Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

7.9

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
5,257 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Dodge Ram 1500 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #35

Jul 292013

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train) several months ago and stated that the dealer did not have the parts available for the repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 08/27/13

- Clarkston, MI, USA

problem #34

Mar 152013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V038000 (power train). The dealer was contacted and stated that the part was not available for repair. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide information about the availability of the part. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure. The current mileage was 24,000.

- Sound Beach, NY, USA

problem #33

Jul 222013

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train). The contact stated that the vehicle could not be repaired because the dealer advised that they did not have the necessary parts to complete the recall service. The contact was not provided with an expectancy date for the arrival of the parts. The vehicle was not serviced. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated* 9/17/13

- Pleasantville, IA, USA

problem #32

Jul 172013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA recall campaign id number:13V038000(power train) in April 2013 but the parts needed for the recall service were not available. The dealer was contacted and advised that they did not know when the parts would become available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #31

Jul 112013

Ram 1500

  • 13,600 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated the NHTSA campaign 13V038000 (power train) exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The manufacturer advised him that the part was not available to be repaired and they did not know when the part was going to be available. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 13,600.

- Wales , MA, USA

problem #30

Jul 122013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train). The contact was informed by the manufacturer that the part was not available. The contact felt that an excessive amount of time had passed, as it had been two months since the recall notification had been received. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Easley, SC, USA

problem #29

May 022013

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train) in May 2013. The contact stated hat he contacted the dealer in June and July 2013 to get his vehicle repaired but the dealer stated that they did not have the parts available to service the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified and they also stated that they did know when the parts would become available. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Chapin, SC, USA

problem #28

Feb 062013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V038000 (power train). The contact stated that the recall was not performed in a reasonable amount of time. The contact was concerned of driving the vehicle because he was towing a trailer. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue however, they did not have an approximate time of arrival for the parts. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. The current mileage was 51,685.

- Hermosa Beach , CA, USA

problem #27

Feb 062013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V038000 (power train). The contact stated that the parts were not available for the repair and the dealer did not provide an estimated time of arrival for the parts. The contact did not want to drive the vehicle without the recall service being performed. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle had not experienced a failure. The approximate current mileage was 5,000.

- Midland, TX, USA

problem #26

May 092013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V038000 (power train); however the part was unavailable. The dealer inspected the vehicle and informed the contact that the vehicle was safe to drive. The manufacturer was notified and they were unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure with the vehicle. Updated 09/05/13

- Marshall, VA, USA

problem #25

Jun 032013

Ram 1500 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2011 Dodge Ram 1500. Consumer writes in regards to rear axle pinion nut recall notice. The dealer informed the consumer, the parts were not available.

- Chepachet, RI, USA

problem #24

Feb 062013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 13V038000 (power train) about 5 months ago and the repair was not provided within a reasonable time. The manufacturer was contacted but they were unable to provide an estimated time of arrival for the parts. The contact did not experience a failure. The current mileage was 36,000.

- Tucson , AZ, USA

problem #23

Jun 262013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train) and stated that the dealer did not have the parts available to complete the repair. The contact had been attempting to have the vehicle service per the recall for several months. The manufacturer was notified but they were unable to provide an expected date for the parts to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Deer Park , NY, USA

problem #22

Jun 182013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V038000 (power train:driveline:differential unit) and contacted the manufacturer but was advised that the parts needed to complete the repair were not yet available. The contact did not state whether the manufacturer was able to provide an estimated time for the arrival of parts. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Atlantic, IA, USA

problem #21

Apr 122013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 29,300 miles
We were informed of a "recall" safety hazard with our vehicle in April, 2013. We've made numerous phone calls to see if parts are in yet. Dodge still doesn't have the parts to fix this potential problem. I would really hate to see something happen or have someone killed because we use our vehicle to pull a 7,000 lb camp trailer. Why is the manufacture taking so much time to have the part available before someone gets hurt? we are paying for a vehicle that we're not feeling safe in now. We've been told that the rear axle pinion nut could come loose, causing the axle to seize, which "could" lead to an accident. Thank you

- Spokane Valley, WA, USA

problem #20

Apr 302013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
I received a safety recall notice in the mail 2-months ago concerning the adhesive patch on the rear axle pinion nut. The letter stated the parts were not available at the time the letter was sent out. I have not received any further notice if parts are now available to perform the safety recall. I'm concerned that if my truck is affected and not corrected soon major damage to the rear axle could occur.

- Busy, KY, USA

problem #19

Jun 072013

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact did not experience a failure. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V038000 (power train). The contact stated that the parts were not available for repair. The manufacturer was contacted but they did not provide an estimated time for the parts to become available. The current mileage was 55,000. Updated 07/10/13

- Oceanside , CA, USA

problem #18

Jun 062013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
I got letter from Chrysler for safety recall notice. But they said, the part is not available few weeks or months. It is safety recall N08/NHTSA 13V-038. It said clearly required safety recall, but part is not available situation. I really don't understand. And I believe they have to take care of my car immediately for safe reason.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #17

Apr 172013

Ram 1500

  • miles
My husband [xxx] received a noticed from Chrysler at the end of April about the rear axle pinion nut, and how it could cause an accident. Upon call our w dealer bertera Dodge in westfield MA where we bought the truck, and were told they did not have the part.it was coming in. Well now it is June what is taking so long. Also this is a safety issue, and could cause a crash according to the paper we received. What is taking so long on this part" we have been told that if something hasn't happened it probably won't, probably???" please look into this matter. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Southwick , MA, USA

problem #16

May 012013

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
2011 Dodge Ram 1500. Consumer writes in regards to rear drive axle recall notice. According to the recall notice, the parts were not available.

- Beavercreek, OH, USA

Read the next 15 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?