10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
40 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
29 / 3
Average Mileage:
23,723 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Ram 1500 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 13 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #71

Apr 112015

Ram 1500

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Pulled into a parking spot in front of goodwill, foot on the brake, the truck surged forward, smashed into a metal pole, caved in my grill, bumper and hood and the airbag did not deploy. I had a bump on my head from the steering wheel and my wrists were bruised from hitting the dash. I took my truck to benny boyd here in marble falls per instructions from my insurance company and mark ball, the man who sold me the truck, told me to 'piss off' then filed a 'criminal no trespass' against me so I can't go back to the place I bought it.

- Marble Falls, TX, USA

problem #70

Apr 012015

Ram 1500

  • miles
2005 Dodge Ram 1500. Consumer writes in regards to rear pinion nut and driver side airbags issues. The consumer was informed the parts were not available.

- Elwood, IN, USA

problem #69

Apr 202015

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train) and 14V817000 (air bags); however, the parts needed to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.... updated 06-02-15 updated the consumer stated the vehicle was scheduled to be repaired on May 13, 2015. 9/17/2015

- Houma, LA, USA

problem #68

Feb 272015

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V796000 (power train, air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Jacksonville , FL, USA

problem #67

Feb 022015

Ram 1500

  • 190,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. While traveling at a low rate of speed, the vehicle jerked forward without warning. The contact indicated that a loud noise emitted from the rear of the vehicle. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train) and 14V817000 (air bags); however, the part needed was not available for months. The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The approximate failure mileage was 190,000.

- Sumiton, AL, USA

problem #66

Apr 162015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V7960009 (power train) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V817000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the recall repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Livingston, TX, USA

problem #65

Apr 132015

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train) and 14V817000 (air bags); however, the parts needed to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Zionsville, IN, USA

problem #64

Mar 032015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V796000 (power train, air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure....updated 06/09/15

- Punta Gorda , FL, USA

problem #63

Apr 092015

Ram 1500 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V817000 (air bags) and 14V796000 (power train); however, the parts needed to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for your recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 5/29/15 updated 11/6/15

- Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

problem #62

Apr 082015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 and 14V817000 (air bags, power train) however, the parts needed to do a repairs was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Yelm, WA, USA

problem #61

Jan 162015

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 125,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while driving at 35 mph, the vehicle hesitated. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V796000 (power train, air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 125,000. Updated 5/18/15

- Germantown , MD, USA

problem #60

Apr 082015

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500.the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V769000 and 14V817000 (air bags, power train); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure...updated 05/20/15 updated 7/6/2015

- Burgin, KY, USA

problem #59

Mar 212015

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
The contact owned a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that the vehicle was involved in a crash where the air bag failed to deploy. The failure caused the driver to sustain fatal injuries. A police report was filed and the vehicle was destroyed. Further details about the crash were not made available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 33,000. Updated 5/29/15 updated 9/17/2015

- Rogersville, TN, USA

problem #58

Dec 242014

Ram 1500

  • 17,381 miles
We have contacted the dealership and have been told that they do not have the parts to fix our truck. It has been 4 months since the recall was issued and we are still waiting for parts to arrive. We are afraid to drive our truck because according to the recall letter an accident could result in a death because of defective parts. We continue to contact the dealership, crown Dodge of fayetteville, nc and continue to be told the parts are not in. We have a 6 hour trip planned in the near future and need this truck to be road worthy.

- Raeford, NC, USA

problem #57

Mar 312015

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 48,400 miles
While I have been lucky that nothing has happened yet, when I contacted my local Dodge dealer about the recalls I was told there were no parts and they did not know when the parts would be made. Some of the complaints that I have read state some have paid mechanics to make the repairs, if mechanics can get the parts why can Chrysler not.

- Kodak, TN, USA

problem #56

Dec 292014

Ram 1500

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving at various speeds, the contact heard a noise coming from the rear of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the rear end needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V79600 (power train) and 14V817000 (air bags) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 110,000.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #55

Mar 252015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received NHTSA campaign number: 14V817000 (air bags) however the part to do the repair was not available. The manufacturer stated that there was no approximate date for part availability. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Douglasville, GA, USA

problem #54

Mar 032015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train) and 14V817000 (air bags) however, the contact was unable to have the vehicle serviced under the recall because the parts needed were unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Westville, IL, USA

problem #53

Feb 172015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V79600 (suspension) and 14V81700 (air bags) were received in February of 2014. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Forth Worth, TX, USA

problem #52

Feb 172015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V79600 (suspension) and 14V81700 (air bags) were received in February of 2014. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Atlanta, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?