Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,491 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Ram 1500 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #63

Dec 132013

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V313000 (air bags) and 13V528000 (steering); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Massillion, OH, USA

problem #62

May 122015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V313000 (air bags), 13V528000 (steering), and 09E001000 (steering). The parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Eagle, ID, USA

problem #61

Oct 022015

Ram 1500

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that the steering wheel seized and the vehicle would not move. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 68,000. Updated 12/10/15 updated 02/02/16 updated 03/23/16

- Quakertown, PA, USA

problem #60

May 072015

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering) and 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Goldhill, OR, USA

problem #59

Feb 182015

Ram 1500

  • 121,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving at 65 mph over a bump in the road, the steering wheel shook violently. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 121,000.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #58

Aug 052013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. When driving over unleveled land, the vehicle veered to the left or right and was extremely difficult to control the steering wheel. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who replaced all four tires but the failure recurred. The contact was also included in NHTSA campaign id number: 15V313000 (air bags) and was unable to determine when the part would become available to schedule the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 91,000. Updated 11/25/15 the consumer stated while driving on the freeway the transmission popped loudly. The electrical system is unreliable. The turn signals, emergency flashers, high beams, and windshield wipers all operate unintentionally. Updated 2/12/16

- Bloomington, CA, USA

problem #57

Jun 012015

Ram 1500

  • 103,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving at approximately 45mph when steering wheel began shaking. Started pulling to the left and hit curb. Could not get vehicle up to speed and steer properly. Took to shop who indicated left front tie rod had come loose due to the ball stud being cracked. Paid to have replaced.

- Shawnee, KS, USA

problem #56

Apr 212015

Ram 1500

  • miles
My husband's Dodge Ram 1500 has had 2 power steering pumps replaced. The last pump was replaced in less than 39 days. Within the last week we have had 4 different episodes of the power steering gpoes out. When the power steering does go out there is a hard jerk to the right side. This is very dangerous. This past time my family and I was pulling a 27 foot camper behind us when the steering went out. We also had to replace the struts on the truck. This is ridiculous to keep having these dangerous problems. I will no longer let my son ride with his father because of the parental of the steering going out. This should not happen.

- York, PA, USA

problem #55

May 082015

Ram 1500

  • 166,520 miles
Was driving on gravel road after a heavy rain. Came upon a water puddle and when I crossed it the front wheels hit fairly hard. At that point the front steering locked. I let the vehicle roll to a stop as I feared loosing control and leaving the road. The steering wheel remained locked until I had stopped. I then turned off the motor and restarted the vehicle. I turned the steering wheel at stopped position and with effort I was able to turn left then right. I feel something is wrong with this truck. It is not covered in the buy back on Dodge Ram trucks as I understand it, so what is up with that" what could be the difference between 2006 & 2008-2012 vehicles? I am very unhappy with this truck for other issues, which I do not find with other brands such as GMC or Ford. She is beautiful to look at, but seems to have inherent problems in all these trucks. My brother-in-law and his son own the same models but one is an 2008 and the other 2012 with much the same issues as my truck. Heating and cooling is bad. Wind at the side windows is intolerable. Cannot carry on any conversation with the family when going 65 mph because of the excessive noise level from these poorly constructed cab window frames. Ok that's it from me. Please tell why this 2006 Dodge Ram 1500 was not offered a buy back" best regards rcm

- Walters, OK, USA

problem #54

Apr 012014

Ram 1500

  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving approximately 55 mph over a bump in the road, the front end of the vehicle began to shake vigorously without warning. The shaking stopped once the vehicle speed was reduced to 30 mph. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but the failure was unable to be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure recurred on multiple occasions when the contact drove over a bump while driving at various speeds from 40 mph and over. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 13V528000 (steering) and 15V313000 (air bags), however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The approximate failure mileage was 63,000.

- Port Ewen, NY, USA

problem #53

Jul 252015

Ram 1500

  • 104,517 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When driving on interstate 74 just West of goodfield, Illinois on 7-25-15, I sped up to about 60 mph and all of a sudden the steering and front end started to shake and it shook until I lowered the speed down under 50 mph and continued on for about 7-8 miles. When returning I didn't get back up to 60 mph. This vehicle has had this problem but not as great since I bought it back in November of 2013.

- Congerville, IL, USA

problem #52

Jan 312015

Ram 1500

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. While the vehicle was stopped, the contact had a seizure and his foot pressed the accelerator pedal. The driver side tie rod fractured and the vehicle traveled across a median, crashed into a bus, and then crashed into a street light. The contact stated that the vehicle was unstable and out of control as the contact ended up crashing into a wall. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained injuries to both hands in which they were plated with metal due to extensive fracturing of the bones. The contact's back was fractured in three places and he sustained damages to the left leg. The front passenger sustained unknown injuries. The contact received extensive medical treatments. The front passenger did not receive medical attention. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence and was not diagnosed. The contact later received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags). The VIN was excluded from NHTSA campaign numbers: 13V528000 (steering) and 10E013000 (steering). The VIN was not available. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Las Vegas , NV, USA

problem #51

Jul 302013

Ram 1500

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. While the vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for an unrelated issue, the contact was informed that there was fluid leaking from the axle. The mechanic diagnosed that there was a pinion nut failure. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000.

- Franklin, WI, USA

problem #50

Aug 182010

Ram 1500

  • 35,000 miles
When it is very hot and the windows have been up, the ignition switch will not turn. The steering wheel will not turn and the key will not rotate from locked position. I have contacted Dodge and they say they have made notes on the issue, but they don't see a problem that they are responsible for. If this was an issue that I would have control of creating - it would be my problem. This is an issue with safety in that if I had an emergency and this happened I would not be able to start my car. Or, have a car-full of groceries and find out the car won't start!!! bad enough I have to wait for the car to cool off when this happens. This is a summertime issue which makes me have to find shade or park where the sun doesn't shine into the front of the car. Problem seems to be a part (probably plastic) that expands when it gets very hot and prevents the key cylinder from rotating. This can't be the only car with this issue as Dodge would elude to...

- Clearwater, FL, USA

problem #49

Dec 012014

Ram 1500

  • 139,000 miles
Driving down the road my front left strust blew out without warning and at same time the front sway bar broke off on same side it was hard to control I slowed down N stopped and had truck hauled to dealership dealership woouldnt change both front struts said other one looked fine charged me 750 dollars and one month latter oposite side strut blew out N sway arm snapped off.. and now I have problems where the rear end of my truck walks all over the road

- Nicholson, PA, USA

problem #48

May 282014

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 83,500 miles
Rear axle pinion nut came out causing the drive shaft to fall out and the rear differential to freeze up. This happened with no noise or notice while driving at 65 mph on the interstate.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #47

Nov 192014

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 156,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph, the vehicle started to shake violently after driving over a pothole. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the steering shocks, steering arms, ball joint, and tie rods need to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 156,000. Updated 2/9/15

- Bellefontaine, OH, USA

problem #46

Aug 172011

Ram 1500

  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving approximately 20 mph, the passenger side tie rod fractured. The contact replaced the tie rod end and the steering stabilizer. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering). However, the parts were not available. The manufacturer stated that the recall only applied to the driver side tie rod. The failure mileage was 33,000.

- Vionsville , IN, USA

problem #45

Jul 162014

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
5 months ago my vehicle started a vibration in the steering wheel as I would drive and then my truck would shake as slowing....I went to the dealership for a fuel service and was notified of several recalls including a hub assembly that I had replaced the year before. I was told I would be called within 2 weeks to schedule a appt to have it fixed but when I attempted to call, the person I had talked to was let go or fired...since then I have been going to school and working fulltime. 2 weeks ago my truck started with a noise sounding like a squeal/squeak...and I was told it just needed penetrating oil but the noise has gotten worse....

- Bude, MS, USA

problem #44

Jul 042014

Ram 1500

  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that the steering failed without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the technician diagnosed that the tie rods needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 6,000 and the current mileage was 28,020.

- Williams Bay, WI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?