Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
31 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
39 / 1
Average Mileage:
21,144 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Dodge Ram 1500 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 11 of 15)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #98

Jul 212015

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After getting a recall (R25/NHTSA 15V-313) for my 2004 Dodge Ram 1500 air bag, I called efird chrysley of florence, SC for an appointment. Was told the parts weren't available but would be in in six weeks on July 21, 2015 so I made an appointment for both my Ram & 2006 charger. My appointment was at 7:30 am & I dropped off the truck for the recall work. At about 11:30 I hadn't received a call back so I called & was told they had to order the parts. Each time I have to get a ride to drop off & pick up the truck. When I complained the service guy shrugged it off as if it was no big deal & there was nothing he could do. I said, "damn, were you even going to call me"". he accused me of cussing at him. What's up with Chrysler? is this their way to piss off everyone so they won't come back to get the work done" (there I go, cussing again)

- Darlington, SC, USA

problem #97

Dec 122013

Ram 1500

  • 110,000 miles
Another single driver vehicle ran a stop sign and the single driver Dodge hit the driver's door directly and deployed both front air bags and totaled both vehicles. The drivers air bag launched metal into the left wrist and forearm of the driver while his hands were in the 10 and 2 O'clock steering wheel positions. The left wrist lacerations and large hematoma required hospital care and left scars. The driver also suffered lower back damage requiring surgery. The truck was totaled in January 2014 and sent for salvage. On December 15, 2014 I received a Chrysler safety recall (P40/NHTSA 14V-354) on the air bag inflators of the 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The problem in the recall notice is described as; "excessive internal pressure, during airbag deployment events, could result in an increased chance of occupant injury during certain crash conditions."

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #96

Jul 172015

Ram 1500

  • 95,000 miles
There has not been an incident as of July 17, 2015. I received the airbag recall R25/NHTSA 15V-313 in earlyjune 2015. I have not received a follow up recall notice. I contacted shelor motor mile Dodge in christiansburg Virginia 24073 on July 17, 2015. They told me they would open a ticket and order the parts. They also told me it could take a month or two for the parts to arrive. I feel that this is not a reasonable time due to the nature of the recall. I would like to expidite this process or be provided a rental car until this can be repaired.

- Christiansburg, VA, USA

problem #95

Jan 012014

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V770000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was not provided. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Keller, TX, USA

problem #94

Jul 012015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The dealer stated that the part would not be available for repair until approximately four months. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Goochland , VA, USA

problem #93

Dec 312014

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the repair part was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tucson, TX, USA

problem #92

May 252015

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Goose Creek, SC, USA

problem #91

Jun 132015

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. MA 09/22

- Dover , OH, USA

problem #90

Jun 222015

Ram 1500

  • miles
I recieved the safety recall notice sometime in the month of June...having waited what seemed to be more than a reasonable amount of time for the unavailable parts to come in...I decided to just stop by the dealership on hwy 41 in henderson. July 7th 2014. Sometime between 1pm and 2pm. The gentleman expressed to me everything was on back order, that it was not likely to occur and he hasnt seen a truck needing this recal. He seemed unconcerned about my issue. He didnt ask my name. My number or acknowledge my letter. He said he was sure my number was in his data base and he would call when parts came in. This is our family vehicle that we drive on the regular!! having not purchased the vehicle 2 years ago if that from my brother in law...I doubt I am in his system!

- Henderson, KY, USA

problem #89

May 202015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable timeframe to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Algonac, MI, USA

problem #88

Jul 072015

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V313000 (air bags) and 14V770000 (air bags); however, the parts were unavailable to perform the repairs. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Prattville, AL, USA

problem #87

Dec 032014

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V770000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Red Oak, TX, USA

problem #86

Jun 252015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received a recall letter for NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made ware of the issue. The VIN was unavailable. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Buford, GA, USA

problem #85

Feb 162015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V770000 (air bags) and 15V313000 (air bags). The part was not available within a reasonable timeframe to schedule the recall repair. The contact had been waiting for a response from the dealer for months. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Odum, GA, USA

problem #84

Jun 102015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Goose Creek, SC, USA

problem #83

May 272015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact was advised by the dealer to leave the vehicle with them for three to five days in order to complete the recall repair for the air bags. The contact felt that this was an unnecessary length of time. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact stated that another dealer could have the recall repair completed within a few hours. The VIN and NHTSA campaign number were unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #82

May 292015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V770000 (air bags) and 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Riverdale, GA, USA

problem #81

Feb 022015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V770000 (air bags) was received in February of 2015. After contacting the dealer on multiple occasions the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. In addition, in June of 2015 the contact received another recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags). The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. Updated 09/02/15

- Troy, AL, USA

problem #80

Jan 232015

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. MA 08/13/15 updated 09/03/15 the consumer stated after almost six months, the vehicle was repaired. Updated 09/10/15

- Baytown, TX, USA

problem #79

Jun 162015

Ram 1500

  • 101,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving at 20 mph, the brake pedal was depressed and the air bag warning light illuminated. The contact heard a buzzing noise. In addition, the horn failed to sound. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V770000 (air bags) and 15V313000 (air bags); however, the parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 101,000.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?