Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,453 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Ram 1500 accessories - exterior problems

accessories - exterior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments

problem #17

Jan 052016

Ram 1500

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving approximately 65 mph, the windshield defroster failed to work. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing where it was determined that the control head and actuators needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Milan, TN, USA

problem #16

May 202013

Ram 1500

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that there was an abnormal noise coming from the dashboard and afterwards the defrost became inoperable. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the actuator needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired however the failure recurred approximately two years later. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 85,000.

- Rockford, MI, USA

problem #15

Jan 142014

Ram 1500

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that there was an abnormal knocking sound underneath the dashboard. When the knocking sound stopped, the ventilation system failed and caused the defrost to fail. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The contact was advised that the air blend door and the actuators needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Macomb, IL, USA

problem #14

Apr 282015

Ram 1500

  • 34,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving at approximately 55 mph, the front windshield defroster became inoperable without warning. The contact had to pull over to wipe the windows down and continued driving with the windows down for better visibility. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 09V158000 (equipment). The approximate failure mileage was 34,900.

- Middle Village, NY, USA

problem #13

Mar 112015

Ram 1500

  • 86,100 miles
My 2009 Dodge Ram 1500 is making a banging sound behind the glove box. I have had this issue before since it was an heat blend door actuator that went out. The dealership fixed it once and now its back again. Is this going to be an on going issue each year and the part needs to be replaced. I was quoted almost "$750" in just labor fees to get it changed out. I don't think this is an issue on my end since the part appears to last for a year. I will continue to monitor the A/C and check with other Dodge Ram forums on how others had this solved.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #12

Jan 292014

Ram 1500

  • 83,477 miles
I have a Dodge Ram 1500 affected by the K17 recall for parts cdea1K171aa (reprogramming) and cdj1K172aa (recirculation door). The second is a actuator for the recirculation door. This recall was completed on 12/22/2010. In Jan and again in Mar 2014 two more actuator doors went out due to an electrical issue with the actuator. First, part number 68089742aa, for the blend door and secondly, part number 68089742aa, for the foot actuator and the defrost. The gears were stripped on both doors and the vehicle made a loud thumping from under the dash. Both were replaced at my cost. There are four actuator doors in this model Ram truck. This is far past coincidental that "actuators" are defective in this truck, but the recall only replaced one when the recall clearly states "actuators", plural. The first I replaced in Jan. Caused me not to be able to see out the front window from ice and fog. The second in Mar. Disabled the A/C and heater usage completely. There is a problem with the actuators installed on this vehicle and they need to be replaced by the auto maker at their cost. In the Chrysler recall, K17, it states that "if there are mode door actuators that need replacing, up to 4 additional hours may be required". the recall states plural actuator doors. I have submitted a claim to Chrysler and they state that the actuators I replaced were not a part of the recall, even though there are four in this vehicle and three of the four have gone bad.

- Winona, TX, USA

problem #11

Apr 112014

Ram 1500

  • 64,077 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Heating and air will not blow air on windshield or passenger which in a high humidity situation(rain) would cause the windows to fog over and not clear unless the vehicle is stopped and the windows rolled down.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #10

Aug 192013

Ram 1500 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
Heater/ac stopped working right after I had recall service done to "reprogram HVAC control head and inspect/replace actuator". heater and ac not working and there was a popping noise coming from under dash before recall work done. After recall service done, popping noise went away, but continued to have problems off and on with ac and heater not working. Within month after recall service work performed, ac and heater stop working altogether and dealership tells me HVAC control head is now bad and needs replacing to the tune of $400. They say it has nothing to do with HVAC recall and the work they performed. Dodge customer service give me same speech. Not their fault, etc. Etc. I just find it very strange that after my truck was serviced for this recall notice, not the same part is "bad" and I have to replace it at my expense. Come on Dodge---stand behind your product. Shopping for another truck for someone else in the family. Already own this Dodge and one other. However, done with Dodge products as I am tired of the recall notices and them not standing behind their (faulty) products!

- Sulphur Springs, TX, USA

problem #9

Nov 182013

Ram 1500

  • 69,000 miles
Blend door actuator failure. Loud knocking noise coming from inside of the dash, the result of stripped gears inside the actuator slipping. Plastic gears became worn and ineffective, causing failure in the blend door actuator. Safety is compromised when defrost can fail at any given time causing the driver to lose line of sight with the road and potentially resulting in an accident, and/or loss of life, limb, or eyesight. Needs recall immediately to correct malfunctions.

- Spring Lake, NC, USA

problem #8

Apr 022012

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 24,000 miles
I received a recall for my truck that had something to do with the air conditioning/heating. When I took my truck in to have the recall fixed, it was already not working. There is a knocking up under the dashboard, air/heat only comes out vents in dash and defrost, it will not blow out of other vents such as floor, etc.. I took my vehicle to the dealer to get the recall and problem fixed. Obviously my truck was already faulty due to the recall issue. When I picked up my truck, it was still "knocking" and the air/heat was not blowing out of all vents. I told the dealership it was not fixed and he told me that they fixed only what they were supposed to and I would have to "pay" to have the problem fixed! the problem occurred "as a result" of the recall, and I feel it is there responsibility to fix it. Then in July 2013, I called the same dealer to have a new recall fixed (rear axle pinion nut-NHTSA 13V-038). They did not have the part and needed to order it and told me they will call me when it arrived. Today, November 5, 2013, I still have not received a call from this dealership to fix my rear axle pinion nut. I have been taken advantage of by this particular dealership over and over again. The only time I take my vehicle to this dealership is to fix recalls and they still find ways to take advantage of me. For all other needs of my truck I go elsewhere! just need some direction on the pinion nut. I would like to have it fixed before it stops working and results in a crash. In addition, I still feel that the dealership should fix the air/heat issue, due to that fact that it stopped working as a result of the defect. I do not believe it will cause a crash unless it changes and quits blowing out of the defrost vents.

- Battle Creek, MI, USA

problem #7

Sep 022013

Ram 1500

  • 69,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that the de-fogging system failed to operate. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 69,000.

- Clifton Park , NY, USA

problem #6

May 032013

Ram 1500

  • 80,000 miles
II cut my vehicle off and heard a clicking noise in the dash.... now my A/C and heat only comes from the floor vents. I have no defrost or vent dash air flow.

- Yemassee , SC, USA

problem #5

Mar 282013

Ram 1500

  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that that the windshield defrosting system failed. The heating and air conditioning actuator had been replaced however, the failure was not corrected. The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure mileage was 69,000 and the current mileage was 69,110.

- Central City , PA, USA

problem #4

Feb 052013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
My 2009 Ram doesn't have any defroster.the recall for the ac module was done on 5/12/2012 at bald hill Dodge warwick ri. At the time of doing then recall the dealer installed a defroster actuator in the truck which was not part of the recall.over the past couple of weeks I have noticed a banging noise coming from the dash.I took the truck to the dealer for the problem of noise and a malfunctioning defroster.I was told they would have to remove the dash and look for the problem and it my take 8 hours to do so and I might have to pay for the service.I pointed out that according to the slip from 5/12/2012 it only too 2 and a half hours to do the recall and change the oil. I have found out thru then internet that this is a common problem with this model.I don`T see why I have to pay close to a &1000 for a problem that was supposed to be fixed. If you have any questions please call me at [xxx] thank you information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)...updated 02/25/13

- Johnston, RI, USA

problem #3

May 152009

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 16,753 miles
Ac/heat as you are driving and the ac is on heat comes out at the same time. System doesn't know whether is on ac/heat. Now a loud ticking sound has come on. This has happen since the vehicle was bought new.

- Gulf Breeze,, FL, USA

problem #2

Oct 232012

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
My Dodge Ram blend door motor has a loud clicking noise and will not deflect the heat to defrost. This fault limits visibility. I have heard this fault is common with the Dodge Ram series.

- Clarksville, TN, USA

problem #1

Jun 012012

Ram 1500

  • 39,400 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated the vehicle exhibited an abnormal popping noise when the air conditioner was activated. In addition, the heater and air control for the defroster also failed. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was notified of the failure who advised the contact that there were no recalls for the vehicle and offered no further assistance. The failure mileage was 39,400.

- Pacolet, SC, USA

Not what you are looking for?