10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
40 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
29 / 3
Average Mileage:
23,723 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Ram 1500 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 8 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #171

Sep 082015

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V313000 (air bags) and 14V796000 (power train); however, the part was not available to perform the repair. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. MA 10/25/15 the consumer stated all of the recalls were fixed. Updated 01/26/16

- Massillon, OH, USA

problem #170

Aug 022014

Ram 1500

  • 141,000 miles
While driving vibration in the front proceeded to lose control lose control with out knowing I was off the road into a guard rail through a small building from the highway department storage I proceeded to go through the building and into to park cars after being told they were told it was a complete wreck I was brought to the hospital in exeter New Hampshire please run the scenes no airbags failed to inflate and vibration and I could not stop nor steers vehicle I had no frenchy's and I use my vehicle for business and had to close my account as of right now I've been denied right rental fee nor rentals at all and that vehicle is now at foss motors in exeter New Hampshire I've had it towed three times and have a total of four calls to Chrysler about this matter and have yet been informed about any compensation or what I'm gonna do about my vehicle.

- Newburyport , MA, USA

problem #169

Jul 052006

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V313000 (air bags) and 14V796000 (power train); however, the parts needed to perform the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure related to the recalls. In addition, the steering wheel vibrated when making a left turn. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who was unable to duplicate the failure. While driving at low speeds, the vehicle stalled. Once restarted, the vehicle would resume normal operation. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 12,000.....updated 10-27-15.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #168

Feb 022015

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train) and 15V313000 (air bags), but the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure. Updated 11/0915 the consumer stated the vehicle was fixed on September 29, 2015. Updated 03/31/16.

- Springfield, MO, USA

problem #167

Feb 022015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train) and 15V313000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Harrisonburg, VA, USA

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
problem #166

Jul 162015

Ram 1500

  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving approximately 35 mph, the contact suffered an unknown medical condition which caused the vehicle to veer off the road and crash into the rear of a delivery truck while it was being loaded. As a result, the person loading the vehicle sustained fatal injuries. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained injuries to the head, neck, hands, and chest which required medical attention. The vehicle was towed to a dealer; however, the vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 56,000.

- Graceville, FL, USA

problem #165

Apr 152015

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train), 14V770000 (air bags), and 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to provide the part to do the repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. Updated 12/03/15

- Lake Charles, LA, USA

problem #164

Feb 022015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train) and 15V313000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the recall repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Fort St Lucie, FL, USA

problem #163

Aug 182015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V798000 (power train) and 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part was unavailable to perform the repair. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Batavia, OH, USA

problem #162

May 012015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) however, the part needed for the recall was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cleveland, TN, USA

problem #161

Aug 142015

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have two open recalls on my vehicle, one for airbag that can rupturing and causing an accident or death and another for drive train pinion nut problem. I have received recall notices and no parts are available to fix my truck. I can't afford another vehicle right now so this truck is my daily driver and as I await from my dealer to call and set up an appointment to fix (when parts are available) I have to drive this possible death trap. Other trucks are being bought back, but not mine; I want this resolved now. I value my life and this wait is ridiculous. Help!!!

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #160

Aug 132015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train) and 15V313000 (air bags); however, the parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Summerville, SC, USA

problem #159

Feb 022015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the recall part was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Sacramento , CA, USA

problem #158

Jun 162015

Ram 1500

  • miles
Two recalls(P77 rear axle pinion nut; P254driver airbag inflator)--same response from the dealership(byford, duncan, ok) parts not available; visited the dealership twice and called twice(started around 6/16/2015); last recommendation from dealership was to make an appointment for them to see the vehicle and then try to order the parts; contacted the Chrysler group recall assistance center(on hold for 35 minutes) on 8/4/2015-they took my information to forward to the dealership no one seems to interested in satisfying these recalls except

- Waurika, OK, USA

problem #157

Jul 112015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train) and 15V313000 (air bags); however, the parts needed to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA

problem #156

Feb 022015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train) and 15V6313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to provide the part to do the repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Monroe, NY, USA

problem #155

Jul 152015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train) and 15V313000 (air bags) however stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Welch, MN, USA

problem #154

Jul 052015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train) and 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Toledo , OH, USA

problem #153

Feb 242015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train) and 15V313000 (air bags) and stated that the parts needed for the recall repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Northfield, VT, USA

problem #152

Jul 102015

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
2005 Dodge Ram 1500. Consumer writes in regards to driver airbag inflator recall notice repair issues. The dealer informed the consumer, they didn't have any more parts, despite having an appointment and being the first in line. Updated 09/18/15 the rear axle pinion nut was replaced. Updated 01/28/16. The consumer stated the driver's airbag inflator was replaced. Updated 3/23/2016

- Tyler, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?