Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

7.9

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
5,257 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Dodge Ram 1500 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #95

Jun 082015

Ram 1500

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Headlights, both low beam and high beam went out and will not come back on. Bulbs replaced, still will not come on. Transmission has begun to shift erratically although vehicle is at a constant speed.

- Panama City, FL, USA

problem #94

Mar 102015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Alexander, ME, USA

problem #93

Dec 272014

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
TL-* the contact owns a 2011 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while driving at 50 mph, the rear end of the vehicle vibrated violently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 48,000. Updated 3/12/15 the consumer experienced a vibration coming from the drive train. The dealer performed a software update. The problem was not as severe, but it was still present. The consumer referenced recall # 13V038000 (power train). Updated 03/26/15

- Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #92

Dec 052013

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number: 13V038000 (power train); however, the part for the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified. The vehicle had not experienced a failure.

- Singer, LA, USA

problem #91

Feb 042013

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received the recall notification related to NHTSA campaign id number 13V038000 (power train). The contact stated that the repair was not taken care of in a reasonable amount of time. The dealer indicated parts are not available. Contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer has not been contacted. Updated 8/28/14 the conumer stated the vehicle has been repaired. Updated 09/08/2014

- Kimberling City, MO, USA

problem #90

Feb 062012

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received the recall notification related to NHTSA campaign id number 13V038000 (power train). The contact stated that the repair was not taken care of in a reasonable amount of time. The dealer indicated parts were not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer has not been contacted.

- Kimberling City, MN, USA

problem #89

Oct 212013

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received NHTSA recall campaign number 13V038000 (power train ). the contact stated that the vehicle was not repaired in a reasonable amount of time. The dealer stated that the parts were not available. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. There were no failures.

- Cannon Falls, MN, USA

problem #88

Oct 212013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train ). the contact stated that the repair was not taken care of in a reasonable amount of time. The dealer stated that the parts were not available. There were no failures. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay.

- Cannon Falls, MN, USA

problem #87

Mar 122014

Ram 1500

  • 50,000 miles
Truck stalls when coming to a stop. Truck stalls whenever shifting from park into reverse drive. Rattling sound coming from under truck. Dealership diagnosed it to a defective torque converter and is replacing it and the transmission fluid pump.

- Dawson Creek, AL, USA

problem #86

Nov 262013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
I took my Dodge into the local Dodge dealership for an oil change and to check on the rear axle pinion nut recall. They told me they needed to order the part and that they would call me as soon as it came in. That was three months ago and I still haven't heard back from them.

- Santa Maria, CA, USA

problem #85

Feb 222014

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 10,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rear axle pinion nut N08/NHTSA on 2/22/2014 autonation Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram refused to repair this defect, even after I had scheduled an appointment for repair. I took the vehicle in at 0720 on 2/22/2014 and was told by a [xxx] that this was usually not an issue for Ram trucks, that they were short-staffed and that they could not get to the vehicle until next week, the dealership refused to repair the recall issue. It appeared they did not want to complete the recall repair, because they would not make any money off of the repair as it was a recall. This is unacceptable. I will now need to be given direction as to where to take the vehicle for repair. I took it to: Autonation Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Cave Creek, AZ, USA

problem #84

Sep 252013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 13V038000 (power train) and stated that the needed part was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Helen, GA, USA

problem #83

Jun 012013

Ram 1500

  • miles
I received my first recall notice about 6 months ago and my second about 2 months ago. I have approached the dealership, previously mike olsen Dodge and currently yakima Dodge, and have been put on a waiting list. They state that they only get parts to fix 1 vehicle at a time that then has to be verified before they can fix another one. The recall notice states that the rear axle can disengage and lead to an uncontrollable accident. They also told me that there has been such incident close to town but with no injuries. The notices are identified as safety recall N08/NHTSA 13V-038. This is my only transportation and I am concerned for my family safety when I drive.

- Yakima, WA, USA

problem #82

Apr 152013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign id number: 13V038000 (power train) had surpassed a reasonable time for repair. The manufacturer was contacted and stated that the part was available for the recall repair but the dealer stated that the part was not available. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Parkton, NC, USA

problem #81

Dec 102013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V038000 (power train). The dealer was contacted and stated that the they were unable to perform the recall repair until February 2014. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Columbus, ND, USA

problem #80

Dec 062013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
Received a safety recall notice for the rear axle pinion nut. Brought the truck to san antonio Dodge in san antonio Texas and the parts were on back order..service provider said they were only getting 1 per week from the manufacturer and it would not be until after christmas that this problem may be taken care of. So much for the christmas trip...provider said I could still travel even though the recall notice is specific when it said "could cause crash without warning". I have a problem with the dealer having complete disregard for safety by telling me I could travel 1000+ miles on the highway and not worry.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #79

May 152013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train). The manufacturer and the dealer were contacted and stated that the part was not available to complete the repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. The current mileage was 180,000.

- Great Falls, MT, USA

problem #78

Jun 122013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that the manufacturer has taken more than a reasonable amount of time to make the parts available for recall NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train) the contact mentioned that he was concerned for his safety. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The vehicle had not experience the failure. The current mileage was 132,000.

- Palmetto , FL, USA

problem #77

Apr 012013

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V038000 (power train). The manufacturer and the dealer were contacted and stated that the necessary part was not available. The contact had received the recall notice over six months ago and he still could not have the vehicle serviced per the recall. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Dale City, VA, USA

problem #76

Oct 012013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
2011 Dodge Ram 1500. Consumer writes in regards to rear axle pinion nut recall notice. The consumer was first informed, the parts were not available. Then he was informed, the parts had arrived, but there were no instructions on how to repair it. Recall # 13V038000.

- Milan, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?