Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,259 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Ram 1500 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #32

Oct 112013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 120,000 miles


Pinion nut came off, causing catastrophic damage and near collision, I sent the letter below to Chrysler, with no response. October 12, 2013 Chrysler corporation: I have owned 5 Dodge Ram, a 95,98,99,2006,2008; the 2008 was sold to me with a lifetime warranty... until I needed it. After 5 years of ownership (Chrysler service now tells me that I was required to have my vehicle inspected within a 30 day window of its 5th birthday to preserve the warranty. Who knew this" lifetime means life-time, right? my differential just suffered from a catastrophic failure when the pinion nut backed off and the pinion gear was pinched between the housing and the ring gear at 60 mph, blowing out the cast iron housing, the drive shaft fell out and I nearly collided with another vehicle. Benny boyd of lampasas Texas had rebuilt the differential a year prior to the 5 year marker, it is my assertion that had the work been done properly this should not have happened. All of the Dodge Ram dealerships in my area claim that I do not have the warranty I have bragged about, and counted on, and will not repair it. I am screwed!! I was quoted $4,000 dollars for the repair at cecil atkins in burnet Texas. Friday Oct 11th I needed the warranty that came with my truck, but it was not there. The service people seemed afraid to even tell me, they too seemed ashamed of this loophole. Shame on Chrysler. After the loyalty I have shown you for the last 20 years, all the praise for your products, and word of mouth advertising I have given you, I expect to be treated better than this, what can you do for me before I lose faith in you" [xxx] loyal customer information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Bertram, TX, USA

problem #31

Mar 112015

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 67,452 miles
I am concerned with the rear pinion retaining nut problem I have seen and heard about on these vehicles. I feel it should be an expanded recall as I don't want to be driving down the road and have my rear diff lock up or explode internally if its something that can be fixed.

- Riverview, FL, USA

problem #30

Mar 102015

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 92,440 miles
Front output shaft(axel) on truck failed at 68,768 miles replaced with oem part, front shaft failed again at 92,440 miles replaced again.

- Bristol, RI, USA

problem #29

Aug 242013

Ram 1500

  • 84,459 miles


I was driving in the middle lane of traffic at 70 mph when my 4wl lite flashed, I heard a loud bang and my truck jerked violently, I thought I had been rear ended. My truck immediately slowed down to 30mph right after the loud noise. I then had to get across two lanes of speeding freeway traffic to avoid an accident or worse. After I made it to the shoulder of the road and calmed my nerves, I did damage assessment and discovered that my truck had shifted itself into four wheel low at 70 mph. I limped my truck home, stuck in four wheel low, called a tow truck and took it to my Dodge dealer. Almost two years later and numerous trips back to various dealerships to get this warranty work fixed, and out thousands of dollars the problem has never been fixed and Chrysler considers the case closed. I'm afraid now after this incident to take my truck on the freeway as I feel it is not safe for me or the drivers around me. Next time I may not be so lucky.

- Caledonia, WI, USA

problem #28

Dec 232014

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
While driving on the freeway at 60 mph the rear axle pinion nut loosened itself off causing the drive shaft to drop. This caused the vehicle to make a loud boom and loose control while on the freeway luckily no other vehicles were near my vehicle at the time. Chrysler is recalling certain model year 2009-2012 Ram 1500 trucks manufactured from February 27, 2008, through June 30, 2009, and from December 1, 2009, through October 20, 2011. This vehicle was built in that time frame on July 2, 2008 as a 2008 model but I was informed by the dealership after they contacted it does not fall under the recall and gave me a quote for $6000 to fix.

- Edmonton Ab Canada T5t6l1, AL, USA

problem #27

Dec 092014

Ram 1500

  • 99,940 miles
As I was driving on a highway in three lanes of traffic at approximately 70 M.P.H. the rear end made a loud noise and without warning seized up and started grinding extremely loud causing my rear end to lock up at 70 M.P.H. almost causing a pile up. I avoided a collision by pushing the accelerator to the floor allowing me to change lanes and exit the highway to the first parking lot I could find right at the exit. When I drove into the parking lot the vehicle had a strong odor of hot oil and would not move because the rear end was destroyed. I find it hard to believe Dodge is not responsible for the 2008 year trucks having a rear end failure since they have recalls on every year truck except 2008. Now since none of this will be covered by the manufacturer or dealer I am left replacing the rear end of my truck with one from a junkyard and I am out almost three thousand dollars.

- Gouverneur, NY, USA

problem #26

Dec 162014

Ram 1500

  • 69,000 miles


The truck started hopping and skipping while driving. After having it looked at the rear differential was full of metal gear teeth and filings.

- Bloomfield, CT, USA

problem #25

Nov 062014

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 154,000 miles
I had bad vibration start in the rear end a couple days before. Went to tire shop thinking it was a tire out of balance. One was, yet vibration still there. Left tire shop to take to mechanic, as I go to leave parking lot I accelerate and a big boom, then nothing. The yoke on rear end is still connected to driveshaft yet it's dangling out the front of axle at angle. Upon having tow truck bring the truck home, I pulled the cover off rear axle to find the nut had backed off the pinion shaft. This should be a recall, everything I've researched shows 2009 models mfg Feb 27 2008 thru whenever are covered, yet my 2008 mfg March of 2008 isn't. I disabled and live on a fixed income. I cannot afford $800 or more to fix.

- Flint, MI, USA

problem #24

Oct 052014

Ram 1500

  • 125,000 miles
I was driving with my 4 kids in the truck. Problem started with my speedometer fluctuating while on the interstate going 65mph then suddenly fell to 0 and stayed there. I then started to smell a foul smell resembling natural gas. My ABS light, E brake light and engine light came on. Took nearest exit and pulled over to see what was wrong. Turned truck off then back on and all lights went away but speedo still not working. Continued driving to get it home then the truck started surging when I would let off the gas but would go away when I pressed the gas. Decided I needed to pull over again. I proceeded to the turning lane going 35pmh when all of sudden the rear end locked up and started fishtailing and spinning till it came to a stop. Luckily cars around me swerved around me to prevent from getting hit. Rear axle is leaking fluid and really bad smell. Had to get a flat bed to pull it on and off and unloaded at my house. Thankfully myself and my kids are safe. Unfortunately my 2008 Ram 1500 quad cab does not fall under the 2009-2012 recall with the same pinion retaining nut backing out due to no loctite "adhesive" causing it to lock up. All I was told by Chrysler was to save any repair receipts in the event the recall gets expanded. My local Dodge dealer wants me to tow my truck and charge me $101.89 just to diagnose it just to tell me it's the rear pinion locking nut :/ but they were sure to let me know of the windshield wiper motor that was under recall that I should get fixed....I think this is a bit more important than a wiper motor. NHTSA campaign # 13V038000/expansion recall # 12V-474/Chrysler campaign N08 states Dodge Ram manufactured between February 2008 to June 2009 fell under the recall though my truck was manufactured July 2008 yet it doesn't apply"??"!

- Crestview, FL, USA

problem #23

Jun 252014

Ram 1500

  • 144,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated while driving approximately 35 mph, the axle pinion nut became lose. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the pinion nut needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacture was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage and current mileage was 144,000....updated 01/07/15 updated 05/29/2015

- Belmont, WI, USA

problem #22

Apr 242014

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 52,000 miles


At 1750 driving in the 4th lane to the left of a 5 lane highway at 65mph heading West I suddenly felt like I had been struck from behind, the rearend of the truck lifted up into the air. I was out the windshield looking down at the pavement and the rearend swung left turning the truck 180 degrees into the middle lane of 5 lanes, now facing East into oncoming traffic. When the police officer finally arrived he asked me what had happened. I described this exactly to him adding that I was struck from behind and the vehicle that struck me did not stop. The officer walked around the truck and stated that there was no damage to the rearend of the truck. Then the officer looked under the truck and stated the powertrain was lying on the pavement unattached at the rearend..updated 06/25/14 updated 06/30/2014

- Desoto , KS, USA

problem #21

Feb 122013

Ram 1500

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. While the vehicle was parked in a residential driveway, the rear differential plug became detached from the vehicle. The failure caused lubricant to spill onto the driveway. The contact experienced difficulty on several occasions when shifting gears from park to drive. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact stated that the differential needed to be replaced. The failure mileage was 95,000.

- Phoneix, AZ, USA

problem #20

Oct 172013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 58,976 miles
While driving at 75 mph, the issue became apparent as entry into a curve began. The steering of the vehicle (2008 Dodge Ram quad cab 1500) became less responsive with a great amount of vibration. As the curve in the road straightened out a loud pop came from driver side front and rear axle areas. Witch also created a large uncontrollable body roll and sway. Howling noise is greatly apparent at higher speeds. With this issue the vehicle feels un-solid and constant body roll feels as if you were traveling on a boat. Many items recalled on other Dodge vehicles during same year, but not on the vehicle in question, have the ability to case the same issues. This could create a tragic and catastrophic loss of life in the vehicle of failed parts or the family next to them on the road. "drive safe, because today could be the day you save your family's life".

- Slaton , TX, USA

problem #19

Oct 302013

Ram 1500

  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that the gear shifter would not properly shift. The contact had to continuously pump the brakes before the shifter would respond. The vehicle was not taken for inspection or diagnosis. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 38,000.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #18

Dec 112013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 109,000 miles
Pinion nut on rear diff came off causing loss of driveshaft damaging transfer case and gas tank.

- West Wareham, MA, USA

problem #17

Oct 082013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 120,645 miles
Truck stalls out for no reason. Tends to happen when slowing down and at lower speeds. Loose power steering and control. I have since changed the throttle body. Truck still stalls.

- Watervliet, NY, USA

problem #16

Aug 092013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 51,247 miles
Started to drive and the rearend locked up luckily no speed this truck was manufactured on March 24th 2008 same time as the 2009 model recall.

- Fife, WA, USA

problem #15

Jun 242013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
Major rusting issue with 2003-2008 Dodge Ram trucks. The design of the bed traps water between the truck bed body panels, causing them to rust from the inside out. This is a widely know problem with these trucks. A vehicle that is well maintained should not rust like this. I've been told by every body shop I've gone to visit that Dodge knows about the problem and is doing nothing to fix. Dodge has had issues like this in the past with their 2nd generation trucks. The Dodge Ram cracked dash, and bad transmission are just two examples. Although this is not a safety issue, in some states a vehicle with rust is not allowed on public roads. This forces owners to fix the rust themselves which can range from $500- $3,000.

- Cleveland Heights, OH, USA

problem #14

Jun 192013

Ram 1500

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, a popping noise was emitted as the rear wheels seized. The contact noticed that the rear differential became detached from the vehicle and that the bolts were missing. The vehicle was not inspected by the dealer or repaired. The failure was reported to the manufacturer. The failure and current mileage was 120,000.

- Brighton, CO, USA

problem #13

Mar 242013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 35,300 miles
Driving at a speed of 45 mph the truck--2008 Dodge Ram 1500 5.7 hemi-- died. I had no power steering. I was able to shift into neutral and stop. Very thankful I was on a country lane and not on a freeway because there was no warning and I could have been in a horrible accident. The check gauges light icon was flashing as I tried to re-start it. It would crank but not start. After waiting for 15 minutes it did start up again. The engine icon light was showing and it said that an oil change was needed. The oil change wasn't due yet for another 1000 miles, or, two weeks on my three month schedule. I get the oil changed every three months. It tried to stall from then on as I accelerated from a stop, on my way to to the dealer. The diagnostic showed a code for the egr valve, which was replaced. This was fixed four days ago and so far so good, but am very anxious when I drive now, worrying that it might happen again, especially after seeing so many posts online with others experiencing the same problem with their Dodge Ram trucks.this truck has 35,300 miles on it. This truck was serviced six weeks before this incident with: A 16 cylinder hemi tune-up; a throttle body service, fuel induction flush and fuel system treatment; transmission service with filter change; machined front and rear rotors; and tire rotation.

- Richmond, TX, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?