Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,030 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Ram 1500 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #157

Oct 092015

Ram 1500

  • 35,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At 12K -13K miles I experienced an engine stall in the early morning. The instrument cluster remained lit and I was able to engage the emergency flasher. I was on a back road and luckily I was able to coast into a driveway. After numerous turns of the key fob, the engine started. This incident was reported to the dealership, but they seemed to shrug it off. Fast forward to 10/9/15. I had trouble again starting the truck. I proceeded to the store and was on a main thoroughfare when I started to turn across traffic into a parking lot.the engine died and luckily my momentum carried me off the street out of traffic and into the lot. Cars had to go around me as I tried to get the vehicle started. The next Monday 10/12/15 I had trouble starting again and I was able to proceed to work. At the end of my shift, it took a couple dozen turns of the key fob to get the truck started and I made it home. The truck now sits in the driveway waiting for a service appointment on 10/30/15. If it does not start, it will have to be towed. When I inquired online about this problem I was aghast at how many others were having the same issue as me and Chrysler was doing very little to make it right. The stall of an engine in traffic is a very dangerous safety problem. The truck has a battery less than 2 years old and has only 35200 miles on it. I am not getting any check engine lights. It is serviced routinely by the Chrysler dealer.

- Everett, WA, USA

problem #156

Sep 192009

Ram 1500

  • 1,500 miles
Truck has left me stranded multiple times by completely losing power electrical and engine. Dealer claims to have "replaced" computer but Chrysler Corp confirms dealer just "reflashed" computer. Multiple recalls have occurred and truck was brought into dealer but I know the old parts remain in place! I cannot trust this dealer to do anything they claim to do, proven by comparing the written work order with the records at chysler corporate. We are afraid to drive this vehicle, my wife will not step foot on it and as I am an amputee every time I get stranded(3 times so far) I cannot walk to get help. So I am at the mercy of available cell phone signal or just pray. The dealer had continually stalled us on repairing these problems up until the warranty ran out and then all of a sudden they figured out the "actual" problem and could now fix it for a few thousand!! dollars. Please help us- we have been fighting for some kind of justice for 6 years! truck has only 24000 total, actual scary miles on it. Paid cash of approx $50,000 and are so hurt and disgusted with our purchase but most outraged by the treatment and lack of normal human concern for our safety or our lives for that matter. Last remark from dealer owner to us: "not my problem tough S..T" this vehicle should become chryslet corps problem and we want the timely return of our money asap please please please. This is a nightmare and has caused us both serious health issues

- Staugustine, FL, USA

problem #155

Jun 132015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that the vehicle was purchased in mid June of 2015. The dealer indicated that there were no safety recalls on the vehicle that needed to be repaired. The contact called the manufacturer who stated that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train) since April 1, 2013. The dealer and the manufacturer did not specify if the parts and the remedy were available. The contact did not receive notification of the safety recall. The contact was unable to determine when the recall repair would be completed. The manufacturer was notified of the recall repair, which was not completed within a reasonable time frame before the vehicle was sold to the contact. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 03/09/16

- Nanticoke, PA, USA

problem #154

Aug 042015

Ram 1500

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On August 4 2015 I was driving to work doing about 20-25 mph on a clear sunny day when my truck started shaking causing me to lose control. As a result my truck was hit on the back right rear. After looking at the car at the body shop I was notified that the axel snapped in half. The vehicle is a 2010 Dodge Ram pickup 1500

- Millwood, NY, USA

problem #153

Apr 012013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Opelika, AL, USA

problem #152

Jun 012015

Ram 1500

  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. When shifting into reverse, the vehicle would abnormally jerk and skip. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for a routine oil change. The contact later discovered that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train). The contact called the dealer and was informed that the recall repair had already been performed during the oil change service. The contact never received notification of the recall and was not aware that a defect ever existed in the vehicle. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure persisted intermittently. The failure mileage was 200.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #151

Sep 252015

Ram 1500

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As I was leaving from a stop sign, I heard a loud noise then lost power and control of my truck. I was stranded in the middle of a busy intersection for 1 1/2 hours. The rear pinion broke and my rear drive shaft broke. A piece was sheared off and my rear end gears are shot. There was recall work done on the pinion seal but that apparently didn't fix the problem. The rear end was completely siezed up. I'm positive when I call the dealership they are gonna tell me this is not a result of the recall and I will have to pay for the repairs. I've had nothing but problems with this truck for the last 3 1/2 years I've had the thing. I will never again own a Dodge product. My kids we're in the truck with me when this happened. I thank god I wasn't on a highway when this happened. It could've been a lot worse. I certainly hope Dodge looks into this and fixes the problem before someone is killed.

- Kane, PA, USA

problem #150

Feb 022015

Ram 1500

  • 66,000 miles
My gear shift will come out of park with out using the brake and when the vehicle is not running it will come out of gear my local Dodge dealership said it was the gear shifter interlock which several people has been having issues with.

- Beverly, WV, USA

problem #149

Sep 022015

Ram 1500

  • 115,000 miles
I have a recall #12V-474 on my 2009 Dodge Ram that states, " the rear axle pinion nut may have been built without an adhesive patch on the pinion nut threads. The lack of this adhesive patch could allow the rear axle pinion nut to loosen and/or the rear driveshaft to separate from the rear axle. A loose pinion nut could cause the rear axle to seize and a separated driveshaft could cause a loss of motive power. Either situation could cause a crash without warning". the Chrysler recall assistance center told me that I do not qualify for the buyback program because my recall number does not match any listed in the consent order issued by the NHTSA. However, there is a recall # 13V-038 on the consent order that states, "Chrysler announced a recall of 278,229 vehicles on February 6, 2013, to correct a defect that may cause the axle to lock. As a result, the driver may lose steering power and crash." My complaint is that these are two recalls on the same deficiency. One is listed in the consent order and the other (conveniently for them) is not. I believe that I should qualify for the buyback program. The company is simply trying to dismiss my recall to avoid adding my vehicle to the countless thousands of other claims of which they are obligated to buy back.

- Lawton, OK, USA

problem #148

Nov 222012

Ram 1500

  • 112,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train). The recall repair was performed; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 112,000.

- Gurnee, IL, USA

problem #147

May 012015

Ram 1500

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When slowly accelerating from a stop I could hear a rattling/vibration sound coming from the passenger side of vehicle. This progressively got worse until I found the heat shield on the passenger side exhaust manifold was loose due to broken stud bolts. I did not repair immediately as I thought the break was superficial (outside the manifold). Over the next month a slight exhaust leak could be heard, which has gotten very loud now. There is clearly at least one broken exhaust manifold bolt on passenger side. I am second owner (purchased at 19,000 miles), so lifetime warranty is no longer valid. I fear this leak could cause poisonous carbon monoxide gas to fill the cabin of my truck while driving with my wife and children. With the number of complaints regarding this exact same issue that I have heard, I cannot believe this has not reached recall status.

- Irmo, SC, USA

problem #146

Feb 062013

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 09V158000 (equipment) and 13V038000 (power train); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 11/04/15

- Ulster, PA, USA

problem #145

Apr 012014

Ram 1500

  • 70,000 miles
The rear axle pinion nut on my truck is recalled causing major safety issue. Chrysler is refusing to do anything other than telling people to wait and they are ok to continue to drive the vehicle until it breaks. This is my only vehicle, and I need a safe vehicle for my family and me to be in. You're putting our lives, and everyone elses at risk is 100%irresponsible of me and Chrysler. Please help us consumers. My light came on service 4 wheel drive, esp traction control, I purchased an extended warranty which is what saved me, I am having electrical problems with the headlights, first the drivers side and now the passager side. I have called Dodge dealer several times to schedule the service for the replacement. They do not have the part or don't know when the part will be there.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #144

Jul 022015

Ram 1500

  • 84,162 miles
The rear differential in our vehicle went out even though we had taken the vehicle in and had the recall part put on at the time of the original recall. We took the truck to a Dodge service center and they had the truck for approximately 15 days. We were charged for the repairs. The same day we picked the vehicle up, the truck started wobbling but at that time we thought it was the road we were on. We scheduled the truck for a recheck and in the meantime we had to make a trip to dallas, tx (appx. 500 miles) and we pulled our 26 foot travel trailer behind us. During this trip, the vibration in our truck became violent and my husband could hardly hold it on the road. We made it home safely and called the Dodge service center and reported the problems, along with the tire pressure light being on and the check engine light being on. They set an appt. For 4 days later. We took the truck in and were told that when they repaired the rear differential the original recall part was on back order so they put the truck back together without it and gave it back to us. They never told us the part was on back order. From everything I have read, the drive shaft could have dropped out in dallas traffic with us pulling a 26 foot trailer and we could have very well been killed. The service center has now had our truck again for over a week. I have been trying to find out whether we are included in the buy back because of the rear differential going out twice but I'm being given the run around. At this point, we are paying for a truck still in the shop and even if it were repaired, we are deathly afraid to drive it. Based on this service center's past history, we don't know whether the truck will be fixed when we get it back or not. We would like someone to give us a yes or no answer on the buy back of this vehicle and we are getting different stories from fca.

- Seminole, OK, USA

problem #143

Aug 012015

Ram 1500

  • 68,445 miles
The rear axle driveshaft is loose at the rear axle.

- Bridgman , MI, USA

problem #142

Jun 022014

Ram 1500

  • 80,000 miles
I recieved a recall for my truck a while back. The date above may not be correct as I have not called the dealership for the exact date. When I took it in I was told I would be called when it was done. When I went back to the dealer I was told my truck was not part of the recall and they gave me my truck back. The employee actually said it wouldn't had mattered because the repair wasn't available to them yet anyway. Now knowing my truck is on the recall, this is extremely upsetting considering my family has been riding in this thing for thousands of miles! now what do I do? I don't want to drive it but I don't have another car. I guess I just have to wait some 60 days untill Chrysler can figure things out...

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #141

Jul 222015

Ram 1500

  • 8,300 miles
The contact owns a 2014 (na) Dodge Ram 1500. Immediately after starting the engine, the vehicle started rolling forward independently at approximately 9 mph. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician stated that the vehicle was working up to specifications. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 8,300.

- Pensacola, TN, USA

problem #140

Feb 152013

Ram 1500

  • miles
Was notified in February of 2013 that my vehicle was being recalled for the rear axle retaining nut. The nut could come loose causing the rear end to seize, or causing the rear axle to come out of its housing. Mike anderson in rochester, in told me that they had not received the repair kit and would notify me when it came in. I checked back about 6 months later. They still had not received the part. I heard nothing since. It seems that two years is an excessive length of time to fix this serious problem.

- Rochester, IN, USA

problem #139

Oct 152014

Ram 1500

  • 61,000 miles
Since I bought the truck there has been several electrical issues I.e. bulbs keep blowing out, it will lose power when you start to go up a hill. The lighted mirrors only last about 45 days before going out at 500 ea. The truck seems to wonder and most of all the wheel bearings went out on both sides at the same time and the dealer charged me $1,800 saying that its not covered under the power train warranty.......... this truck is the definition of a lemon.......

- Geneseo, IL, USA

problem #138

Nov 032014

Ram 1500

  • 8,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 (na) Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that the vehicle was idling for approximately 25 minutes while in the park position when it suddenly started to drive forward. The contact indicated that the selector switch erroneously changed to the drive position. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 8,000.

- Church Point, LA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?