Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,159 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Ram 1500 suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #27

Jan 252016

Ram 1500

  • 129,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

During a trip in January the vehicle began to uncontrollably wobble and I had to reduce speed to gain control, had some steering parts replaced which improved the ride but still had issues so I replaced the struts, springs and shocks but a slight wobble is still there at acceleration and deceleration and upon hitting bumps, its a little scary. It happens typically over 30 miles per hour and at one point about every 10 minutes on the interstate

- Brookeville, MD, USA

problem #26

Oct 012015

Ram 1500

  • 38,800 miles
Fca only offering trade in value on there byback program even though I was assured I would get minimum fair market value.I have got nothing but a run around since I sent all documents they requested on Oct.1.now they have closed my claim because I wont accect their foolish offer.the dealers are completely stupid as what to do and either lie or act as if they know nothing about the buyback. I have owned 4 Ram 1500 trucks and this is a slap in the face to all consumers. At what point will these manufactures be held responsiable? we spend rediculis money on vehicles only to find they are worthless after we buy them. Got to stop soon..... david thomson thomsondft@aol.com......................

- Hill, NH, USA

problem #25

Oct 072015

Ram 1500

  • 127,365 miles
I believe Fiat Chrysler automobiles (fca) is trying to make money off all customers that are opting to participate in the repurchase/buy back program. At no point in the 35 page NHTSA consent order is anything mentioned about fca only offering kelley blue book "trade-in" value. Not only is it trade-in value, they also are only classifying all vehicles as only "good condition". my truck is in "very good condition" according the briggs Dodge dealership in topeka, ks that I took my truck to yesterday (10/7/15). Paragraph 35 of the consent order states original purchase price minus depreciation plus 10%. that by no means indicates trade-in value. Real market value is the price I should expect if I listed my truck on craigslist, classifieds, etc. This value according to kbb is referred to as private party value. I'm not expecting to make a profit, but I also don't think fca should be making a profit for mistreating its customers and the ways in which it has handled recalls in recent years. They only want to offer me less than $15,000 for my truck (that's including the 10%). however, retail for my truck is just over $19,000. Real market value/private party value is $17,000. I believe fca should pay me (and other Ram owners like me) closer to $17,000 plus $1,700 (10%) for my truck. Please look into this continued mistreatment of fca customers. I look forward to hearing back from you. Thanks, kevin lattimer 785-213-6523 kevin.lattimer@yahoo.com

- Carbondale, KS, USA

problem #24

Dec 092011

Ram 1500

  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle has had multiple suspension component failures (3 occurrences) resulting in uneven tire wear and catastrophic tire failure at highway speeds. Manufacturer has not resolved the problem despite multiple returns to the dealership. The vehicle has approximately 58,698 miles and requires both the outer tie rod ends to be replaced for the third time. (dealership assessment as of 08/15/2015, dealer #23432.) the condition results in unsafe play in the steering, premature tire failure and an audible clunk when turning the vehicle. The vehicle is primarily used on the highway and has never been taken off-road. The vehicle use is best described as extremely light duty.

- Sylvania, OH, USA

problem #23

Aug 092015

Ram 1500

  • 85,000 miles
Team: I was replacing the rear shocks when I noticed a weird rust pattern on the cross member near the right frame & catalytic convertor. It looked like orange peel or a rose blooming. I checked the rest of the frame while I was under there. I have done cosmetic rust prevention in the past. Since I'm a diyer & proactive, I grabbed a paint tool to scrape the rust to get to bare metal so I could treat/prime it. Lol not only did the top layer of metal come off, the entire cross member disintegrated into brittle metal chunks which I saved/documented. There's a 4" square section that's gone. Since this is a 400 hp vehicle, I'm sure the frame will tear itself apart eventually even though I baby the truck. E.g. no dents I surmise that water has been trapped up there since I bought the vehicle resulting in frame failure. The metal has no strength. Lol I don't want anybody gettting hurt, so please advise others.

- Reisterstown, MD, USA

problem #22

Jul 032015

Ram 1500

  • 66,000 miles
When we first bought our truck back in May 2014 my husband and I fell in love with our new truck, we took excellent care of the maint. In July we started noticing it felt more loose you could say and we were confused as to why it was like that we up until now thought the dealership had sold us a lemon bc in a year we spent over 2000 trying to prove they sold us a lemon but couldn't prove it until now we travel a lot due to work but in 2 months we knew knew we shouldn't have had to repair this much stuff on a new truck we had always thought working in North and South Dakota that these should have been called the windy cities. But the car was still all over the place even when there was no wind we bought tires we did alignment after alignment including having another 23 point inspection done again we also took it on one occasion which was July 4, 2014 and it was so bad that we took it to Goodyear in Wisconsin and and the left front passenger hub assembly had falling into two pieces remind you we bought this vehicle May 24, 2014 we replaced everything that went wrong and now I'm beyond afraid to get in the truck that I used to love especially since North and South Dakota just raised the speed limit to 80. In high winds.

- Osawatomie , KS, USA

problem #21

Oct 152014

Ram 1500

  • 61,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since I bought the truck there has been several electrical issues I.e. bulbs keep blowing out, it will lose power when you start to go up a hill. The lighted mirrors only last about 45 days before going out at 500 ea. The truck seems to wonder and most of all the wheel bearings went out on both sides at the same time and the dealer charged me $1,800 saying that its not covered under the power train warranty.......... this truck is the definition of a lemon.......

- Geneseo, IL, USA

problem #20

Feb 282015

Ram 1500

  • 80,900 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated while driving approximately 65 mph, a loud grinding noise emitted outside of the vehicle. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road and the rear wheels seized. The vehicle was towed to an independent. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 80,900. The VIN was unavailable.

- Dickson, TN, USA

problem #19

Jan 032015

Ram 1500

  • 73,000 miles
I recently had the drivers side front hub fail on my truck. Having heard a grinding noise, I took the truck home and lifted the front to inspect it. After inspecting the wheels and brakes, I removed both and found that the bearings had failed on the drivers side. These hubs are sealed units that have to be replaced. I replaced both sides to be safe. My truck has anti-lock brakes in the front also so these units cost me almost $500 with new pads. Chrysler told me that they had not fount any design problems with the hubs but as this is a critical unit that does not get serviced, it should not fail so soon. Had I driven much further the unit could have broken completely causing the entire wheel to fall off. This could have caused a serious if not fatal accident.

- Selma, TX, USA

problem #18

Aug 132014

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number 13V038000 (suspension) was received in April 2013. After contacting the dealer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the part needed to perform the recall remedy was not available and no estimated time for receiving the part could be given. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Rupert, ID, USA

problem #17

Jan 062014

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Received important safety recall notice in October/November 2013. Recall directed to contact local Dodge dealer starting January 6, 2014. We have contacted local Dodge dealer 3 or 4 times this year and keep receiving the same answer. They say they have parts ordered and they are working on vehicles in the order in which they arrive. It has been over a year now and our recall issue is not corrected. The recall problem is: The left tie rod ball stud on the truck may fracture under certain driving conditions. This could cause a loss of directional control and/or crash without warning. This issue has not yet happened, but we have been unable to correct the problem, and it could still happen. This incident is submitted November 24, 2014.

- Pocatello, ID, USA

problem #16

Jun 202014

Ram 1500

  • 32,000 miles
1. I received a recall from NHTSA for my truck, as described above 2. I called auto nation Chrysler Dodge Jeep in spring, Texas for an appointment on or about June 20 3. the service person told me he would call me back to make an appointment when he got the part 4. the recall in question is rear axle pinion nut N08/NHTSA 5. after receiving no call-back, I called auto nation Chrysler Dodge Jeep in spring again, on June 27. The technician told me the part was back-ordered and then hung up on me. 6. on July 10, I tried again, the technician told me my name might be on the list but that he did not have access to the list. 7. on July 11, I got a call, which I have recorded, telling me the part is back-ordered and will not be available for months or maybe even one year. 8. on July 11, I called tomball Texas Dodge and they told me the part is readily available and that I should drive up on Monday, July 14, and they would take care of it immediately.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #15

Jun 112014

Ram 1500

  • 73,853 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that when servicing the vehicle, it was advised that the front passengers side wheel bearing hub needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 73,853 and the current mileage was 74,137.

- Evansville, IN, USA

problem #14

Jul 102013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 16,000 miles
The rear axle pinion nut was recalled last year around June 2013 it is now Jan 2014 all the dealership can do is call and harass me about trading the truck in and not a word on the replacement rear axle pinion nut--please help.

- Monroeville, PA, USA

problem #13

Dec 062013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 75,400 miles
I received the recall notification and tried to have my vehicle checked by the dealer. 3 weeks later after 3 additional attempts I was finally able to be seen with an appointment. The inspection took 30 min or less but did find that a part needs to be replaced. They do not have the part and is expected to take 3-6 weeks get in. In the mean time I've been advised to wait and the vehicle is safe to drive.

- Fort Pierce , FL, USA

problem #12

Sep 142013

Ram 1500 6-cyl

  • miles
I received a recall notice almost 4 months ago for the rear axle pinion nut which could result in a serious accident, as noted on the recall. I placed my 2nd call today to the Chrysler group recall assistance center and was again told that the parts to repair this problem are not ready. As a consumer with a potential safety problem with his family's main mode of transportation, I find this answer unacceptable. It seems to me that this problem needs to repaired immediately and that the company has had plenty of time to manufacture the required adhesive patch.

- Columbus, NC, USA

problem #11

Jun 282013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
While driving at 45 mph or faster, a rattle sound can be heard from the left rear side. I checked to see if anything was wrong; I did find that the shock was not fully tighten on the top bolt. I was able to move the top part of the shock by hand. I took my vehicle to larry H miller Dodge in tucson, AZ. They said that nothing was wrong with the left rear, and no unusual sounds were heard during a test drive. They informed me that a payment would be needed to further investigate the problem. Payment was not made, and sound is still present. More so now then before dealership inspection.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #10

Jun 252013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received a recall notice a few months ago and stated that the dealer informed him the parts were not available. The manufacturer was notified but they were unable to provide a date that the parts would be available. There are no failures at this time.

- Pontiac, IL, USA

problem #9

Jun 242013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that he received a recall notice; however, the parts were unavailable. The manufacturer was notified but they were unable to provide a date that the parts would be available. There are no failures at this time.

- Pontiac, IL, USA

problem #8

May 012013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 53,500 miles
While negotiating soft right turn, I heard a very loud popping, banging noise, that sounded as if the front suspension had let go. Got home 2 minutes later. Unable to determine cause. Couple of days later while backing out of driveway, I heard a loud metal-on-metal grinding noise that stopped when I shifted into drive. From then on, I noticed a roaring/humming that I thought might be a transmission problem. Heard the loud popping/banging/screeching a couple of more times over the next few days. Minimized driving. I took the truck to local Dodge dealer where they diagnosed hub failure. Drove a couple of miles to trusted independent garage. Had left front hub assembly replaced. Garage owner surprised I made it to his shop without the wheel locking and coming off. Looking at internet, the hub problem seems very common on Dodge pickups (recall on 2006 models). Many complaints reported on various websites affecting models from 2002-2009, with most occurring around 53000 miles. Several crashes reported due to wheel separations from hub/bearing assembly failure and lockup.

- Boiling Springs, SC, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?