Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
80,109 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Ram 1500 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #45

Sep 042015

Ram 1500

  • 161,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Customer states that vehicle stalls at low speeds, including stop lights and while driving in slow traffic, stall incident have occasionally occurred at highway speeds cuasing loss of power steering and power brakes. Even when no codes are thrown vehicle has a obvious misfire, codes are not constantly thrown but when they do they are only thrown during travel up hills at rpms over 3500, the codes thrown are P0306, P0308 with no apparent cuase. Approximately 6-8 months ago the code P0308 was thrown and the rocker arm on cylinder 8 was determined to be the cuase, it was replaced. Code stopped being thrown until 9/4/15. This vehicle has been used as a daily driver and has not been driven in excess of normal work and back driving. Owner has contacted a Dodge dealership who have 1. not found a corrective issues, 2. not been able to recreate the issue. This is appearing to become an issue with this model. Customer has informed Dodge who states that he should take it to a dealership and have them diagnos itů.this has been done already and they couldn't find anything. Customer has since investigated NHTSA incident codes and listed related ones below NHTSA id number: 10734353 NHTSA id number: 10714473 NHTSA id number: 10706537 NHTSA id number: 10703252 NHTSA id number: 10701387 NHTSA id number: 10690819 NHTSA id number: 10684177 NHTSA id number: 10684171 NHTSA id number: 10683138 NHTSA id number: 10676503 NHTSA id number: 10673112 NHTSA id number: 10640356 NHTSA id number: 10631009 NHTSA id number: 10608546 NHTSA id number: 10607485 NHTSA id number: 10595905 NHTSA id number: 10575632 NHTSA id number: 10526020 NHTSA id number: 10524646 NHTSA id number: 10523845 NHTSA id number: 10520377

- Linden, PA, USA

problem #44

Aug 202015

Ram 1500

  • 137,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving, the oil gauge pressure decreased as the oil pressure gauge warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the oil pressure gauge failed. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 137,000.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #43

Jul 212014

Ram 1500

  • 104,000 miles
There had never been any previous issues with my Dodge 1500 engine (2005). On July 21, 2014, while driving home from work on the highway, my temp cage started moving toward hot. I got home, turned off the car and popped the hood. The coolant was completely out! went to pep boys, filled it up and tried to start my engine, would not start. After getting it towed to three different locations the diagnosis was 4 cylinders dropping and needing an entire engine replacement. There was no "known" reason why this happened as all the mechanical parts were working properly (initially the fan was to blame -- but turned out it was working completely normal). $6,000 later (new engine and labor) I am still wondering why this happened with no answers. Insurance won't help, no mechanic can explain this to me. Please help!

- Westerville, OH, USA

problem #42

Dec 012014

Ram 1500

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving at 60 mph, the rpms independently increased and the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the fuel cap needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- Maud , TX, USA

problem #41

Jul 092015

Ram 1500

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving at any speed, the vehicle hesitated as if it were low on fuel and then stopped without warning. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was able to be restarted and was towed to an independent mechanic. The failure was not replicated. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Glendale, CA, USA

problem #40

Jul 022015

Ram 1500

  • 143,134 miles
Hole in right side valve cover. Called withnell Dodge in salem and mark thomas motors in albany Oregon. Both dealerships have over 60 back orders for this particular valve cover. That's over 120 back orders. If I called other dealerships I suspect they will have back orders for the same product. To me this means their is a problem with Dodge pickups having problems with valve covers, which are plastic. I suspect the value cover blew a hole and this caused the engine to overheat. I am not sure if I have any other problems as a result of valve cover blowing out. I will not know until I replace the valve cover. I also think a recall should occur as a result of these numbers. I think Dodge knew about this problem as they are the only one who can replace this valve cover. Parts stores like Napa, do not carry this part, which means Dodge dealership parts department must order this particular part. And I was told this part is not available in America, which means a foreign country is producing this part, which Dodge has to order and track. So what is NHTSA going to do. Date of incident was July 2,015.

- Dallas, OR, USA

problem #39

May 012015

Ram 1500

  • 107,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving at 40 mph, an abnormal popping sound was heard and the engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the push rod lifter failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 107,000.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #38

Nov 202014

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 84,100 miles
Contact owns a 2005 Ram 1500 slt 4.7L. Contact states this has happened several times randomly. Truck will die while driving down the road or maneuvering at low speeds. Truck has had one random incident of over heating and had to pull over and shut truck off to cool down. Restarted just fine! plastic seat belt buckles have broken and seat belts don't retract fully. Then around April 2014 started hearing a whining grinding, howling noise thought it was the tires or the road. After a few months the noise was still there so called a repair shop took it in. Had it looked at. The repair shop diagnosed it to be the rear differential pinion nut backing off. Repair shop said the truck needs the differential repaired or replaced. A short time later, I received a recall notice around February on the truck for P77 & P81. Have contacted dealer via phone on several occasions. Dealer says parts are not available at this time, and don't know when the parts will be available to remedy the situation. It has been almost 3 months since I received the notice. I am concerned about the safety of the vehicle occupants and/or other's safety.*(since the problem is, the rear axle pinion nut on your truck may have been built without an adhesive patch on the pinion nut threads. The lack of this adhesive patch could allow the rear axle pinion nut to loosen and/or the rear drive shaft to separate from the rear axle. A loose pinion nut could cause the rear axle to seize and a separated drive shaft could cause loss of motive power. Either situation could cause a crash with out warning! and the airbag inflator could rupture with metal fragments striking and potentially injuring the vehicle occupants).dealership says should be okay to drive.!! I don't see how Dodge Chrysler! can keep production/sales of these unsafe vehicles. When so many vehicles are being recalled. Thank you for your attention of this matter. Updated 06/29/15.

- Tulare Ca , CA, USA

problem #37

Apr 192015

Ram 1500

  • 96,000 miles
Truck keeps stalling in drive and reverse. The truck will only run good if its in neutral. The rpms just drop suddenly, but the truck is able to start right back up with no problem. Truck also has had throttle body replaced along with O2 sensors. The engine light keeps coming on and sometimes the engine light would flash for a period of time.

- Mashpee, MA, USA

problem #36

Dec 012005

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
Since I first bought this truck in 2005 its had a pretty serious problem with stalling out when coming to a stop, and even worse, sometimes mid turn while moving. This is a very dangerous issue since loss of control is eminent in this type of incident. Along with this stalling out, the truck has a rough idle/surging idle issue when at a stop. Ive tried all types of repairs, and spent alot of money trying to fix this issue with no avail. I took it into Dodge after I first bought the truck and they said they could not recreate the problem and everything was fine. I took it in again and they cleaned the throttle body. Still same issue. Now ive replaced, out of my own pocket, the egr valve, throttle body itself, evap purge valve, and have tried a list of other remedies. Still not fixed. After a quick search of many different Dodge Ram club online forums this is a very very very common issue with these trucks, and all of us owners are fed up. Dodge wont take responsibility for this serious issue, and unfortunately people may die because of this. Please help us!

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #35

Mar 202015

Ram 1500

  • 131,270 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving approximately 5 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 131,270.

- Appomattox, VA, USA

problem #34

Feb 252015

Ram 1500

  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving approximately 8 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact had to maneuver to the side of the parking lot. The vehicle was restarted, then driven home. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer or an independent mechanic. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact mentioned that failure recurred two other times. The approximate failure mileage was 28,000.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #33

Feb 172015

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
The first time this happened, I was turning at an intersection and the truck just stalled. No warning or check engine light nothing. I had no power steering or brakes. Luckily no one hit us or we didn't hit anyone. My husband and brother pushed the truck into a near by parking lot. After about 20 min. The truck started back up. Three days later I was driving down the street pulling a trailer. The truck stalled again I was able to get it to roll into a parking lot. It started back up. We took it to a mechanic. He couldn't find a code on it. This continued to happen quite often. The mechanic finally changed out a sensor, that cost us $385. After a week the check engine light came on. The mechanic said the code could be several things and I don't have the money to keep changing things that are not working. So now if I let my fuel tank get down less than a half tank the truck misses and tries to cut out like its not getting enough fuel. I can't even drive it because I am afraid it will stall and I am a small women. I can't fight it with no power steering and brakes.

- Stuttgart, AR, USA

problem #32

Jul 162014

Ram 1500

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that the check engine warning light illuminated. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V817000 (air bags), 14V796000 (power train), and 14V770000 (air bags) exceeded a reasonable amount of time. The dealer informed that the parts were not available for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Parker, KS, USA

problem #31

Feb 152015

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 141,000 miles
At approximately 35 mph my driveline dislodged from my rear differential and locked up the wheels (differential.). the road was a popular well maintained paved road. Fortunately no cars or pedestrians were close by and speed was relatively low, otherwise this could have ended with serious injury or fatality. In addition to the recent incident with the differential, I have experienced other issues with this Ram: -new engine after cracking both heads while driving down the freeway (it gets serviced regularly and doesn't tow often). -idle has sudden surges at a stop. -transmission skipping gears.

- Corvallis, OR, USA

problem #30

Nov 032014

Ram 1500

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle lost power and independently accelerated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Medford , OR, USA

problem #29

Jan 192012

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Over the last few years, I have experienced problems with my 2005 Dodge Ram truck. Occasionally when slowing down to a stop light or making a left turn from a stop, the engine will cut off. I immediately turn the ignition off and then back on, and the trucks works perfectly after that. I first attributed it to a stall or bad gas, but now believe it is an ignition switch problem. I have contacted Chrysler regarding this, but they are unwilling to inspect my truck without first charging an exorbitant service fee. I feel this diagnostic fee is very unreasonable, as this defect with the truck is a safety hazard to the drivers around me. I have contacted Chrysler multiples times, and am now escalating this by filing this complaint.

- Plymouth, MI, USA

problem #28

Jan 262015

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 45,776 miles
Took in for an oil change, after 1 1/2 hours of waiting the service man came out and showed me the plastic handle of the dip stick that broke off. I was then informed it will be a while to fix, so I went home when I picked it up I was billed $400 to get the dip stick out, and replaced. I went on line and 2 different auto parts stores and they didn't have any. But the dealership had one on hand. I'm 66 years old, and went in for a $20 oil change, the dipstick was only pulled out 12 times, but due to the plastic handle, it cost me $400. What was wrong with the old style sticks that were one piece of metal, with a loop on the end for your finger to pull out" how many of these dip sticks break per year? as a %, what is the failure rate" someone is getting rich off this thing, and it sure isn't me. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Wauwatosa, WI, USA

problem #27

Jan 192015

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
Engine stall after pulling away from atm machine, I was able to easily restart vehicle but this is second time such an incident has happened. The first incident was also at very low speed when backing out of a driveway and changing from reverse to drive and with this incident the vehicle was easily restarted.

- Oroville, CA, USA

problem #26

Jan 152015

Ram 1500

  • 86,000 miles
Engine stalls while driving, this has happen twice in one week and could of been very dangerous if I was on the interstate, I took it to a shop and they said it put out a code for the wheel speed sensor and the stalling is happening because when the truck is moving it's putting out a signal saying it is parked.

- Urbana, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?