If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,253 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Dodge Ram 2500 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Dodge Ram 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Dodge Ram 2500 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #52

Jan 062014

Ram 2500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received recall notice NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the parts were not available. The dealer gave an unreasonable time frame for when the parts would be available. The manufacturer was also notified and could not provide a reasonable date for when the recall would be repaired. There are no failures at this time.

- Springfield, OR, USA

problem #51

Apr 122012

Ram 2500

  • 96,000 miles
My main reason for this complaint is it is known across the United States that Dodge put a faulty front suspension on its pickups that lead to dangerous steering at highway speeds and death wobbles. My vehicle has the death wobble at highway speeds, understand this death wobble literally tries to pull the steering wheel from your hand and makes the vehicle very hard to manage. My death wobble was severe enough to bust a battery clamp, blow out both headlights, make my quad cab door not open caused my outside temperature sensor unit to malfunction, broke my steering box, broke the clip on my sunglasses holder and caused my track bar to fail again. Please understand due to the faulty sloppy drifting steering I had already replaced all tie rods, track bar, ball joints and steering dampner shock. You can go to any diesel forum and hear all the stories of the Dodge steering slop and death wobble and I would like to know why the traffic safety board has not forced a recall and upgrades on this product. I have a lifetime warranty on my track bar and can prove it has to be replaced twice a year minimum. Dodge did upgrades on the later model years 04-07 because they knew of the design flaw. Why are they not responsible for this known road hazard.

- Big Bar , CA, USA

problem #50

Nov 202000

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • Manual transmission
  • 230,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that while reversing, the pitman arm fractured in the steering column. The failure caused the vehicle to loose hydraulic fluid to the power steering. The contact called three dealers and was told that they were unfamiliar with the failure. The vehicle was not inspected or repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 230,000...updated 09/04/12..updated 09/07/12 the consumer stated the point of failure was the sector shaft on the rod and a damaged steering box. The consumer stated the vehicle lost all steering capability. Updated 09/11/12 updated 09/17/2012

- Seaside, CA, USA

problem #49

Jun 032012

Ram 2500 4WD Diesel

  • 103,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2001.5 Dodge 2500 quad 4X4 diesel. Steering has been bad for last few years. Took in and all up front is bad, hubs, joints, ball joints, tie rods and even the gear box output shaft. I was told that the dealer knows that the 2500 comes off the line with 1/4" give or take play in the ball joints as it sits new and are actually too small for application which causes all else to go bad over time. I am not hard on my Dodge with driving style. Cost to fix with stock and after market parts only to prevent is $2600. Labor is $100 per hour how can anyone handle this kind of money up front. Truck sits afraid to drive more then local. Started seeing at 95000 and have just over 103000. Dealer will not fix recalls of 2001 year because its to old!

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #48

May 012005

Ram 2500

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Dodge Ram 2500 quad. The contact stated that there was excessive play in the steering wheel. The vehicle would steer uncontrollably when driving over uneven road surfaces. The manufacturer was notified of the failure who advised the contact that there were no recalls for the failure and offered no further assistance. The contact stated that the failure had become worse over time. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 60,000 and the current mileage was 101,000.

- Sanford, NC, USA

problem #47

Feb 162011

Ram 2500

  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph, the vehicle drifted from lane to lane increasing the risk of a crash. The contact took the vehicle to a local mechanic to have the entire front suspension replaced. After the remedy repair, the vehicle continued to drift from lane to lane while driving at highway speeds. The contact took the vehicle back to the local mechanic for a diagnostic test. The failure mileage was 67,000. The VIN was not available.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #46

Sep 162011

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 201,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On my way to work, as usual, on a "slightly" bumpy part of the highway my steering wheel and front end started vibrating so violently that I almost lost control. I could barely hold the steering wheel; and could not steer at all; all I could do was start braking and come to a stop. I got out and checked my tires and front end and everything appeared normal. I continued to work at about 40 mph (I had gone to work early so no traffic). At 8:00 I called my local mechanic and took it to him to check out what happened. He check everything and nothing showed. The next day it happened again; then again 2 days later. About 2 weeks later I took pickup in for regular oil/fuel/air filter change service. He test drove with me along and I explained further what happened. He said he has seen it before with Dodge 2500 & 3500 and it has been labeled the "Dodge death wobble". I thank god I was not in a busy traffic area.

- Gage, OK, USA

problem #45

Jul 192009

Ram 2500

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated while driving at highway speeds the steering would cause the vehicle to travel from one lane to another. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer who advised her that the steering track bar and steering boxes failed. The vehicle was repaired. The failure occurred again within two weeks of being repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 100,000.

- Lee High, UT, USA

problem #44

May 172011

Ram 2500

  • 270,676 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Dodge Ram. The contact stated while driving at any speeds the vehicle drifted from side to side. The contact stated the vehicle became difficult to control. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer who replaced the steering box but the steering box did not remedy the failure. The steering box was replaced five times. The dealer stated that the steering box was defective. The contact called the manufacturer and filed a complaint but they have not provided any assistance. The contact stated the vehicle was unsafe to drive. The failure mileage was 270,676.

- Oak Hill, OH, USA

problem #43

Jan 012011

Ram 2500

  • 193,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Dodge 2500 diesel. The contact stated that while driving approximately 65 mph and decelerating to 3 mph, the steering shaft suddenly fractured causing a loss of steering. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who informed the contact that he needed to replace the steering shaft. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 193,000. Updated 03/24/11 updated 12/14/11

- Lee Heighton, PA, USA

problem #42

Jun 012005

Ram 2500

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Problems with steering, and vibration/wobble in the front of our 2001 Dodge Ram 2500. No resolution as of yet. Dodge can't find the problem. Replaced track bar, but problem has returned. Steering wanders, hard to keep truck on the road. Vibration in front returned once again. I have heard there is an after market steering stabilizer that can take care of this problem. Why doesn't Dodge fix it with this steering stabilizer?

- Conway, AR, USA

problem #41

Jun 262010

Ram 2500

  • 130,000 miles
Booster pump for power steering and transmission don't want to shift when drive from stop to drive into second gear.

- Little Falls, NJ, USA

problem #40

Aug 252005

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 192,175 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Dodge Ram 2500. While driving approximately 75 mph on normal road conditions; there was a sudden loss of steering control. Immediately, the driver stopped the vehicle and towed it to an authorized dealer. There were no prior warnings. The failure was contributed to the steering system. The contact was responsible for the repair cost of $1,933.75. The contact stated that there were safety recalls for model years 2003 to 2009 on the identical model. There was concern of the safety risk involved. The failure mileage was 192,175 and the current mileage was 300,000. Updated 03/30/10 the consumer stated the steering failed as she was driving. The gear box, steering box and ball joints were replaced. Updated 08/18/10 updated 08/23/10

- Cameron, MT, USA

problem #39

May 012003

Ram 2500

  • 40,000 miles
Cracked dashboard leading to defective wiring and steering column problems.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #38

Mar 142007

Ram 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
2001 Dodge Ram 2500 reg cab long bed pickup. Vehicle has 26,000 original miles and after major front end repairs( upper and lower ball joints, stabilizer bar links, stabilizer shock and both wheel bearings) for steering problems, the problem still exists. The truck is almost uncontrollable and wanders into oncoming traffic if constant attention and over correction of steering is not adhered too. Driving is a task and is very dangerous.

- Vermontville, NY, USA

problem #37

Jul 182005

Ram 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,520 miles
Dt the return hose to the power steering got against the power steering pulley and rubbed a whole in the return hose and it was leaking fluid. Which made it have no power steering. Have contacted the dealer they ordered two hoses that were the wrong ones. This happened July 18, 2005.

- Wayne , OK, USA

problem #36

Mar 012005

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Dodge Ram 2500 series 2001, numerous problems with vehicle steering mechanisms. The consumer stated he was constantly overcorrecting the vehicle left and right. The consumer had many alignments done but to no avail. It was discovered that all the ball joints needed to be replaced due to rust and no lubrication, the steering shaft and trac bar was replaced and the steering box was adjusted. The vehicle was taken to another mechanic and in his opinion alternate valve located in the steering was not performing as it should, when the mechanic removed the valve it extremely burnt from overheating. The consumer stated he no longer has any problems steering the vehicle.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #35

Oct 012004

Ram 2500

  • miles
Dodge Ram 2500 series 2001, numerous problems with vehicle steering mechanisms. The consumer stated the vehicle would steer in the direction of oncoming traffic in certain situations when the brakes were applied.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #34

Mar 012005

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Dodge Ram 2500 series 2001, numerous problems with vehicle steering mechanisms. The consumer stated while taking a 2 mile drive, he notice he had to constantly overcorrect to the left and then the right. The dealer replaced several componets on the vehicle to try and resolve the steering problem, the replaced all the ball joints which were severely rusted and had no grease, the steering shaft was replaced, the trac bar was replaced due to severe movement. It was finally determined that a alternate valve in the steering box was not performing as it was designed to do, when the mechanic took the valve out it was burned from overheating.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #33

Jan 012005

Ram 2500 Diesel

  • miles
While attempting to park the trailer, the steering box destroyed the O-ring gasket which caused the consumer to lose control of the vehicle.

- Granville, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?