Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.6

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,424 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Ram 1500 suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments

problem #16

May 202011

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Suspension, wheel bearing failure 5/26/11 2006 Ram 1500 started as a loud howling noise, ranged from 25 >70mph then went to a grinding noise with a vibration in turns mainly right hand out of warranty 68000 mile, paid big bucks to dealer to replace left frt bearing assembly, it had failed, found a recall 07V038000 had been done when trucks were built for same issue, manufacture states truck was just a couple months out of recall period recall time11/7/05 and 4/27/06, factory tag on truck shows mfg date of 06/06 sorry for your luck, have found so far 19 more just like mine since the recall has happened that has filed with "NHTSA? how many has not, knowing there is a national problem, how many close calls or fatality?S must happen before NHTSA takes notice that it allowed Dodge to short change this recall, 07V1038000 needs brought back with amendments, replace without prejudice note- dealer was asked during repair how many of these that has had a problem, answer very few to none was the answer, ouch at time of the recall over 38000 vehicles is considered only a few ?"

- Lanexa , VA, USA

problem #15

May 102011

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 52,751 miles
2006 Dodge Ram 1500. Original recall NHTSA campaign number: 07V038000 suspension: Front: Wheel bearing in 2007, Chrysler stated that recall work was completed on defective wheel bearing. On May 10, 2011 the wheel bearing failed again, due either to defective manufacturing or improper repair. This is a major safety concern that could result in loss of vehicle control and crash. It did no good for Chrysler to replace defective parts in a recall with another defective part that was going to fail. This defect should be considered another safety recall.

- Monroe, MI, USA

problem #14

Oct 012010

Ram 1500

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500 quad. The contact stated that the front right wheel hub assembly was separated from the vehicle. Both the dealer and manufacturer advised the contact that her vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 07V038000 (suspension:front:wheel bearing ) and offered no further assistance. No repairs were performed. The current mileage was 44,027 and the failure mileage was approximately 40,000.

- Poughkeepsie, NY, USA

problem #13

Jan 012011

Ram 1500

  • 47,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dodge 1500 06 tie rod failures.. about every 30000 miles I am having to replace tie rod ends due to the lack of factory lube points..(no zerk fitting per dealer reason for failure).....the looser it got the harder it is to control at breaking...

- Hastings , MN, USA

problem #12

Apr 222010

Ram 1500 4WD

  • 67,000 miles
My 2006 Dodge 4X4 mega cab is wobbling all over the road @ speeds of 50 + mph I have installed new shocks, front damper and a new pitman arm, what's to be done next"??"

- Wildomar, CA, USA

problem #11

May 012010

Ram 1500

  • 41,000 miles
Under normal driving conditions truck developed a noise and vibration. Dealer reported front wheel bearing was bad. This was replaced at 10,000 miles under previous safety recall in early 2007. Current mileage is 42,000. I have the old part.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #10

Feb 222010

Ram 1500

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am having wheel bearing problems with my truck it is a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. I see that you made a recall for the year of my truck and all the problems you stated I am having problems with it. The subsequent noise and vibration out of the front end. I have missed the recall by just about two weeks of the recall of the 2006 Dodge Ram trucks. My truck was built on Oct/11/2005 and the recall started on trucks built on Nov/17/2005. I only have 50,000 miles on my truck and I have replaced one and the other one is going out less then 1,000 miles after replacing the one.

- Florence, KY, USA

problem #9

Mar 272008

Ram 1500

  • 3,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact was driving approximately between 55-65 mph on normal road conditions. There was a loud grinding noise coming from outside of the vehicle. The steering wheel began to vibrate excessively. The driver was able to continue in operation. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number 07V038000 (suspension:front:wheel bearing). The recall remedy was performed on the vehicle. However, the technician refused to replace the front wheel bearings. The identical failures progressed. Currently, the vehicle is inoperable. The vehicle has not been repaired at this time. The failure mileage was 3,000.

- North Weymouth, MA, USA

problem #8

Oct 292009

Ram 1500

  • 63,500 miles
I have a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500 and it has problems with the front wheel bearing the NHTSA report a recall for this vehicle on Feb 06, 2007 # G02 and campaign # 07V038000, the problem is that my vehicle apparently is not included at this recall and the problem persist thanks for your help angel maldonado montalvo contact in spanish.

- San German, PR, USA

problem #7

Oct 162009

Ram 1500

  • 37,000 miles
The pickup shakes violently when hitting a bump at speed from 60 -75. Very dangerous.

- Sutherland, NE, USA

problem #6

Apr 212009

Ram 1500

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500. The front suspension wheel bearing came apart and almost caused a crash. Recall # 07V038000, component: Suspension:front:wheel bearing is related to the failure. The manufacturer stated that the VIN is not a part of the recall and the contact would be responsible for the repair cost. The failure and current mileages were 55,000.

- Rudy, AR, USA

problem #5

Aug 142008

Ram 1500

  • 30,000 miles
2006 Dodge Ram 1500 quad cab, I purchased and have had numerous problems from the start. The transmission engages in such a way as to cause my body to move forward then back, I took it back to the dealership on three occasions, they changed the fluid and put in two new filters, still same problem, I was told by the mechanic of 22 years that's the new transmission feature to keep it from wearing out, it only engages when you stomp on the gas"?? 30000 miles started leaking black fluid at front wheel, took to dealership, said suspension was gone, part has been on back order since August 2008 it is now Feb. 2009 and no expected arrival date of the part. My tires have worn out completely due to this issue, after continually calling the dealership and complaining they are installing an oem suspension part and will give me one free tire.. waahoo, what about the other 3"

- Clayton, NC, USA

problem #4

Jan 012007

Ram 1500

  • 1 miles
Vibration felt through the steering wheel during slow left turns, such as driveways and parking lot. Vehicle has 15,000 miles on it now and this has happened since day one. Dealer has had vehicle twice, first time replaced wheel bearings, second time the said Dodge was aware of the problem but did not have a fix.

- Eugene, OR, USA

problem #3

Jun 072007

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles
Bought 2006 Dodge Ram 1500 slt June 2006 100 miles on it on way home brakes pulled sharpley. Glendale, ca Dodge replaced brake rotors, pads, & calipers@500 miles, due to leaking...front end has been messed up since...vibrates at various speeds, so badly at times feels like front end is going to shake off...front right tire feels like it's warped at times, pulsing in brake pedal when braking, not always, have taken it in to dealer various times they claim nothing wrong...dealer replaced drive shaft last visit, 07/2007, with 20,000 miles...no change....additionally, transmission feels like it's slipping at times and at 60 mph, on level road, transmission feels like it's in to high of a gear, if I was driving a manuel I'd shift down at least 1 gear, at times the vehicle shakes with acceleration, the dealer states, you guessed it, there's no problem..I do not even like driving the truck on the fwy...finally, truck jumps whenever you hit a bump, suspension feels loose, like the shocks are blown, any uneven surface makes the truck unstable.. to say I am frustrated is an understatement!!! the incident dates are various I have been dealing with this for a year!!

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #2

Apr 062007

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles
Left front tire is showing wear on the outside edge. Dealer stated tire was out of balance and needed rotation. Truck has 13,000 miles on it. I am not sure I agree with this diagnoses. Truck also has a vibration when driving between 55 and 70 mph.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #1

Mar 052007

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24 miles
Brought vehicle home from dealer with heavy vibration at 65 mph. Took vehicle to dealer, which couldn't balance tires, they sent them to a tire store. Tires were balanced, vibration better but still there. Took vehicle to another tire store where one tire was replaced and other 3 tires balanced again. Vibration much better, but still notice slight shake and vibration starting at 57-60 mph. Feels like a wobble, feel it in the seat and steering wheel. Dealer says that tires can't be balanced beyond 55 mph. Finding other instances of this on websites for 2006 Ram. Doesn't feel like road feel from tight suspension, feels like something is loose in wheel assembly or tires are still not perfect. Could be driveshaft.

- Triadelphia, WV, USA

Not what you are looking for?