Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
37,556 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Ram 1500 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 9)

problem #175

Aug 012016

Ram 1500

  • 90,000 miles


Truck is making a loud whining noise that seems to be coming from the rear end and the front gas tank strap has come loose from the frame. The slot that it is supposed to be fastened to is rusted completely out. This is a severe safety hazzard that could be very deadly if the tank comes off.

- Big Stone Gap, VA, USA

problem #174

May 052016

Ram 1500

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving at approximately 40 mph, the rear wheels seized and prevented the vehicle from functioning. In addition, the wheels unlocked independently. The contact mentioned an abnormal noise was heard from the rear of the vehicle while driving. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the pinion bearing was loose and the rear axle needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train) before the failure occurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 48,000.

- Scottsburg, NY, USA

problem #173

Jan 202016

Ram 1500

  • miles
2009 Dodge Ram 1500 4X4 5.7 hemi, I have difficulties with shifting from park after starting my vehicle. This happens periodically and doesn't seem to have any certain reason from issue. Also truck will allow to shift into gear without holding the brake which could cause a safety issue and in my case was. My vehicle was in park and running as I got out and was getting my kids things together when my son climbed in and shifted the truck into gear causing it to roll forward into a tree.

- Dayton, TX, USA

problem #172

May 072016

Ram 1500

  • 109,000 miles


Rear axle recall. My 2009 Dodge Ram was part of a recall regarding rear axle problems where rear axle could lock up. Recall work was performed by the dealer but did not solve the problem. On May 7 2016 at approximately 7pm my rear axle locked up while driving down the highway. The rear yoke broke away from the rear axle assembly and driveshaft was almost twisted in half.

- Martin, TN, USA

problem #171

Apr 292016

Ram 1500

  • 142,000 miles
For the past month now my 2009 Dodge Ram 1500 hemi has stalled out on me 4 times. It has happened both while shifting from reverse to drive, slowing down to stop at a stop sign, and just sitting in drive in a parking garage lot. Truck has 142000 miles on it but this stalling issue has happened before around 30K. I can put the truck back in neutral or park and start it back up but there's a knock every time now. It is starting to worry me that the truck may stall out on the freeway. I do notice that it occurs whenever the RPM get low around 500-700 RPM. The truck then bogs down and stalls whenever I shift from reverse to drive on the few occasions that it happened. When I was pulling into a parking spot or slowing down to stop at a stop sign I also noticed the RPM drop to stall the truck.

- Denair, CA, USA

problem #170

Apr 072016

Ram 1500

  • 78,900 miles
I was stopped at a red traffic light, when it turned green and I accelerated, the truck power felt as if the truck was pulling a heavy load. I notice the shifter indicator on the (-/+ ) instead on (D). I try to shift to (D) but instead it went to reverse.the tires squealed and the truck died. It started back up by the radio was not operable. I shut the vehicle off and turn it on and the radio work. This particular issue with the radio has occurred a total of 2 times. Since the first occurrence I have an engine light on. Now when the truck is in (-/+) mode on the instrument panel. It indicate my truck is 4th gear. There is another (-/+) as well on the shifter were you can increase or decrease the gear you are in. I have tried to change that gear. By pressing the + and holding it, it will show that it changes from 4 to D but as soon as you stop pressing the button on the shifter it goes right back to 4th gear. The way I can get it back to D, I have to shut the vehicle off after putting it park of course, and started up, then it shifts to D, eventually it goes back to the manual mode. I just purchase this vehicle from carmax in woodbridge. I was told that their vehicle safety inspection was by far the better. I have seen multiples complain about this same problem by the hundreds. To bad I didn't see it before buying. Nice truck and all, but in the meantime owners of these vehicles with similar problems or worse are still driving these vehicles with their families on board, and what it is going to take for a family to end up dead on the road because Dodge instead of taking responsibility for manufacturing a defective product, possibly with the knowledge of the problem and now they will continue charging people that purchased their defective vehicles until it becomes eventually a recall. A vehicle operating in that condition would fail any state dmv inspection.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #169

Mar 292016

Ram 1500

  • 70,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving approximately 30 mph, a loud noise was heard outside of the vehicle. The contact was unable to drive in the forward or reverse positions. The vehicle was coasted to the side of the road and then towed to the contacts┐ residence. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Springfield, TN, USA

problem #168

Feb 172016

Ram 1500

  • miles
We just got the recall letter on recall NO8 little late since the trade bonus is expired. Nice since I have been looking for a new truck since November spent this week talking with fca they will do nothing they are rude. When I ask what to do in wreck and kill they said what ever

- Carterville, MO, USA

problem #167

Feb 062016

Ram 1500

  • 72,000 miles
Was communicating with fca for buyback under N08 recall. Was refered to dealer, and dealer requested personal loan information before they would take action. This alerted me that they were trying to find out the debt so they could low ball their offer. They were pressuring me to trade at blackbook value. Am dealing with spouse with cancer and was not informed of a expiration for buyback. Truck is now sitting in drive with axle lock condition. I feel I have the worst case scenario with this and request expedient assistance from your office. Have now lost $15K value in this. Will consult legal representation. A personal response from your office would be appreciated. Fca claims buyback ended 1/4/2016 even though I had a ball park offer from them and apparently they will not honor the offer.

- Reelsville, IN, USA

problem #166

Jun 152015

Ram 1500

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving 35 mph, there was an abnormal noise coming from the rear of the vehicle. The contact stated that the pinion nut became loose, which caused the driveshaft to separate from the vehicle. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train). The vehicle was towed to the owner's residence. The dealer was notified of the failure. The contact attempted to have the vehicle repaired or repurchased under the fca consent order; however, the manufacturer refused to repurchase an un-remedied vehicle. The contact was also informed that the vehicle would not be inspected until the vehicle was repaired. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #165

Dec 242015

Ram 1500

  • 80,105 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while driving at 65 mph, a loud humming noised was heard coming from the vehicle. The failure occurred constantly. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the rear differential had failed and needed replacement. The VIN was not included in the NHTSA campaign number: 12V474000 (power train). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,105.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #164

Jan 182016

Ram 1500

  • 66,000 miles
On 1/18/16 at 1330 hrs, while driving to work I heard a faint whistle upon deceleration. When I was driving home at 0030 hrs, the faint whistle grew louder and louder. All of a sudden, there was a loud bang and the rear of my truck locked up. I was only traveling 35mph and lucky enough to maintain minimal control enough to pull off mostly on the shoulder of the road. The local pd called for their duty tow to tow my vehicle as the drive-shaft was sitting on the road hanging from the transmission. Called the dealership after speaking with Chrysler, who took my the info on my situation, and they stated that they could not "get my vehicle in for 2days at least." After explaining again to the local Chrysler dealership that the driveshaft was on the ground between the rear tires- which are locked up, he stated "so you don't think you can drive the vehicle in-will it have to be towed?" luckly, I was traveling on a straight stretch of road and only going 35mph!!! had this happened on another part of the road and the outcome would have been my children visiting in the hospital - or worse!

- Warminster, PA, USA

problem #163

Nov 142015

Ram 1500

  • 72,000 miles
This vehicle is listed in the buyback program due to rear axle pinion nut defect. Was offered blackbook value to trade and low blue book trade value for buyback. Vehicle exceeds all condition requirements. Chrysler has demanded to know my debt value before appraisal. Fca is stalling and trying to capitalize a profit margin on my truck. Dealer used pressure tactics for process, stated process would take extended period of time and I should trade it in or let them repair. Have received 2 trade offers for wholesale value, from 2 different fca dealers. The rear axle has now locked up once while backing out of a parking space at my workplace, 1800 North fruitridge ave, terre haute, ind. I was able to get unseized and home. Unable to drive due to safety issue. Fca stated they required 3rd party appraisal but will not proceed until I release my debt value and account number to them. This is an outrage! I expect they will de-value my truck as to be less than I owe, thereby making a buyback impossible and forcing me to let them repair half of the issues with this truck! I will be losing about $8K from retail value. $ which they are trying to profit from selling a defective product. Is this what you are allowing" I don't think so. In addition to rear axle, there was a blend door actuator recall which they claim is resolved. It is not! the truck's heating system does not work. The buyback offer given was for $19025 plus $1903 for 10% repurchase, for a total of $20928, but pending appraisal with debt value release. This corporation is manipulating the process to increase their profits while releasing them of liability. What are you, as the overseeing governmental Agency going to do about this" I want my $ returned fairly. I will lose $10K even with a retail buyback. I cannot lose $18K for a manipulated, scam of a deal!! this a follow up to a previous complaint.

- Reelsville, IN, USA

problem #162

Apr 212015

Ram 1500

  • 103,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving at approximately 65 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact stated that vehicle was placed into neutral and the vehicle was restarted. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but the failure was unable to be duplicated. The failure occurred intermittently. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 103,000. The VIN was not available.

- Dracut, MA, USA

problem #161

Oct 202015

Ram 1500

  • miles
I took my truck to get serviced at burns motors Dodge dealership in mcallen, tx and told them about the recall due to faulty rear axle pinion nut (N08/NHTSA). They told me it had already been fixed. I said by who cause I never took the truck to anyone and I've had it for 5 years. They said a business named kelley Dodge fixed it. I never took it to anyone to fix the problem so why are they saying it was fixed. Is someone trying to cover up something or charging for work that was never done? so burns motors didn't fix the recall problem either.

- Edinburg, TX, USA

problem #160

Oct 272015

Ram 1500

  • 90,000 miles
Vehicle was part of the pinion recall and was repaired 11/15/2013. Recently the driving of the truck caused noise and obvious differential issue. The entire gear kit and differntial need to be replaced due to it being stripped. Out of pocked $3000. Recall stated since the pinion was replaced it is up to us to fix. The differential recall "did not impact" this vehicle yet I suspect it should. The Dodge hotline states that at this time there is no recall on this specific VIN number thus it is nothing they will act on. I suspect the are linked thus expect there will be another recall for these within this lot number. Too coincidential that only some and not all are part of this recall.

- Helotes, TX, USA

problem #159

Oct 012015

Ram 1500

  • 38,800 miles
Fca only offering trade in value on there byback program even though I was assured I would get minimum fair market value.I have got nothing but a run around since I sent all documents they requested on they have closed my claim because I wont accect their foolish offer.the dealers are completely stupid as what to do and either lie or act as if they know nothing about the buyback. I have owned 4 Ram 1500 trucks and this is a slap in the face to all consumers. At what point will these manufactures be held responsiable? we spend rediculis money on vehicles only to find they are worthless after we buy them. Got to stop soon..... david thomson

- Hill, NH, USA

problem #158

Oct 172015

Ram 1500

  • 110,000 miles
When exiting off the freeway in mesa AZ on a short comute from work at a speed of <40mph, the truck made a werring noise coasting and a heavy vibration comming from the rear end. We stopped immediatly to investigate and there was gear oil dripping from the rear differential. After a tow and inspection from sunland auto in mesa, they said something came loose inside the rear differential housing causing damage to the ring & pinion as well as the housing. After an exhausting search for a replacement, they said Dodge had discontinued the assembly and they had to find a used one. This cost us $3000 in parts and labor on a beautiful truck that never even pulled a trailer. Unfortunatly it had just rolled over 1000000 miles so Dodge would not warranty the failure.

- Gold Canyon, AZ, USA

problem #157

Oct 092015

Ram 1500

  • 35,200 miles
At 12K -13K miles I experienced an engine stall in the early morning. The instrument cluster remained lit and I was able to engage the emergency flasher. I was on a back road and luckily I was able to coast into a driveway. After numerous turns of the key fob, the engine started. This incident was reported to the dealership, but they seemed to shrug it off. Fast forward to 10/9/15. I had trouble again starting the truck. I proceeded to the store and was on a main thoroughfare when I started to turn across traffic into a parking lot.the engine died and luckily my momentum carried me off the street out of traffic and into the lot. Cars had to go around me as I tried to get the vehicle started. The next Monday 10/12/15 I had trouble starting again and I was able to proceed to work. At the end of my shift, it took a couple dozen turns of the key fob to get the truck started and I made it home. The truck now sits in the driveway waiting for a service appointment on 10/30/15. If it does not start, it will have to be towed. When I inquired online about this problem I was aghast at how many others were having the same issue as me and Chrysler was doing very little to make it right. The stall of an engine in traffic is a very dangerous safety problem. The truck has a battery less than 2 years old and has only 35200 miles on it. I am not getting any check engine lights. It is serviced routinely by the Chrysler dealer.

- Everett, WA, USA

problem #156

Sep 192009

Ram 1500

  • 1,500 miles
Truck has left me stranded multiple times by completely losing power electrical and engine. Dealer claims to have "replaced" computer but Chrysler Corp confirms dealer just "reflashed" computer. Multiple recalls have occurred and truck was brought into dealer but I know the old parts remain in place! I cannot trust this dealer to do anything they claim to do, proven by comparing the written work order with the records at chysler corporate. We are afraid to drive this vehicle, my wife will not step foot on it and as I am an amputee every time I get stranded(3 times so far) I cannot walk to get help. So I am at the mercy of available cell phone signal or just pray. The dealer had continually stalled us on repairing these problems up until the warranty ran out and then all of a sudden they figured out the "actual" problem and could now fix it for a few thousand!! dollars. Please help us- we have been fighting for some kind of justice for 6 years! truck has only 24000 total, actual scary miles on it. Paid cash of approx $50,000 and are so hurt and disgusted with our purchase but most outraged by the treatment and lack of normal human concern for our safety or our lives for that matter. Last remark from dealer owner to us: "not my problem tough S..T" this vehicle should become chryslet corps problem and we want the timely return of our money asap please please please. This is a nightmare and has caused us both serious health issues

- Staugustine, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?