Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,030 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Ram 1500 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 4 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #117

Jun 012009

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V474000 (power train) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to service the vehicle under the recall. The dealer was uncertain when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Reelesville, IN, USA

problem #116

Jun 302014

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 54,320 miles
On 3/17/2014 safety recall NHTSA 13V-038 was completed on the vehicle by a Chrysler authorized service center. Week of 6/29/14 (on 2 separate road trips) the rear axle seized while vehicle was under motion. On 7/1/2014 vehicle was returned to same service center without further incident. The incident info & safety concerns were relayed to service rep. That afternoon was called by service rep & told (paraphrasing) "it's not doing it now. Come get it. Bring it back if it happens again." I refuse to pick up vehicle. It remains at service center as they keep trying to get it to do "it". 7/3/2014 I contact Chrysler 800-247-9753 (case #25262149) expressed alarm to "agent" that "recall" did not correct failure or its potential. Agent contacted service provider. Agent returned to me w/response echoing & supportive of service provider. "it's not doing it now. Is there anything else I can do for you?" in frustration I said, "I am speechless... clearly you are at the end of your 'script'..." (I was wrong) the Chrysler agent responded "I am not at the end of my script! I can still offer you monetary or tangible compensation!" I said, "for what? you said there is no problem." (end of conversation) how can such a thing be measured? even more than having my vehicle restored to my confidence and possession, I would especially like to know that the threat of bodily injury or loss of life to anyone (resulting from the Dodge Ram differential pinion nut (or not) failure) truly does not exist. Direct experience says it does. I am confident in the integrity of my service center. I do understand that they cannot fix what does not appear to be broken & what the manufacturer denies or doesn't (?) know is a problem. I do not wish to bring any hardship upon the dealer.

- Panton, VT, USA

problem #115

Jun 232014

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
Transmission sticks in 4th gear have to pull over, turn off truck for 5 seconds and restart. Motor uses number of quarts of oil a day with no sign of leak.

- Perryton, TX, USA

problem #114

Dec 312012

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V038000 (power train) and stated that the parts were not available. The dealer did not give a specific date when the parts would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contacts vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Buras, LA, USA

problem #113

Oct 112013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 1500 Dodge Ram. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number 13V038000 (power train). The dealer stated that the parts were unavailable a year ago. There were no failures. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay.

- Cave Creek, AZ, USA

problem #112

Nov 072012

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 16,000 miles
This vehicle was recalled over two years ago and I have tried and tried to get it repaired the dealer always and I mean always never has the part in stock--I guess when the drive shaft falls out you will listen.

- Monroeville, PA, USA

problem #111

Apr 072014

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received NHTSA recall campaign number: 13V038000 (power train) and stated that the parts were not available. The dealer provided an unreasonable estimated time frame for the recall repair. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the parts would be available. There were no failures.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #110

Nov 082013

Ram 1500

  • 62,936 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train) however, six months after the service the vehicle sustained damage to the rear as the result of the pinion nut becoming loose. The technician diagnosed that the rear differential needed to be rebuilt, which required the differential carrier bearing, pinion bearing and related components to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and offered to assist with the repair costs. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 62,936 and the current mileage was 69,946.

- Oakdale, CT, USA

problem #109

Feb 012013

Ram 1500

  • miles
In Feb, Dodge issued a recall on my vehicle 13V038000 for a defect that might lock up the drive train at any speed. It has now been seven months and Dodge still does not have a solution for this recall. I think Dodge is stalling, knowing that NHTSA is impotent and cannot touch them if they continue to delay. Dodge needs to be fined by the government and make punitive payments to the owners of these vehicles.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #108

Dec 202013

Ram 1500

  • 85,000 miles
TL- the contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received NHTSA recall campaign id number 13V038000 (power train). The contact attempted to secure an appointment for recall repairs however, the contact was informed parts needed were not available. The manufacturer was contacted and confirmed the unavailability. The contact had not experienced a failure.-

- Colonial Beach , VA, USA

problem #107

Nov 052013

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V038000 (power train). And called the dealer to secure an appointment for recall repairs however, the parts needed for the repair were not available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not specify when the parts would become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. The consumer stated the dealer was in the process of repairing the vehicle, and requested to withdraw his complaint. Updated 03/06/14

- Gulf Shores, AL, USA

problem #106

Dec 012013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 13V038000 (power train) had exceed a reasonable time for repair. The recall letter was received in January however, the dealer advised the contact that he was placed on a waiting list and the manufacturer was only allowing one repair kit per week. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Athens , TX, USA

problem #105

Jan 222014

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 ( power train) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in February of 2013, there should be a remedy available before January of 2014. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Lubbock, TX, USA

problem #104

Jul 102013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 16,000 miles
The rear axle pinion nut was recalled last year around June 2013 it is now Jan 2014 all the dealership can do is call and harass me about trading the truck in and not a word on the replacement rear axle pinion nut--please help.

- Monroeville, PA, USA

problem #103

Aug 152013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train) had surpassed the reasonable time for repair. The manufacturer and dealer were contacted and stated the parts were not available for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 03-10-14 when the consumer called to make an appointment, he was informed there were no openings, until April. Updated 03/13/14

- Odessa, TX, USA

problem #102

Dec 202013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 88,600 miles
Our granddaughter's husband was driving the truck. While driving down the road, the truck started shaking. He pulled over and checked for a flat tire and looked under the truck. The tires were fine and he didn't see anything leaking. He started driving again and the truck started shaking again he pulled into a gas station and checked under the truck again for leaks, but nothing was leaking. The engine was running fine so he started driving again. The truck was still shaking and then started humming and making grinding noises. Then the engine stopped running but kept moving as if it were in neutral ( but still in drive). He pulled off the road. He called the closest Chrysler dealer and had it towed there. The technician said the pinion seal had leaked and there was no fluid in rear differential. The truck had a full service check in October and there were no signs of leakage. There were no signs of leakage on the garage floor either. After research, I've read of many others who have had this same problem. After doing everything we should have to care for the truck, we still ended up paying $5940.75.

- Newaygo, MI, USA

problem #101

Nov 142013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train) and the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to become available. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Sandy , UT, USA

problem #100

Dec 022013

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
2009 Dodge Ram 1500. Consumer writes in regards to rear axle pinion nut recall notice. The consumer stated he called the dealer twice in the past year, only to be told the part was not available.

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #99

Sep 242013

Ram 1500

  • miles
TL-the contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated there was a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 13V038000 (power train) however, the contact was unable to have the vehicle serviced under the recall because the remedy part was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bedford, VA, USA

problem #98

Dec 022013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
Recall N08/NHTSA, 13 V-038: He is unable to get his vehicle fixed and believe the recall and the time of the final solution to be poorly executed. 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. After the parts were not available for so long, the consumer was finally informed the parts were available. However, the dealer stated they did not make appointments, because they were behind with service work. The dealer informed the consumer, he could leave the vehicle for a period of 2-4 weeks and they would try to get to it, at some point. The consumer stated that was unacceptable. Updated 12/30/13

- Midland, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?