and rpms go back to 1100 or so. Dealer just keeps telling me they are working direct with Chrysler Corp on this and they will keep in touch. They have yet to call me I call them once a week to see what is going on and get the same story the are working on it...

- Portland , OR, USA

problem #16

May 202005

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,850 miles


Turning on off ramp about 30 mph. Truck stopped running. Shifted out of drive started motor again.

- Glastonbury, CT, USA

problem #15

Jul 062005

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,802 miles
I own a 2004 Dodge Ram with the 5.7 hemi engine. The engine in my truck has stalled on numerous occasions when slowing down and going into a turn. Once on the freeway at 65 mph! this happens most when turning on city streets or pulling into a parking lot. The dealer has flashed the PCM 3 times and it still has the problem. The last time it was in for this problem the dealer screwed with the timing, fuel air mixture and idle all in poor attempt to keep it from stalling. The results are poorer fuel mileage, occasional black smoke from exhaust, stalls at idle, the engine stumbles and soot build-up in the exhaust pipes. Oh, it stills stalls while turning sometimes. The dealer and the regional Dodge rep are both dragging their feet. The truck is unsafe to drive. It has 20" tires and wheels(factory)which make it even harder to steer when the engine dies and you also lose the power brakes too. Real waker upper.

- Federal Way, WA, USA

problem #14

Mar 252005

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,082 miles
The consumer stated that the vehicle stalled unexpectedly. This happened while sitting still and just recently while driving at a speed of 15 mph. There was no prior warning before stalling, and no dashboard lights came on to indicate a problem. No lights on the dashboard came on after stalling. The vehicle will immediately start right back up. This happened for six months at least. The idle was jumping. The consumer thought that the idling and stalling problems were related. The vehicle had idle problems since January 21, 2004. The vehicle had been to the dealership three times, and was on the way back to the dealership. The dealership could not find any problem with the truck because it was intermittent. The manufacturer was contacted, and referred the customer back to the dealership. Also, the manufacturer told the consumer that this problem belonged to the dealer. (11/08/05)

- Vale, NC, USA

problem #13

Sep 152004

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles


My 2004 Dodge Ram 1500 4X4 with 5.7 hemi motor stalls when approahing a stop. Does not happen every time, but fairly regular. It always comes as a suprise, rpms drop to @ 400, engine vibrates and stops. It always starts right up. It does it when hot or cold, but more when cold. Many times the rpms just drop, engine vibrates a little and stays running. Dealer had truck 3 times, first two they found no problem, even that I video taped the conditions while driving, 3rd time they admit there is a problem, but do not know how to fix it. Today, it is in the dealership for the 4th time for the same thing. I explained it might have to do with the transmission not down shifting right on stopping, as shortly after I had a transmission sending unit replaced, right after purchase, it started acting this way

- Armada, MI, USA

problem #12

Sep 072004

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,500 miles
Dodge Ram 1500 w/5.7 hemi stalls. This incident has occurred dozens of times, and appears to occur most frequently during no or light throttle conditions such as driving through intersections or down a long grade. Stalls have also occurred when switching from drive to reverse (in parking lots) and during the first start-up of the day if the vehicle is shifted into reverse immediately after starting. Ninety-five percent of the time, there is no warning (ie, stumbe) that the engine is experiencing a problem. We have attempted to have this problem diagnosed at many dealerships, none of whom were able to retrieve any codes. Due to our persistence and concern, two local dealerships have since refused to work on our truck. Thus far, Dodge dealers have attempted to blame this problem on a poorly connected battery and have supposedly "adjusted the throttle body blade" to allow more air into the engine during light/no throttle conditions. I am quite familiar with electronic engine controls and find this repair rather disturbing. It is not yet known if this "repair" has affected vehicle emissions. In light of PE05-027, I will be forwarding relevant paperwork and correspondence to the attention of stephen speth.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #11

May 052004

Ram 1500 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
At certain speeds the truck is choking down, not getting enough gas. At time the vehicle operates as if it's not getting enough fuel. The gas mileage has also been drastically reduced.

- Watkinsville, GA, USA

problem #10

Dec 082003

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35 miles
This happen to me three times the first time December 2003 two months after I got the vehicle. The second time it happened June 2004, and the third time it happened September 2004. The first time it happened. I was driving down the highway in 4 wheel drive high about 30 to 35 mph when the truck stalled. I had no indication that it stalled except for loss of power steering. The second time this happened I was driving down a gravel road about 35 to 40mph. I was coming up on a curve in the road, and the vehicle stalled again. Again I lost power steering, and came close to going into the ditch with my 1 year old boy. The third time this happened I was stopped at a stop light when the vehicle stalled. I have taken the vehicle in twice for this, and the dealership said the computer in the engine probrably just reset itself, and there is nothing they can do about it. I have written a letter to Dodge, and sent it in with their survey after the last incident, and haven't heard back.

- Jefferson City, MO, USA

problem #9

Apr 292004

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,003 miles


2004 Dodge Ram 1500 slt quad cab 5.7 V8 hemi- 1003 miles on vehicle the first time it stalled while driving. No "check engine" light comes on and dealer unable to duplicate problem. Has happened 4 times within 8 months. No power steering when stalls and almost crossed into opposing traffic lane the 2nd occurence. Major safety hazzard issue!!! Chrysler not responding to buyback request.

- Annville, PA, USA

problem #8

Apr 012005

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,200 miles
The vehicle continuously stalled in traffic. The consumer was recently driving the vehicle, and the vehicle shut off in the middle of the intersection. After the dealer serviced the vehicle which included replacing the computer, the vehicle's problems still exist. The last fix and the third time the incident occurred, the vehicle lost over 3 miles to the gallon of gas. The dealer stated that they programmed the software to run rich, which in return, burns more gas.

- Poulsbo, WA, USA

problem #7

Mar 312005

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving vehicle stalled. Driver wa Sable to restart vehicle, and took it to the dealer for inspection. However, mechanic coukd not duplicate the problem.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #6

Mar 222005

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I own a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500 powered by the hemi engine. I have talked with timberline Dodge located in portland or about a problem I have been experiencing with the engine suddenly stalling for no reason. All that the dealership did was add me to a list of over 30 other can owners with the same problem. Today I was nearly in an accient as the result of the engine quitting without notice. I was entering a busy parking list when I was suddenly confronted with a steering wheel that would not turn and brakes that were ineffective. I have researched further and there appears to be a substantial number of vehicle owners with the same problem.. I purchased the vehicle 2 months ago and have had several occurences since please help.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #5

Mar 142005

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving at 20 mph engine stalled and lost complete power. The vehicle stalled while making left or right turns at low speed, and while coming to stop(s) both up or down hill at low speeds. Dodge say they are aware of problem, but can not resolve at this time.

- Estacada, OR, USA

problem #4

May 072004

Ram 1500 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40 miles
The vehicle shut down, losing power to steering, brakes, and the consumer was left in traffic. Vehicle was serviced, and the dealer stated there was no solution for the problem they knew that existed.

- Molalla, OR, USA

problem #3

Feb 012005

Ram 1500

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving the vehicle suddenly stalled. The cause of this was undetermined.

- Antioch, CA, USA

problem #2

Apr 062004

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 524 miles
2004 Dodge 1500 quad cab hemi - stalled while taking an exit ramp from the highway. Had it for two week with 524 miles on it. I see that this was a complaint before from someone, but my dealer claims they never heard of this. However they can't look at it for several days - I told them I thought this was a safety issue, but didn't seem to matter. Not a good situation trying to control a truck with no power steeering.

- Chicopee, MA, USA

problem #1

Feb 082004

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 700 miles
2004 Dodge Ram 1500 slt quad cab hemi - vehicle with 700 miles on it stalled several times for no apparent reason - almost resulted in being rear ended.

- Mastic, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?