Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
16 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
19 / 0
Average Mileage:
18,132 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Ram 1500 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #101

Mar 102015

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V313000 (air bags) and 16V352000 (air bags). The part was not available for the repair. The manufacturer was unable to provide a time frame that the parts would be supplied to the dealer. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- San Angelo, TX, USA

problem #100

Jul 042016

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Mount Julient, TN, USA

problem #99

Jun 222016

Ram 1500

  • miles
I took in my truck to get the new air bag installed and the dealer where I took it has destroyed my wheel cover were the air bag goes as well as did not install the air bag right because when I took the truck in my steering wheel cover was not damaged the way it is now and to see the safety of the whole situation they had me drive this truck looking the way it is with no concerns about my safety as well as others around me if this bag would have deployed for no reason now the person who check me in or my truck did not state on the paper that my cover was damaged the way the dealership is stating not until they were done installing the airbag is when they said my cover was all tore up now I have images of my truck steering wheel and it don't look like it's all tore up. Now when I called the fca about this they had us on a confess call and the manager had said there was no air bag now he is stating there was newspaper and cardboard paper stuffed in the steering wheel he does not want to take responsibility for the damage he did to my truck now they left my air awful when U look at it U tell me is this my fault because that's what they are stating the first image I sent is what my steering wheel look like before I took it to the shop the rest is what they gave it back to me like

- American Canyon, CA, USA

problem #98

Jun 222016

Ram 1500

  • 132,577 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact took the vehicle in for an air bag recall repair; however, the recall repair was incomplete and components were visible. The contact was afraid to drive the vehicle because the air bag became more visible each day. The dealer informed her that the recall repair was completed. The contact notified the manufacturer. No further repairs were performed. The failure mileage was 132,577.

- American Canyon, CA, USA

problem #97

Nov 152015

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the parts were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Sikeston, MO, USA

problem #96

Jun 132015

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect......updated 08/11/16 updated 08/17/16.

- Winder, GA, USA

problem #95

May 262015

Ram 1500 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 08/02/16

- Mcdonough, GA, USA

problem #94

May 312015

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Lake Charles, LA, USA

problem #93

May 272015

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Gadsden, AL, USA

problem #92

May 212016

Ram 1500

  • 69,000 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving approximately 50 mph, the contact's vehicle crashed into the rear driver side door of another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained minor injuries that did not require medical attention. A police report was filed. The contact's vehicle was towed to a tow yard. Two weeks after the failure, the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 09V084000 (visibility) and 15V313000 (air bags). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 69,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Gonzales, LA, USA

problem #91

Jun 092016

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) however, the part for the repair was unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced any failures. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 07/14/16 the consumer stated the recall was finally addressed and taken care of it. Updated 07/19/16.

- Sparta, WI, USA

problem #90

Apr 212016

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. Parts distribution disconnect. The VIN was unavailable. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Sparta, WI, USA

problem #89

Nov 242015

Ram 1500

  • 0 miles
Takata recall, my complaint is the airbags, nothing has happened, but this is on the recall list, so I want it fixed so I will not end up dying due to neglect. Does something have to happen in order for repair work to take place - really

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #88

Apr 192016

Ram 1500 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 06/14/16 updated 06/15/16.

- Bedford, NY, USA

problem #87

May 292015

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #86

Apr 142016

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall-approx. 1 year old we received notice that there might be a problem with the driver side airbag. This week we received a confirmation notice that our 2008 Dodge Ram 1500 was indeed part of the recall. We immediately contacted our dealership, and was told it would be at least a 7 month delay!! what happens if that airbag deploys before we can have it replaced"?"

- Salt Lake City, UT, USA

problem #85

Sep 012015

Ram 1500

  • miles
I have received a recall notice on the air bags for my truck and have called the dealer many time to get it repaired but was told that the part was not available yet. I need some help getting the bags replaced because of the danger of them going off and killing the driver.

- Beaverdam, VA, USA

problem #84

Apr 072016

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall for our 2008 Dodge Ram 1500, we have not received information on the recall.

- Tomball, TX, USA

problem #83

Jan 052016

Ram 1500

  • 125,000 miles
On about 5 different times my accelerator pedal has gotten stuck and accelerating to about 90 plus mph while on the highway. I had to stomp on it several times to get it unstuck. I have seen where other people have had the same problem as mine. However the Dodge dealer in baytown Texas said they have not gotten any recalls on this problem and can not do anything for me until there is a recall. Also I was told about the airbag recall and they also have told me that they will not do any repairs until I receive a recall notice by mail which I still have not received. We have had problems receiving our mail due to new mail carriers put the wrong mail in different mail boxes. So what can I do to address this problem before I am in and accident and injury or kill someone and or myself. I have also had some issues with my steering.

- Channelview, TX, USA

problem #82

Jan 252016

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 218,000 miles
The contact owned a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving 35 mph, the vehicle crashed into multiple trees. The air bags had a delayed deployment and emitted metal fragments. A police report was filed. The contact sustained multiple abrasions to the face and a collapsed lung, which required medical attention. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags). The parts for the repair were not available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 218,000. The vehicle was destroyed and towed......updated 06/22/16 * bf the consumer also stated the seat belt did restrain him properly. The consumer had a second accident and the air bag did not deploy. Updated 06/29/16

- Mcrae, AR, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?