Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,022 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Ram 1500 accessories - exterior problems

accessories - exterior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments

problem #18

Jan 062014

Ram 1500

  • 92,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The ac recirculation door is broken within the fan chamber causing restricted air floe to heat the interior or to cool bought used this year and dealer sold with issue even though it is a known issue' afraid to run heat or ac as it may overheat the fan motor causing a fire.

- Waltham, MA, USA

problem #17

Mar 202013

Ram 1500

  • 33,000 miles
Winding noise at low speed also have problem with head light it don't turn on (driver side ) directional door for A/C heather broken.

- Westminster, CA, USA

problem #16

May 292013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 52,340 miles
Can you tell me if there is a safety recall for the recir ac/heat flapper. Mine broke and blocked the ac from blowing... also can you tell me if there is any recalls that my truck is eligible for. This is not a complaint just general info wasn't sure where to send my request. If this is the wrong email address please provide correct address.. thank you

- Allentown, PA, USA

problem #15

Mar 012012

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Letter from congressman dent on behalf of constituent re heater box failure in Dodge trucks the consumer stated the initial problem with the fresh air/recirculation door started 2-3 years ago. Shortly, after replacing the fresh air/recirculation door, the heat and defroster stopped working. The consumer tried to replace the control switch in the dash, thinking it was bad and not working the internal doors properly, but after the replacement, the problem remained the same. He then replaced the mode door actuators, and the motor control that controlled the doors. However, that did not resolve the problem either. The consumer went to the dealer where he was informed the entire dash would have to be removed, because the doors failed and a new heater box was needed...updated 04/19/12 updated 04/23/12

- Pottstown, PA, USA

problem #14

Oct 032009

Ram 1500

  • 50,000 miles
The defrost portion of the HVAC unit does not work and has only worked intermitantly for several years. At first I could not get any air on the feet position, but thought this was just low air flow. The defrost now does not work and doesnt matter what position I have the unit on, floor, defrost etc. This to me is a safety issue and I see numerous complaints regarding the same issue. I dont believe it has ever worked properly. When you need the defrost, it is usually out of concern for visility. This is a safety concern for many other Ram owners.

- Lafayette, LA, USA

problem #13

Sep 162009

Ram 1500

  • 65,000 miles
Recirculation door on heating/cooling system broke off inside duct work and was resting on the blower fan of 2006 Dodge Ram 1500 2X2 mega cab. Cannot use defrost mode because broken door is restricting air flow. Seems to be a common problem with 2003-2008 Dodge Ram trucks. Truck has 65,000 mile and is out of warranty. Dealer wants $1,200 dollars to repair. I had another policy that covered the whole cost of repair. Policy runs out 2013 or 125,000 miles which ever comes first. Love my truck though!

- Manteo, NC, USA

problem #12

Jul 012011

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram. The contact stated that the flap under the dash board which operated the heater and air conditioner on the passenger side of the vehicle fractured, causing excess air to release into the vehicle. A local mechanic diagnosed that a hinge was fractured and would need to be replaced. The dealer told the contact that the plastic flap was discontinued and would need to be replaced with a metal flap. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 49,000 and the current mileage was 49,200. Malfunction of plastic sponge flap that allows cooled air to enter the pucals. The Dodge mechanical dept. Said this defective or broken part has now been replaced by one made of metal. I think this should be a recall and replaced at the expense of Dodge. The estimated repair cost is about. Updated 10/12/2011

- Gatesville, TX, USA

problem #11

Dec 132010

Ram 1500

  • 69,000 miles
Truck was involved in pass side front crash, resulting in pass wheel separating from truck, since truck was repaired heater deflector does not work correctly to blow heat and or defrost correctly, ins wants proof it happened in accident. No inside of truck damaged dealer say can not prove. Deflector broke during collision with tree, was working before accident, maybe deployment of airbag caused there is a problem with deflectors now windows ae steaming up vision is impaired, and no heat on feet are, very dangerous situation.

- Kenosha , WI, USA

problem #10

Nov 142010

Ram 1500

  • 77,969 miles
The heater in my truck does not blow in the direction that the control knob is directing it to. This is an ongoing problem according to carcomplaint.com with this make, model and year. I had it repaired on 03/02/2010 at a cost of almost $800 dollars. The problem has returned again on 11/14/2010. In order to repair the problem the vent deflector door must be replaced, which involves removing the entire dash. That is what I'm told by the dealer. My windows fog up while driving and the driver cannot change the direction of the airflow, the floor will get ice cold, all at unknown times......please look into this issue.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #9

Aug 202010

Ram 1500

  • 0 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving 55 mph, the contact engaged the front windshield defroster and there was a lack of air circulation. The contact had to pull off the roadway to wipe the windshield off and repeated twice throughout her travel. The dealer advised that the heater box door was fractured. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 58,000.

- Kenosha, WI, USA

problem #8

Jul 032010

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Here in Texas some days tend to be hotter then others from time 2 time... I have a fully loaded 2006 Dodge Ram 1500 that I honestly enjoy driving; although my problems begins with that [xxx] blending door... cool A/C air only blows from the driver side which inreturn leaves my passenger side warm... not good when I got a lil honey on that side asking me why I'm not sweating like she is... the part is only $43 bucks to replace. And it's been replaced 3 times already. Cheap ass plastic.... also the rubber sealing around the sunroof isn't thick enough to with stand the opening and closing for a long period of time..go figure... something needs to be done asap or Dodge might find alot of there vehicles on the side of the rode behind plain bs.

- Conroe, TX, USA

problem #7

Dec 282006

Ram 1500

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact engaged the window defroster but no air would blow from the air vents. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure and advised the vehicle was operating as designed. The contact stated the failure was present from the date of purchase. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 1,000 and the current mileage was 19,000.

- Waterford, MI, USA

problem #6

Jul 022010

Ram 1500

  • 33,691 miles
The A/C won't blow on 1, 2 or 3, only on high and I've heard this from other owners who own the Dodge Ram bighorn. Our vehicle S a 2006 with only 33,690 which we just purchased from the Dodge dealership located in merritt island Florida. We purchased this vehicle 5 days ago and the A/C was working fine, pulled up in our driveway last night and just stopped working. My husband went through the low to high settings and the only setting it will work on is high. In researching this on the internet, we've seen this complaint on this vehicle over and over. Has Dodge put out a recall on this model yet?

- Cocoa, FL, USA

problem #5

May 102010

Ram 1500

  • 29,400 miles
While driving on the interstate a few weeks ago, my windshield fogged over. Unbeknownst to me the recirculation door on my '06 Dodge Ram 1500 truck had broken. Because the broken door blocked the airflow for the defroster, I could not clear the fog from the windshield. I was extremely lucky that I was able to roll the driver's side window down in time to keep from rear-ending the car in front of me. When I took the truck to the local Dodge dealer, they indicated that this is a very common problem for certain Ram trucks. As a matter of fact, the dealer also said that they keep the "newly designed" housings in stock to ensure that they can meet the demand for the repairs.

- Cheyenne, WY, USA

problem #4

Jan 302010

Ram 1500

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated while driving approximately 35 mph, the H back blend air door failed. The contact was no longer able to control the air flow to the windshield. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The dealer advised that the replacement H back blend air door was not covered under the vehicle warranty. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 42,000 and the current mileage was 50,000.

- Kiowa, CO, USA

problem #3

Jun 132008

Ram 1500

  • 31,000 miles
Blend door for the heating and defroster keeps breaking. I, ve had this replaced twice.

- Elizabethtown, KY, USA

problem #2

Oct 052009

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that the heating and air conditioning system has malfunctioned. The blend door broke that the controls the air flow. The dealer informed the contact that there was not a problem with the case door and that the manufacturer will not be responsible for the repairs. The contact is concerned about the safety risks since this the case door controls the defroster and is impossible for the contact to see out of the windows when the defroster malfunctions. The failure mileage was 55,000. Updated 2/1/10 updated 02/02/10.

- Windham, NH, USA

problem #1

Mar 012009

Ram 1500

  • 58,000 miles
Blend door failure (HVAC) on 2006 Dodge Ram. Renders the HVAC systems in-op, no air flow through the ducts (no heat, no defogging, no A/C). This a design issue that has plagued Dodge for numerous years in the Ram series of trucks. Chyrsler has chosen not to correct this is an perform a recall. Repair is not covered under warranty and is quite expensive, $800-$2000 depending on local labor rates.

- Huntsville, AL, USA

Not what you are looking for?