Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,233 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Dodge Ram 1500 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 5 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #68

May 082013

Ram 1500

  • 27,143 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was notified by Dodge that there was a recall on the rear pinion nut coming loose. That Dodge was working on a solution. Here it is 7/10/13 and no solution. Does someone have to die first. I think the gov. Should shut them down till a remedy is found in any safety recall. I received an email in June that Dodge was still working on it.

- Waldwick, NJ, USA

problem #67

Jun 082013

Ram 1500

  • 48,300 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated after receiving a NHTSA recall campaign I.D. number 12V474000 (power train) the contact called the dealer to make an appointment. The dealer stated the part was not available. The contact stated the recall was received a month ago and parts were still not available. The contact did not call the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 48,300.

- Pocatello, ID, USA

problem #66

Jun 212013

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 31,185 miles
While I was driving on a highway, I heard a terrible sound out of the rear of my Ram truck. I tried to stop my vehicle as soon as I could while the sound kept on getting even more terrible. When I stopped and looked at the bottom of the vehicle, the driveshaft fell off from the rear of the vehicle and oil spilled on road. There was no warning or no engine light signal in the vehicle electronics before or after this happened. Has the vehicle been on a freeway with a speedlimit of 100 km/hr or so, I think it would have been really tough to control the vehicle in this break-down and it could have resulted in a fatal accident. The vehicle was not in a position to be driven further and I had to get it towed to a nearest Chrysler dealership in coquitlam, british columbia, Canada. It has been days now and I have not yet heard back from Chrysler dealership that what is the cause of this problem and what will be done to fix this issue. On checking with dealership, they say that they have no solution to this problem till now. Luckily, my vehicle is still inside the warranty period and so the dealership says that the cost to repair will be covered, but they have no fixed timeline on how soon they can fix it. I tried reaching out to Chrysler and filed a complaint about this, but the response from Chrysler is not very helpful and they are not at all worried about my sufferings and loss that I am currently facing due to this vehicle not being available/ready for my use yet.

- Surrey, DC, USA

problem #65

Jun 212013

Ram 1500

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving down I-10 at speed, when I heard and felt a loud thunk and then multiple impacts from under/behind me. Slowed down to get on the shoulder, then the rear diff locked up and skid the rest of the way to a stop. Looked under truck, found driveline disconnected from differential. Pinion nut appears to have backed off. Nut still in yoke.

- Buckeye, AZ, USA

problem #64

Feb 062013

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact did not experience a failure. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V038000 (power train). The contact stated that the parts were not available for repair and the contact was concerned about driving the vehicle without it having been repaired at a reasonable time. The issue was reported to the manufacturer, who did not have any additional information about the parts. The current mileage was 25,000. Updated 07/23/13 updated 7/23/13

- Toms River, NJ, USA

problem #63

Mar 012013

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that NHTSA recall campaign number 13V038000 (power train) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact did not experience any failures at this time; however, the dealer stated the recall repair part was not available. The approximate mileage is 37,507. Updated 10-24-13

- Spooner , WI, USA

problem #62

Apr 012013

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact did not experience a failure. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id 13V038000 (power train). The contact stated that the part was not available for the repair. The contact was concerned of driving vehicle with the defect. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue, but did not provide an estimated time of arrival for parts. The current mileage was 45,000.

- Hobbs, NM, USA

problem #61

Oct 172012

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
In October 2012 I received recall M34/NHTSA 12V-474 stating that my Dodge 1500 truck had a safety recall but that parts for the repair would not be available until the first quarter of 2013. It is now 6/16/2013 and I have not heard back from Chrysler llc. Their website says that I should take my truck to a local dealer for repair asap. The local dealer says that Chrysler has not yet "released the parts" to perform the repair. There appears to be no date available when Chrysler will actually begin shipping the necessary parts. The recall notice indicates that if the part fails, a crash could occur "without warning". why hasn't Chrysler released the parts to correct this safety issue" why hasn't the government forced them to comply with the recall and fix the problem"

- Matthews, NC, USA

problem #60

Apr 012013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
Got recall notice N08 regarding rear axle pinion nut about 4/1. as of 6/11 Dodge has no parts for repair and no idea when they will have any parts. This is 70 days after they issued the recall notice and longer since they were aware of the issue. My truck has had an excessive clanking noise when put in drive or when changing from drive to reverse that I could not identify until now. The stated issue is that splines on the yoke or pinion were to small. The "fix" is a better sealer/patch which does not seem to be the correct solution. If there is a mismatch between splines on the yoke and pinion continued force from acceleration/deceleration will cause excessive wear to these parts. A patch to keep the nut from loosening seems to fix a symptom not the problem. Also, at what point is Chrysler responsible to have a schedule to fix this in a reasonable period and what is that period? no parts and no time frame is not reasonable.

- St Peters, MO, USA

problem #59

Jun 032013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
The part recall was a gasket for the axle. The recall letter came to me on Nov. 12/2012 and was told to talk to the dealership, but no action just the runaround game, called the Chrysler number provided by dealer, and the same thing, now it's June 2013 called again, but was told they did not manufactured the part yet. So, the 4-wheel power drive light comes on as a warning to service the 4-wheel drive, I believe it has something to do with the recall part for the vehicle, Dodge Ram 1500-2010. I want to buy american vehicle because I want to support the motor vehicle industries of the United States, and to keep americans job in our factory's, but to get something done for a recall, after seven months, this will be my last american product I will ever purchase, and da hell with all the american workers, first they send out a letter, and then the runaround. What a bunch of bull.

- Milwaukie , OR, USA

problem #58

May 252013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving up a steep mountain highway when truck lurched violently twice and came to a complete stop in the middle of a switchback corner with a horrible dragging sound and smoke everywhere. The truck would not go forward or backward. Oil and driveline parts were all over the highway. Dented the gas tank (possibly put a hole in the gas tank), we were told the gas tank was damaged and needed replaced. The rear-end pinion nut came loose and locked up the rear end causing the driveline to fall out onto the highway, tore a hole in the transfer case and damaged the gas tank. We were simply lucky there were other motorists on same highway that could stop and help us avoid a major collision on the steep, blind corner/on the mountain highway. Dodge is giving us the "run around" on getting this fixed. They finally repaired the truck, putting the same, but new faulty part that is in the middle of a recall process, into our truck and wanting us to be happy with it. We are not. We do not feel safe driving the truck with the same faulty part in the pickup. Dodge has no "fix" for us. They want us to drive our pickup with the recalled part until they come up with a fixed part. We are not willing to do this. What are our options?

- Thermopolis, WY, USA

problem #57

Mar 252013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 16,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train). The contact stated that the recall repair was not performed because the part was unavailable. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide a date for expected availability. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Hillsdale, NJ, USA

problem #56

Jun 032013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 55,100 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while traveling 30 mph, the rear differential seized. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer where it was determined that the pinion nut failed and would need to be replaced. The contact had also received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V038000 (power train) that would correct the problem, but the manufacturer stated that they still did not have a remedy fro the recalled failure. The failure and current mileage was 55,100.

- Groovetown, GA, USA

problem #55

May 142013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated there was a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 13V038000 (power train). The recall was expected to begin in may of 2013, however the remedy part was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced failure..

- Shoreham, NY, USA

problem #54

Jun 012013

Ram 1500

  • 115,000 miles
Saturday, June 1, 2013 I noticed a humming noise coming from the undercarriage upon braking and/or letting off the accelerator. The noise continued to get louder throughout my drive until I decided to pull over and inspect for a problem. I looked underneath the truck and at all 4 wheels and couldn't find the problem area. Upon leaving the parking lot I pulled back onto the freeway access road and reached 40 mph. I began to yield to exiting traffic and started slowing down. From the minute I started braking I heard the humming noise and felt a strong resistance. The slower my truck got the louder the noise was. Whenever I reached 20 mph my truck wheels seized up and I lost all control of my vehicle. My vehicle came to stop in the right hand lane of the access road. Upon exiting my vehicle I noticed the drive shaft laying on the ground. I tried to push the vehicle out of traffic but was not able to move it.

- Adkins, TX, USA

problem #53

May 012013

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
2010 Dodge Ram 1500. Consumer writes in regards to rear axle pinion nut recall notice. The consumer was informed the parts were not available.

- New Harmony, UT, USA

problem #52

Apr 012013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 13V038000 (power train: Rear axle pinion nut may loosen at differential). The contact stated that the notice was received over 2 months ago and the parts had not become available for repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The current mileage was 31,000. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Carson City , NV, USA

problem #51

Dec 012012

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
I was notified by mail in December that there was a recall on my truck a 2010 Dodge Ram. They stated that the real axle pinion nut(recall number M34)was installed without an adhesive pad. Dodge stated that the result of this could result in total seizure of the rear axle or loss of acceleration at any time. After the first call they told me the parts would be available and I would just have to wait. It is now May 26 and they still do not have the parts. I have a new born baby and they said there is nothing I can do but drive around and hope nothing happens to me and my famil. I have called 10 times. I was to, D the parts would be available in January then March then April. Still no parts what can I do to not have to worry about driving my unsafe truck. Pleas assist me [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #50

May 172013

Ram 1500

  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph, there was a loud noise that came from the rear of the vehicle. The brakes seized and the vehicle hesitated to stop. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who stated that the rear driveshaft and differential had become separated. The vehicle was repaired. The failure was reported to the manufacturer. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id 13V038000 (power train: Rear axle pinion may loosen at differential), in which the VIN was included. The failure and current mileage was 51,000.

- Pasadena, CA, USA

problem #49

May 142013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
Rcvd. Safety recall N08/NHTSA 13V-038 from Chrysler Corp. Approx. 30 days ago about the rear axle pinion nut on my 2010 Ram 1500 stating that the truck was unsafe and that they were concerned about my safety. Called local dealer to schedule appt. To have fixed and dealer stated that the part was unavailable, waited another week and called the Chrysler group recall assistance center and got the same excuse from them that the parts were on back order. Something needs to be done to motivate this company to take care of their responsibilities in a timely manner, not everyone can park their vehicle and wait for this to be resolved whenever Chrysler gets around to it. Have read other complaints on this website about rear axle lock-up and other accidents with the drive shafts. Hopefully this will be fixed before another accident occurs or someone is seriously injured or killed.

- El Paso, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?