Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
20 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,751 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Ram 1500 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 17 of 26)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #181

Oct 132014

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V796000 (power train) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure....updated 06-11-15 updated 9/18/15

- Baycity, MI, USA

problem #180

Mar 032015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V796000 (power train, air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure....updated 06/09/15

- Punta Gorda , FL, USA

problem #179

Apr 092015

Ram 1500 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V817000 (air bags) and 14V796000 (power train); however, the parts needed to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for your recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 5/29/15 updated 11/6/15

- Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

problem #178

Mar 012015

Ram 1500

  • 94,912 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My truck was subjected to recall P77 which is the pinion nut recall. I received this notice approximately a week before the incident. I exited the highway (speed limit is 70mph) traveled about 5 miles when I came to a stop sign it felt like the transmission fell out of the truck. I proceeded to go and traveled about 1/2 mile at 25mph when the pinion nut came loose causing the rear end to lock up and fish tail. Fortunately nobody was injured but scary non the less. It could have happened at highway speeds! Chrysler paid for all of the necessary repairs which included a complete housing and complete carrier including ring and pinion. What Chrysler didn't pay for was a rental car. I could understand if I took the vehicle to be repaired on my own, but I didn't. there was a catastrophic failure do to their negligence and I feel that they should be responsible for the rental as well.

- West Salem, OH, USA

problem #177

Apr 082015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 and 14V817000 (air bags, power train) however, the parts needed to do a repairs was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Yelm, WA, USA

problem #176

Jan 162015

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while driving at 35 mph, the vehicle hesitated. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V796000 (power train, air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 125,000. Updated 5/18/15

- Germantown , MD, USA

problem #175

Apr 082015

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500.the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V769000 and 14V817000 (air bags, power train); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure...updated 05/20/15 updated 7/6/2015

- Burgin, KY, USA

problem #174

Feb 152015

Ram 1500

  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving at 70 mph, the vehicle began to shake. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V796000 (power train); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The failure mileage was 74,000.

- Peoria, IL, USA

problem #173

Jan 012015

Ram 1500

  • 79,500 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V796000 (power train) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the parts were not available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact mentioned that when shifting into reverse, an abnormal noise emitted from the vehicle. The failure mileage was 79,500.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #172

Feb 042015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V796000 (power train); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #171

Mar 202015

Ram 1500 6-cyl

  • 107,644 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V796000 (power train); however, while driving 70 mph, a loud abnormal bang emitted from the vehicle. The vehicle was merged to the side of the road. The contact noticed that the driveshaft separated from the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the driveshaft disconnected. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the driveshaft, pinion nut, and rear axle pinion needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The contact was made aware of NHTSA campaign number: 14V796000 (power train). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 107,644. Updated 5/11/15 updated 9/16/2015

- Jasksonville, FL, USA

problem #170

Apr 012015

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notice of NHTSA campaign number: 14V796000 (power train); however, the part needed to do the repair was still not available. The contact stated that the rear of the vehicle was shaky and dangerous to drive. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact felt the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The failure mileage was unknown...updated 05-26-15 the consumer stated the failure progressively worsened causing 2 rear tires to need to be replaced. Updated 11/20/2015

- Williamsport, PA, USA

problem #169

Mar 312015

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 48,400 miles
While I have been lucky that nothing has happened yet, when I contacted my local Dodge dealer about the recalls I was told there were no parts and they did not know when the parts would be made. Some of the complaints that I have read state some have paid mechanics to make the repairs, if mechanics can get the parts why can Chrysler not.

- Kodak, TN, USA

problem #168

Jan 252015

Ram 1500

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while driving at 30 mph, the rear tires seized. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The mechanic diagnosed that the rear ring, pinion gear, and the bearings in the rear differential needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V796000 ( power train). The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Altoona, PA, USA

problem #167

Dec 292014

Ram 1500

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving at various speeds, the contact heard a noise coming from the rear of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the rear end needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V79600 (power train) and 14V817000 (air bags) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 110,000.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #166

Jan 062015

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 119,000 miles
I have a very loud noise from my axle and the recall states no parts available? so I keep driving it due to this being my only vehicle...[xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Brookston, IN, USA

problem #165

Mar 192015

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
Dodge has a recall number P77. Dodge dealer, glenn E thomas Dodge, of long beach ca refused to diagnose a vibration which seemed to be coming from the drive shaft, until after the recall was performed. There is no information on when this recall will be resolved. I now have aloud scraping noise coming from the rear differential and I believe the car is unsafe. Calls to the fcs recall center have availed zero information. There needs to be a time limit on these safety recalls. This vehicle also has another recall that Dodge cannot fix P81.

- Los Alamitos , CA, USA

problem #164

Mar 222015

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving at various speeds, the contact heard an abnormal noise that came from the rear and felt a resistance. The vehicle was taken to a dealer mechanic who diagnosed that the U joints needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V796000 (power train) and believed the failure was related to the recall. The manufacturer stated that the failure was not related to the recall. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000. Updated 5/12/15 the consumer stated the dealer advised the failure was not covered because the wrong side of the shaft was broken. Updated 09/16/2015

- Leonard, MI, USA

problem #163

Mar 242015

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V796000 (power train) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 5/18/15

- Raeford, NC, USA

problem #162

Feb 022015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V796000 (power train) however, the vehicle was unable to be serviced under the recall because the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Dover, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?