Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
37 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
27 / 3
Average Mileage:
23,490 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Ram 1500 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 4 of 15)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #237

Mar 012015

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train) and 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Fort Columns, CO, USA

problem #236

Jan 122016

Ram 1500

  • 52,000 miles
Bcp (brandywine smyrna, de dealership refused to replace my defective airvbag I have had bad service from this dealership, actually took them to small claims court for a repair gone bad, and had decided I would not be using them for any future service. But since the takata airbag recall was a NHTSA recall and bcp was the closest to my home I contacted them for the replacement. They took my information and much later I finally received a card in the mail stating they had the replacement parts in. I called to schedule the replacement and get a service manager on the line that states that "because of past history we will not be able to service you vehicle". what!!!! I didn't know a dealership could deny replacing a federally mandated safety recalled part simply because they didn't like me!"!?!" this place is a joke and anyone that guys or services their vehicle there better beware........

- Smyrna, DE, USA

problem #235

Aug 012015

Ram 1500

  • miles
I have been calling ed voyles Ram in marietta ga for over 5 months regarding 2 recalls (rear axle pinion nut P77 / NHTSA 14V-796 & driver airbag inflator R25 / NHTSA 15V-313) every time I call its always the same response, "no parts", and no idea when parts will arrive. How long should this take?

- Kennesaw, GA, USA

problem #234

Oct 102015

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My complaint is with the area Dodge dealerships: Bergland & bill craft, I emailed and or called both of these dealerships and nether returned my call or email to set up the repair for the recall. I left voicemail and got back an auto reply email. I not sure how many times I am to attempt to set up the appointment... the below date of when this happened is only an approximate date...

- Vinton, VA, USA

problem #233

Jun 162015

Ram 1500

  • 300,000 miles
Never got any issue regarding the air bag problem just yesterday got the recall notice on the pinion nut of which mine went out in June 2015 had to have truck towed home tried to look for rearend to match my truck have been borrowing vehicles from others did get someone to act on this in December have had my truck since the middle of December called on the 12 of January they still did not have it in to do anything with it and have no idea of when they will this is all crazy !!!! I should have been informed of this recall before June 2015 and I would not be without a vehicle at all!! had to pay $90 to get it towed due to this and the time I have been waiting you people should do something I would have to if it was my fault so why not you?

- Park Hills, MO, USA

problem #232

May 272015

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #231

May 212010

Ram 1500

  • 107,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving at various speeds, the contact heard an abnormal noise coming from the vehicle. Immediately after hearing the abnormal noise, the vehicle began to vibrate violently and caused the contact to crash into a retainer wall. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries. After the incident, the vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was confirmed that the rear axle pinion nut was loose. The vehicle was destroyed. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V796000 (power train) after the failure occurred. The contact stated that notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) was never received. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 107,000.

- Woodstock, KS, USA

problem #230

Jan 192016

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train) and 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part was unavailable to perform the repairs. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 03/16/16 updated 03/17/16.

- Dothan, AL, USA

problem #229

Jan 192016

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Florence, SC, USA

problem #228

Jun 162015

Ram 1500

  • miles
I have 3 recalls on my truck. They are as follow: P40/NHTSA 14V-354 R25/NHTSA 15V-313 P77/NHTSA 14V-796 I have tried unsuccessfully on 3 occasions with the dealership to have repairs done and they will not call me back or schedule an appointment. The dealership is countryside Dodge / Chrysler in jackson, Georgia. Very unprofessional and discourteous.. can you help me with these issues. This has been going on since June of 2015. Very frustrating.

- Hillsboro, GA, USA

problem #227

Dec 162014

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train) and 15V313000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Sumper, SC, USA

problem #226

Feb 102015

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V313000 (air bags) and 14V796000 (power train), but was unable to get the part from the dealer for an extended period of time. The dealer indicated that the part was on back order for the air bag recall and that they would not inspect the parts for the power train recall until the parts were available. The contact was unable to confirm when the vehicle would be repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #225

Jul 012015

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train) and 15V313000 (air bags) however, the parts to do the recall repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Quincy, IL, USA

problem #224

Jul 222015

Ram 1500

  • 58,000 miles
"takata recall" I went to tom O'brian Chrysler dealership back in July 2015, about this recall, and I have followed up 3 times to find out when I can bring my truck in to do both recalls on this. They ordered the parts for both recalls and they told me that their oly can do 2 trucks a month because the way their recall works they bring a truck in, do the recall work and then they send the part back and wait for the next replacement part to come in. If this is the real case, it will be several years before I can get my truck worked on. So if this is a safety recall they should be doing a lot more trucks they 2 a month. I want to keep my truck but I am very concerned about a accident. I think if I have to wait longer, Chrysler should provided me with a vehicle til my truck gets fixed.

- Whiteland, IN, USA

problem #223

Jul 142015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train) and 15V313000 (air bags) however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 03/10/16

- Lincolnton, NC, USA

problem #222

Feb 152015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while driving at 45 mph, the rear end of the vehicle seized without warning and the vehicle crashed into a concrete barrier. The air bags failed to deploy. No police report was filed. No injuries were sustained. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired and the failure recurred. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Yazoo City, MS, USA

problem #221

Jul 032015

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
2005 Dodge Ram 1500. Consumer writes in regards to rear axle pinion nut and driver airbag inflator recall notices replacement parts not available to complete repairs.

- Ellsworth, ME, USA

problem #220

Aug 012015

Ram 1500

  • 125,000 miles
Received safety recall notices by mail for rear axle pinion nut (P77 / NHTSA 14V-796) and driver airbag inflator (R25 / NHTSA 15V-313.) I contacted a local dealer in July / August of 2015 to schedule repairs. A week later the dealer called back to postpone the repairs because parts were not available. The dealer stated that they would call back to reschedule the repairs when the parts were available. I have not heard back from the dealer. The repairs have still not been made. The dealer has failed to remedy these defects in a reasonable amount of time.

- Denville, NJ, USA

problem #219

Jun 012015

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 04/06/16 updated 04/14/16.

- Thornton, CO, USA

problem #218

Jun 262015

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Woodleaf, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?