Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
32,050 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Dodge Ram 1500 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 6 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #50

May 172013

Ram 1500

  • 51,000 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph, there was a loud noise that came from the rear of the vehicle. The brakes seized and the vehicle hesitated to stop. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who stated that the rear driveshaft and differential had become separated. The vehicle was repaired. The failure was reported to the manufacturer. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id 13V038000 (power train: Rear axle pinion may loosen at differential), in which the VIN was included. The failure and current mileage was 51,000.

- Pasadena, CA, USA

problem #49

May 142013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
Rcvd. Safety recall N08/NHTSA 13V-038 from Chrysler Corp. Approx. 30 days ago about the rear axle pinion nut on my 2010 Ram 1500 stating that the truck was unsafe and that they were concerned about my safety. Called local dealer to schedule appt. To have fixed and dealer stated that the part was unavailable, waited another week and called the Chrysler group recall assistance center and got the same excuse from them that the parts were on back order. Something needs to be done to motivate this company to take care of their responsibilities in a timely manner, not everyone can park their vehicle and wait for this to be resolved whenever Chrysler gets around to it. Have read other complaints on this website about rear axle lock-up and other accidents with the drive shafts. Hopefully this will be fixed before another accident occurs or someone is seriously injured or killed.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #48

May 112013

Ram 1500

  • 31,466 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, he heard a loud whistling noise and as he decelerated, the rear wheels seized and the vehicle skidded off the roadway. The vehicle was towed to a dealer for diagnosis and the contact was informed that the rear axle pinion nut became loose and caused the axle to seize. As a result, the entire suspension end of the vehicle would need to be replaced. The technician also stated that the failure was related to NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train), in which the contact's vehicle was included. The dealer advised however that the parts needed to complete the recall service were not available and that he would be using the same defective parts when repairing the vehicle. The vehicle was repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The failure and current mileage was 31,466.

- Belle Chasse, LA, USA

problem #47

May 042013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 54,000 miles


While driving 70mph down hwy heard a loud thump under car, then a lot of banging under truck, rear of truck jumped and bounced a little. Then while trying to accelerate and get off freeway from the fast lane had no throttle response so cost across four lanes to the shoulder once got to shoulder I went to hit breaks but rear end locked up before I could and truck came to a screeching halt. Got out of truck and drive shaft was on the ground hanging from transmission, the rear end spline shaft was sticking out of rear end but bent really bad. The rear end flange and U bolt was completely gone along with about a foot of the drive shaft. The transmission now grinds when shiftin in to gear and park. My exhaust is all smashed up from drive shaft whipping around the chrome tips out of the back bumper are dropped about 1 inch and pushed out from bumper 2 inches. To me looks like rear end locked up and ripped the drive shaft in two.

- Dickinson, TX, USA

problem #46

May 052013

Ram 1500

  • 22,000 miles
Was just notified of the recall for the rear axle pinion nut problem and when I called Chrysler via their toll free number, I was told that the recall notice was mailed on 4/1/2013 even though I did not receive it for 30 days. Was also told that they have no estimated date on when the repair part would be available. So we are expected to continue to drive our unsafe vehicles several months after initial recall because Chrysler is failing on the manufacture of and delivery of repair part. I think I will go call an attorney.

- Reading, PA, USA

problem #45

May 012013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
Still no remedy parts available (according to my Dodge dealer) to satisfy a rear axle pinion nut safety recall. I received the safety recall notice M34 via us mail in October 2012 with the statement "Chrysler anticipates the remedy parts will be made available within the 1st quarter of 2013." Well, it's May 1st and no action. I'm concerned that this delay could increase the likelihood of a problem on my rear axle. I'm also concerned that the value of my truck is diminished until the repair can be made. Please demand that Chrysler remedy this asap. Thank you!

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #44

Apr 152013

Ram 1500

  • miles


The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated there was a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 13V038000 (power train), however the part was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the problem and was unable to provide an estimated date for the part to become available. The contact had concern of the safety issues mentioned in the recall. There was no failure.

- Alachua, FL, USA

problem #43

Mar 252013

Ram 1500

  • 111,000 miles
Received recall notice Chrysler M34-N08/NHTSA 12V-474 in December 2012, prior to having 100,000 miles on my vehicle. Now in late March 2013 (out of warranty-mileage), the rear differential has started making a loud whining noise. The dealership has done a preliminary diagnosis of bearing failure and suggested the rear differential be rebuilt. I have followed all pm's and find it hard to believe that my rear differential is failing at 111,000 miles. Of course the parts for recall are not available and neither Chrysler or the dealership will recognize the subsequent failures of the recalled rear axle pinion nut failing. I need my vehicle for work related purposes and am terrified of driving my vehicle. Chrysler and their Dodge dealerships need to be better prepared for this recall, recognize that the rear axle pinion nut failing can/will cause subsequent failures in a rear differential, and provide adequate repairs to mitigate any future issues with the rear differential.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #42

Feb 142011

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the rear end of the vehicle swerved left and right uncontrollably. The vehicle was brought to a stop was later towed to a dealer for diagnosis. The contact was informed that the rear axle seized, the pinion shaft had become detached, and the U joint detached. The manufacturer was contacted and informed the contact that since the vehicle was used for towing, it was ineligible to be repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 12V474000 (power train). The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure and current mileage was 74,000...updated 10/30/13 updated 11/4/2013

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #41

May 302012

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
Driving vehicle and heard a clanking noise from rear end, it got louder over the next 2-3 miles then drive shaft dropped from rear differential. Called Chrysler to ask if there were any known problems and was informed there was none. Had vehicle towed over 50 miles to a garage to have drive shaft reinstalled, noticed a grinding sound while driving both on accelerate and decelerate. Received a recall notice later in 2012 about the rear axle pinion nut being faulty. Called dealer and set appointment to have recall fixed along with a second recall for A/C blower motor door, took 2 days down time and when I went to pick up truck, the M34 recall as its known was not addressed but A/C was fixed. I was told that they would have to fix any damage caused to the rear end from the recall which is the noise im hearing but unfortunately Chrysler does not even have the part nor an expected release date for the part to be available and that they would repair everything at the same time. After over a month of checking back on progress of part I informed the service writer that the noise is getting worse, at that time he stated to make an appointment to bring vehicle in and they would expedite the part and get it fixed and they would get me into a loaner or rental since I use my truck daily for work. When I went to set the appointment a week or so later I was told they cant give me a loaner or rental......another cost out of my pocket besides the repair an tow I already paid and the two days down I had to take for the first recall visit.... I then proceeded to call the number on the recall notice to speak with someone at Chrysler and they said they would see what they can do....that was 3/5/2013.... only to find out that because my truck is now over the 60 month 100K mileage im not eligible for warranty rental coverage.....the problem occurred almost a year ago.

- Rowlett, TX, USA

problem #40

Mar 142013

Ram 1500

  • 54,000 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph, the rear suspension failed and detached from the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who stated there was a recall but the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V474000 (power train). The was being repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 54,000.

- Clearwater, FL, USA

problem #39

Mar 122013

Ram 1500

  • 33,400 miles
Drive shaft and rear differential failed. Vehicle stopped in left turn lane of intersection. With green light, pressed accelerator and loud bang was heard. Vehicle would not move and upon inspection found broken drive shaft and broken differential.

- Palm Desert, CA, USA

problem #38

Feb 162013

Ram 1500

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact was driving approximately 50 mph when the steering wheel began to shift to the side and the vehicle would not respond to acceleration attempts. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnostic testing where the technician advised that the rear drive shaft and the transfer case would have to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 78,000.

- Bastrop, LA, USA

problem #37

Jan 062013

Ram 1500

  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving approximately 35 mph the rear end of the vehicle locked. The contact stopped the vehicle on the shoulder of the road to inspect it and noticed the drive shaft detached from the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 22,000.

- Traskwood, AR, USA

problem #36

Dec 162012

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
Vehicle was traveling at 70 mph. Vibration and howling/whining noise started coming from the rearend, owner slowed down to exit the highway, as the vehicle was braking to a stop loud clunking and grinding noise coming from the rear end.the drive shaft separated from the rear end of the vehicle, right rear wheel locked and slid about 8 feet.. driver exited the vehicle, took picture of drive shaft on the ground underneath the truck. No previous indications of any problems. Chrysler hot line was called. VIN was identified as be involved in a recall M-34. Recall notice had not been received by owner, Dodge rep said recall notices were being sent out starting 5 Dec 2012. Vehicle was towed to nearest Dodge dealer.

- Gerrardstown, WV, USA

problem #35

Nov 132012

Ram 1500

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that the rear differential froze on the vehicle and knocked out the rear axle, drive shaft and the transfer case. The contact was traveling 35 mph at the time of the failure. The contact had the vehicle towed to the dealer and was told that the pinion nut on the rear differential was loose, causing the rear wheels to seize. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileages were 42,000.

- Stratford, CT, USA

problem #34

Nov 132012

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
The driveshaft completely fell off my truck locking up the rear end. The truck bounced violently down the road leaving skid marks and holes in the pavement where the driveshaft hit it until the whole thing finally came off. Smoke rolled from under the vehicle when it finally stopped. Luckily I was on a side road and not in traffic when the failure occurred. Under different road conditions & speed this failure could definitely have led to a roll-over and potentially fatal accident. I was not notified by Chrysler of any potential failure.

- Acme, PA, USA

problem #33

Oct 302012

Ram 1500

  • 27,000 miles
Drive shaft dropped out from the rear axle on the main road, rear axle locked up. Both rear tires would not spin freely. All differential fluid leaked out from where the drive shaft once entered. Truck is now in a Dodge certified dealership.

- Harrisburg, PA, USA

problem #32

Oct 112012

Ram 1500

  • 65,000 miles
Driving on highway in traffic, heard a loud clunking, scraping noise. Pulled over and assessed that the drive shaft was hanging and had broken away from the rear differential. Rear wheels were locked.

- Patchogue, NY, USA

problem #31

Oct 052012

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 44,400 miles
The rear differential in my Ram locked up at 35 mph causing the driveshaft to break, the rear of the truck to jump in the air approximately 2ft, and making it skid for 40ft to a hard stop in the middle of the road near a busy intersection. Dodge has yet to recognize this issue and to do something about it despite it happening to multiple Ram. This is extremely dangerous!!! even the dealerships fail to show any concern over this issue. It was taken to miller Dodge in martinsburg and will be looked at Monday.

- Harpers Ferry, WV, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?