Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,234 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Ram 1500 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Oct 122016

Ram 1500

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving 45 mph, the contact crashed into a pillar. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained head and leg injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a towing lot. The technician had not determined if the vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #22

Oct 202016

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Pleasant Hope, MO, USA

problem #21

Jul 222015

Ram 1500

  • 60,000 miles
I mailed a complaint notice and you claim someone will get back with you in 2 business days---I'm still waiting for a response on # 10896888 and # 10896617. Our safety should be your utmost importance. How can we have our vehicles replaced if there are no parts, and if we choose to have this fixed ourselves, we are gouged in a bidding war and pay a premium price for the part. How do we know if our vehicle is actually being fixed or not? there needs to be an internal investigation..... gordon and janice smith 281-487-0684.

- Pasadena, TX, USA

problem #20

Jul 132016

Ram 1500

  • 100,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag failure--on Wednesday July 13 2016 the vehicle (2009 Dodge Ram 1500) was involved in a front end collision while traveling on a city owned road. The driver who was the only person in the vehicle lost control of the vehicle when taking a sharp right turn on a dirt road in the dark. As a result the vehicle crashed into a ditch, completely smashing in the front end and damaged most of the rest of the truck as well. Upon impact the driver's air bag did not deploy. The driver sustained injuries to his entire upper body as well as suffering from a concussion upon impact because of the air bag malfunction. He required emergency medical attention and was transported to the hospital by ambulance. We have more pictures including pictures of the front end of the truck however the file is to big to upload on this report.

- Seadrift, TX, USA

problem #19

Jun 022015

Ram 1500

  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 88,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Kenosha, WI, USA

problem #18

Oct 012015

Ram 1500

  • miles
Totally integrated power module (tipm) has been dangerous. All four windows went down while truck was unattended and locked several times. We replaced the expensive tipm and car stopped doing that. A few months later, we found out that just one electrical item can cause the entire tipm burn out that affects almost everything in the car. For us it was the backup camera that had a short. It caused air bags, seat belt safety, windshield wipers, defrost/fan, backup camera, locks not to work. Dealership had to replace tipm again. We also believe the tipm may have had something to do with our transmission locking into gear.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #17

Jul 112015

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Madison, NE, USA

problem #16

Jun 212015

Ram 1500

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving approximately 50 mph, another vehicle crashed into the driver side of the contact's vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed and there were no injuries reported. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, but was not diagnosed; however, the body damage was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 40,000. Updated 1/12/2016

- Napa, CA, USA

problem #15

May 292015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) however the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure....updated 01/20/16

- Hollister, CA, USA

problem #14

Sep 222015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V460000 (air bags, seat belts); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to provide the part to do the recall repair. The VIN was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Hobart, IN, USA

problem #13

Jun 152015

Ram 1500

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 (na) Dodge Ram 1500. While driving approximately 25 mph, the contact crashed into a pole and the air bags failed to deploy. The contact did not sustain any injuries. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000. The VIN was not available.

- West Burmingham, AL, USA

problem #12

Jul 252015

Ram 1500

  • 34,700 miles
The contact owns a 2013 (na) Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that the passenger side and side curtain air bags deployed without warning. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and the diagnostic results were unknown. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 34,700.

- Spanaway, WA, USA

problem #11

Apr 202015

Ram 1500

  • 29,900 miles
The contact owns a 2013 (na) Dodge Ram 1500. While driving approximately 64 mph during inclement weather, the rear of the vehicle swayed from left to right. As a result, the vehicle hydroplaned and rolled multiple times without warning. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained a neck and back injury that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed, but the body was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V287000 (electronic stability control). The failure mileage was 29,900....updated 09/28/15

- Monrovia, IN, USA

problem #10

Feb 012015

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that the air bag warning light continuously illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the clock spring was defective and caused the air bag warning light to become illuminated. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was made aware that the VIN was not included in any recalls. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000...updated 06-08-15 the consumer also stated the radio would turn off off and come back on by itslef while driving. Updated 06/18/15

- Cypress , TX, USA

problem #9

Feb 032015

Ram 1500 6-cyl

  • 80,120 miles
The clock spring broke and mechanic says it happens all the time on Chrysler! of course Chrysler has never heard of it! was told at Chrysler dealership that they have never heard of a problem but it is all over the internet! vehicle is driven by woman with small baby, Chrysler doesn't care! not paid for but out of warranty! I understand Chrysler puts off reporting so they won't have to fix anything with 70000 miles or more! Chrysler is negligent, next vehicle will be a Ford! hope someone sues Chrysler and their obama union that they stole from the stockholders!

- Lucien, OK, USA

problem #8

Jan 122015

Ram 1500

  • 106,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle was involved in a crash and the air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained unknown injuries, but no medical attention was required. The vehicle was destroyed. A police report was filed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 106,000.

- Royse City, TX, USA

problem #7

Dec 082010

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 13,550 miles
An air bag is encased in the horn enclosure. I attempted to blow the horn and the airbag cover, which is part of the horn enclosure split. Hill kelly Dodge of pensacola, Florida replaced the assembly. Approximately November, 2014, the cover again split when I attempted to blow the horn. Dealer tells me that an air bag is located in the horn enclosure and that tampering with the horn cover assembly could severely injure me if the air bag accidentally deploys. I have pictures to send to you.

- Gonzalez, FL, USA

problem #6

Oct 112014

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
The tipm (totally integrated power module) in the vehicle failed recently despite the vehicle being relatively "young" in age. The failure was random and occurred during the vehicle's normal use (casual driving). My understanding is that this device controls air bags and other safety devices. From what I read, this is not an isolated incident among vehicle owners.

- Lake Hiawatha, NJ, USA

problem #5

Jul 022014

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 11,506 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, the brakes failed. The brake pedal was applied and traveled to the floorboard causing the contact to crash into the rear of another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed of the incident. The front passenger needed stitches to the forehead which required medical attention. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic but was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 11,506. Updated 9/18/14 the consumer stated she hit her head on the windshield causing it to crack. The failure caused a four car pile up. The consumer received a concussion and spleen damage. The consumer had home physical therapy. Updated 2/11/2015

- Gloucester Point , VA, USA

problem #4

Nov 202013

Ram 1500

  • 86,000 miles
The tipm is going out. Causing all sorts of electrical issues. Heater fan stopped working, windshield wipers come and go, esp comes and goes, tow/haul comes and goes, rear window power comes and goes, 4X4 cant be turned on from time to time, airbag lights come on at will, esp/bas comes and goes, ABS comes and goes, rear sliding window comes and goes, all of this happens mainly below 32 degrees but van happen anytime. But below freezing is extemely dangerous because the windshield ices up on the inside with no heater fan! thermometer stopped working to. Im sure other thing but its to much to just remember off the top of my head. Fuel economy is terrible also 12-13.5 mpg while the problems occur. Normally is 17.1 mpg average still that is terrible. At test drive it was getting 20 mpg average.

- Bellevue, OH, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?