Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
37 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
27 / 3
Average Mileage:
23,490 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Ram 1500 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 7 of 15)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #177

Jul 062015

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. MA 10/26/2015

- Gadsden, AL, USA

problem #176

Sep 092015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the parts were unavailable to perform the repairs. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #175

May 012015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) was received in may of 2015. After contacting the dealer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #174

May 292015

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to provide the part to do the repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #173

Jul 242015

Ram 1500

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owned a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. While at a stop, another vehicle crashed into the rear of the contact's vehicle. As a result, the contact's vehicle rear ended the preceding vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained unknown injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train), 14V770000 (air bags) and 15V313000 (air bags). The failure mileage was 150,000.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #172

Sep 052015

Ram 1500

  • 81,880 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving 55 mph, the air bag light illuminated without warning. The contact took the vehicle to be repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags). The failure mileage was 81,880.

- Stoneville , NC, USA

problem #171

Sep 082015

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V313000 (air bags) and 14V796000 (power train); however, the part was not available to perform the repair. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. MA 10/25/15 the consumer stated all of the recalls were fixed. Updated 01/26/16

- Massillon, OH, USA

problem #170

Aug 022014

Ram 1500

  • 141,000 miles
While driving vibration in the front proceeded to lose control lose control with out knowing I was off the road into a guard rail through a small building from the highway department storage I proceeded to go through the building and into to park cars after being told they were told it was a complete wreck I was brought to the hospital in exeter New Hampshire please run the scenes no airbags failed to inflate and vibration and I could not stop nor steers vehicle I had no frenchy's and I use my vehicle for business and had to close my account as of right now I've been denied right rental fee nor rentals at all and that vehicle is now at foss motors in exeter New Hampshire I've had it towed three times and have a total of four calls to Chrysler about this matter and have yet been informed about any compensation or what I'm gonna do about my vehicle.

- Newburyport , MA, USA

problem #169

Jul 052006

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V313000 (air bags) and 14V796000 (power train); however, the parts needed to perform the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure related to the recalls. In addition, the steering wheel vibrated when making a left turn. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who was unable to duplicate the failure. While driving at low speeds, the vehicle stalled. Once restarted, the vehicle would resume normal operation. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 12,000.....updated 10-27-15.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #168

Feb 022015

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train) and 15V313000 (air bags), but the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure. Updated 11/0915 the consumer stated the vehicle was fixed on September 29, 2015. Updated 03/31/16.

- Springfield, MO, USA

problem #167

Feb 022015

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train) and 15V313000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Harrisonburg, VA, USA

problem #166

Jul 162015

Ram 1500

  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving approximately 35 mph, the contact suffered an unknown medical condition which caused the vehicle to veer off the road and crash into the rear of a delivery truck while it was being loaded. As a result, the person loading the vehicle sustained fatal injuries. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained injuries to the head, neck, hands, and chest which required medical attention. The vehicle was towed to a dealer; however, the vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 56,000.

- Graceville, FL, USA

problem #165

Apr 152015

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train), 14V770000 (air bags), and 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to provide the part to do the repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. Updated 12/03/15

- Lake Charles, LA, USA

problem #164

Feb 022015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train) and 15V313000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the recall repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Fort St Lucie, FL, USA

problem #163

Aug 182015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V798000 (power train) and 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part was unavailable to perform the repair. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Batavia, OH, USA

problem #162

May 012015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) however, the part needed for the recall was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cleveland, TN, USA

problem #161

Aug 142015

Ram 1500

  • miles
I have two open recalls on my vehicle, one for airbag that can rupturing and causing an accident or death and another for drive train pinion nut problem. I have received recall notices and no parts are available to fix my truck. I can't afford another vehicle right now so this truck is my daily driver and as I await from my dealer to call and set up an appointment to fix (when parts are available) I have to drive this possible death trap. Other trucks are being bought back, but not mine; I want this resolved now. I value my life and this wait is ridiculous. Help!!!

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #160

Aug 132015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train) and 15V313000 (air bags); however, the parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Summerville, SC, USA

problem #159

Feb 022015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the recall part was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Sacramento , CA, USA

problem #158

Jun 162015

Ram 1500

  • miles
Two recalls(P77 rear axle pinion nut; P254driver airbag inflator)--same response from the dealership(byford, duncan, ok) parts not available; visited the dealership twice and called twice(started around 6/16/2015); last recommendation from dealership was to make an appointment for them to see the vehicle and then try to order the parts; contacted the Chrysler group recall assistance center(on hold for 35 minutes) on 8/4/2015-they took my information to forward to the dealership no one seems to interested in satisfying these recalls except

- Waurika, OK, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?