Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
19 / 1
Average Mileage:
19,216 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Ram 1500 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 7 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #29

Nov 012007

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving 50 mph, the contact drove into a large pipe. The vehicle flipped over and crashed into a tree. The contact stated that the front driver and passenger side air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained injuries that required medical attention. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN and failure mileage were unknown.

- Shelton , WA, USA

problem #28

May 262015

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact stated that the front driver's side air bag warning indicator illuminated continuously. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 8/31/15

- Covington, GA, USA

problem #27

Jun 032015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tomball, TX, USA

problem #26

Feb 062015

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V354000 (air bags); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Killen, AL, USA

problem #25

May 012015

Ram 1500

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V817000 (air bags) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and stated that a remedy was not yet determined for the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 78,000.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #24

Feb 172015

Ram 1500

  • miles
I am in receipt of two recalls, P80 & P81. I have been waiting since February for resolution. The recall notice states "if your dealer fails to remedy within a reasonable time". who defines "reasonable"?

- Prescott Valley, AZ, USA

problem #23

Apr 282015

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V817000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 6/22/15

- Harvest , AL, USA

problem #22

Apr 162015

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notice of NHTSA campaign number: 14V817000 (air bags) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced the failure. Updated 8/10/15 updated 11/24/2015

- Inverness, FL, USA

problem #21

Apr 012015

Ram 1500 6-cyl

  • 155,189 miles
Called to set an appointment to have the P80 / nhtsa14V-795 recall repaired done on my 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. Set to drop off my vehicle at 8:30 am on 4/1/2015 at chris nikel Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep (2920 N aspen ave broken arrow, ok 74012 918-355-5000). I left my truck with them and I called back this afternoon to check the status on it. They stated that they would need it for another 3 days to complete the work. I had an appointment with a 1 day promise and now its a 3-4 day job. Classic way of getting out from doing the job. I am a single father that cannot go 4 days without my truck. Very unprofessional and deceptive business practices. Me and my kids safety remains at risk because the recalls don't produce enough revenue for the dealership to remain a priority.

- Bixby, OK, USA

problem #20

Jan 052015

Ram 1500

  • 55,000 miles
I received the recall notice in the beginning of January. I notified the dealer (arrigo Dodge of West palm beach, fl) and was advised that they were waiting for parts. It is now 2 months later and I am still waiting. What is the normal time for recall repairs. I feel that I am driving an unsafe vehicle. Please advise as to what recourse is available.

- Lake Worth, FL, USA

problem #19

Dec 272014

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V354000 (air bag) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tellico Plains , TN, USA

problem #18

Feb 212015

Ram 1500

  • 128,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while driving at 30 mph, the vehicle was involved in a head on collision with a commercial vehicle. The vehicle was previously serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V817000 (air bags) however, the air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained a concussion and whiplash that required medical attention. The vehicle was destroyed. The failure mileage was 128,000.

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #17

Feb 112012

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owned a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle veered off the road causing the driver to crash into a tree and flip over. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The driver sustained fatal injuries during the impact. The contact felt that the failure was related to NHTSA campaign number: 14V770000 (air bags). The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Canton, GA, USA

problem #16

Feb 052015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V817000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

problem #15

Dec 182014

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V354000 (air bags) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experience a failure.

- Inverness, FL, USA

problem #14

Dec 202014

Ram 1500

  • 165,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving 45 mph, the contact heard an abnormal noise and lost control of the vehicle due to the driveshaft detaching. The vehicle crashed into a ditch and the air bags did not deploy. A police report was not filed and no injuries were reported. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 165,000.

- Charlevoix , MI, USA

problem #13

Feb 012008

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owned a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving 70 mph, the contact lost control of the vehicle and crashed into a guardrail. The air bags failed to deploy. The driver and the front passenger sustained injuries to their backs that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Orange Park , FL, USA

problem #12

Dec 162014

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 36,636 miles
I got a letter from Chrysler group llc about a recall for my airbag inflator housing on 12/15/14. On 12/16/14 I called daytona Dodge in daytona beach, fl. To schedule an appointment & they told me the part was on back order.they gave me no time frame on when the part would come in and told me I would get another letter when the part was in stock.

- Port Orange, FL, USA

problem #11

Jul 292013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while traveling 60 mph, she crashed into a tree. Upon impact, the air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained unknown injuries. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileages were unavailable. The VIN was unavailable.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #10

Aug 012011

Ram 1500

  • 31,263 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that at engine startup, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the dealer confirmed that the passenger side front impact sensor needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 31,263 and the current mileage was 33,200.

- Ship Bottom, NJ, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?