Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
31 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
39 / 1
Average Mileage:
20,591 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Dodge Ram 1500 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 13 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #66

May 282015

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V770000 (air bags); however, the parts were unavailable to perform the repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Swainsboro, GA, USA

problem #65

Feb 242015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving at an unknown speed, the air bag warning lamp flashed and there was a beeping noise each time the failure recurred. The dealer did not state when the vehicle would be able to get diagnosed and repaired. The contact was informed to call month after month while experiencing a failure with the air bag warning lamp. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V770000 (air bags) and 14V817000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable timeframe. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Smithfield, GA, USA

problem #64

Feb 232015

Ram 1500

  • 34,000 miles
I spoke to micki at newnan peachtree Dodge on 2/23/15 and 5/14/15 pertaining to recall P78/NHTSA 14V-770 air bag notice. My first contact on 2/23, I was told Chrysler has not released the parts. My second contact on 5/14, I was told the parts were shipped and the harness for the device was too short. I was told to continue to follow up with them on parts status. They have made no progress in three months and I'm following the protocol set out in the advisory. I cannot allow my son to drive this vehicle with this issue. I'm glad to see that this is up for a public hearing.

- Peachtree City, GA, USA

problem #63

Jan 152015

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V354000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mount Olive, MS, USA

problem #62

Feb 232015

Ram 1500

  • miles
Have a recall on airbag inflator dealer said he cant get parts because pickup came from West Texas and cant get parts for it in bartlesville ok does that mean I have to take it back to Texas to get repaired dealer here is not a very cooperative and not a dealer I would prefer to go too

- Dewey, OK, USA

problem #61

Dec 182013

Ram 1500

  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving approximately 25 mph, another vehicle crashed head on into the contact's vehicle. The frontal air bags did not deploy. A police and a fire report were filed. The contact sustained bruised ribs and bruises to the arms and legs that required medical attention. The vehicle was towed to an impound lot. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 47,000. The VIN was not available. Updated 6/30/15

- Quitman, TX, USA

problem #60

Jan 032015

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V770000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Littleelm , TX, USA

problem #59

Jan 232015

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V770000 (air bags) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V817000 (air bags) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The dealer stated that parts were not available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 6/25/15

- St Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #58

May 012015

Ram 1500 6-cyl

  • miles
2004 Dodge Ram 1500. Consumer writes in regards to passenger airbag inflators. The consumer stated to date, no action and no offer of alternate transportation from the dealer was offered.

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #57

May 012015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V770000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #56

Jan 232015

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V770000 and 14V817000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 6/17/15

- Knox, IN, USA

problem #55

Dec 032013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V770000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lexington , SC, USA

problem #54

Feb 262015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V770000 (air bags) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that there was a waiting list for the part and, on average, they only received two repair kits per week. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- Wichita Falls, TX, USA

problem #53

Feb 102015

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
I received a recall notice from dick poe Dodge. I made an appointment and when I got there they said they don't have the parts because Dodge only send 2 or 3 of the parts. They told me to keep calling. So I called the 1-800 number to Dodge and they told me to call dick poe to get on a waiting list. I called dick poe and they said they don't do the waiting list because of what Dodge did to them last time. They didn't receive enough parts for the people on the list. So here am driving around in an unsafe truck and I can't get help from the factory or the dealer. I don't know if this is place to file a complaint where accident hasn't happened, but I need help.

- El Pasp, TX, USA

problem #52

Apr 162015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V770000 (air bags) and 14V817000 (air bags) however, the parts needed to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Knoxville , TN, USA

problem #51

Mar 272015

Ram 1500

  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. While attempting to start the vehicle, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that a switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V77000 (air bags). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 67,000.

- Bogalusa, LA, USA

problem #50

Feb 152015

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V770000 (air bags); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure...updated 05/20/15 updated 7/6/2015

- Lake Charles, LA, USA

problem #49

Jan 052015

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
Dodge Ram 1500. Consumer writes in regards to passenger airbag inflator recall issues. The consumer stated when the dealer replaced the air bag module, they broke a plug in the horn that rendered it inoperative.

- Carolina, PR, USA

problem #48

Feb 232014

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V770000 (air bags) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 6/8/15 updated 7/7/2015

- Abita Springs, LA, USA

problem #47

Feb 232015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V770000 (air bags) however, the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lynn Haven , FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?