Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,937 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Dodge Ram 2500 body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Dodge Ram 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Dodge Ram 2500 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #103

Mar 222006

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • 2,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 05V462000 (power train) and 15V312000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 08/17/16 the consumer stated the transmission failed at 2,500 miles. The ball joints and water pump failed and the windshield leaked. Updated 10/26/16.

- New Castle, IN, USA

problem #102

Jun 202014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • Manual transmission
  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Dodge sprinter 2500. The contact stated that while driving over a bump at an unknown speed, the driver side sun visors fractured and obstructed the view of the contact. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 160,000. MA 08/13/15 updated 09/10/15 the consumer stated the sun visor never fractured, but would pivot down. This would block the view of the roadway. Updated 12/1/2015

- Heeney, CO, USA

problem #101

Jun 142006

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
My truck has been babied it's entire life and has been garaged. I even tinted the windshield with the uv rated ting so it would help with the dash issues also. Even with all this precaution, the dash has still cracked. I noticed the first hairline crack in summer 2006 and it's been a downhill spiral ever since. Recently it started dropping parts in the vents I guess. Then I would have particles flying in my eye when I turn the heater on. My kids also have things flying in their eyes. This is a danger ous situation and Dodge needs to recall these dashes before someone gets really hurt or killed.

- Kailua Kona, HI, USA

problem #100

Jan 022015

Ram 2500

  • 96,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dash has been cracking for years as most do. Becoming a safety issue as pieces fly into your face everytime you use heat or ac. Also has jagged edges that could be an issue in an accident situation.

- Bridgeton, NJ, USA

problem #99

Jan 112010

Ram 2500

  • 56,000 miles
Cracked dash. Like so many other 2003 Dodge Ram 2500 owners, my vehicle has developed cracks along the dash for no apparent reason even though the vehicle is well cared for and maintained in pristine condition. The first hairline crack appeared in 2010 at the center of the dash beginning on the windshield side. Over time the crack has progressed towards the instrument panel to the point that the dash has completely split in half. To date, two additional cracks have developed, one six inches to the left of the center crack and another over the passenger airbag section. With so many complaints of cracked dashes, particularly with the 2003 model year, it's apparent that a manufacturing flaw exists and Chrysler should acknowledge this fact and effect replacement of the defective dashes. Is a cracked dash a safety issue? absolutely, considering the additional injuries that can be inflicted on vehicle occupants in the event of a collision and the deployment of air bags. Since Chrysler has set a precedent by acknowledging that a problem existed with cracked dashes on Dodge Ram model years prior to 2003 (1998-2002), and has agreed to replace the cracked dashes on the previous model years, then why not do the same for the 2003 model year that seems to have the most complaints/issues? so what if the cracks appeared after the warranty has expired on these vehicles; it's a matter of integrity. Given that Chrysler is fully aware of this manufacturer defect, they should admit accountability and do the right thing by recalling these vehicles and providing the necessary replacement of the defective dashes.

- Lompoc, CA, USA

problem #98

Oct 032014

Ram 2500

  • 142,311 miles
While searching for a fix for my dash which just cracked I found several reports of after the dash cracked where electrical issues arise. As in headlights not working at all or when switching to hi beam. I also saw a video on this issue from a news broadcast and when Chrysler was questioned about this there was never any response while the public was requesting a recall. From what I can find out just in the hour I was looking this up this would apply to just about every Dodge Ram made between 1996 and 2006. My truck is garage kept and I keep it in excellent condition so for this to happen due to sitting in the sun it's entire life I might understand but there is no way this should have happened to mine. My father was a mechanic for Chrysler for over 20 years and this is just plain cheap made products. Which from what I can find out could and most likely will lead to some safety issue with the vehicle. Since I can not find anything more out with regards to what the NHTSA is doing only monitoring the issue?? the broadcast I saw was from 2012, I would think something would have become of this by now for sure after seeing that video. Yet at that time the news channel stated your doing nothing.

- Cochranville, PA, USA

problem #97

Jul 232014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The dash on my 03 Ram 2500 5.9 diesel has literally has fallen in on itself. Very large sections of the dash have broken off and have become a safety concern. For example, if an accident were to occur causing the airbag to deploy, pieces of projectile shrapnel would be thrown all over the cab of the truck. I've been in contact with Dodge, and nothing will be done about this issue because the truck is "out-of-warranty" and is considered "normal wear and tear". the particular customer service representative I spoke to copped an attitude with me and refused to connect me to a supervisor, citing that it "is not a supervisor issue". I do not know where to go from here. Does an accident have to occur in which people are maimed by pieces of the dash in order for Dodge to do anything? I really would hate to see my wife with pieces of plastic sticking out of her face and skull because this problem was not handled in an appropriate manner.

- Eagle, CO, USA

problem #96

Jun 012006

Ram 2500

  • 50,000 miles
Dash began cracking after only a few years. Now it is completely falling apart and I believe if the airbags went off in an accident it would sent pieces of the dash into the faces of the occupants.

- Hendersonville, NC, USA

problem #95

May 032014

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 204,500 miles
The dash on my truck is cracked into small pieces that are very dangerous. The pieces are sharp because they are broke into little triangles. The pointed ends will injure or kill someone during a crash! also the airbag light is on and I can't get it repaired because the dash has to be removed and it is in little pieces. This means that because of this dash I don't have an airbag! I called Dodge(along with everyone else) and they pretty much told me they didn't care. I asked them if my truck was safe to drive and he said "no".

- Dyersburg, TN, USA

problem #94

Nov 062012

Ram 2500

  • 159,000 miles
After purchasing this truck from the first time owner, I begin to notice at certain times I would experience a violent shaking when going over a bump. After looking online and reading about the "death wobble" I become worried and contacted the dealer. Of course they acted like they did not know what I was talking about. But when you talk to an independent mechanic, they know exactly what you are talking about. In short, I have spent over $2700 getting the front end redone, with no help from Chrysler. I find it completely irresponsible on their part to not do anything to help with this problem. Now.. just last week I get this recall notice on the left tie rod end. I am most certain when I take it in, they will say there is nothing wrong with it.. and send me on my way. This issue and the cracked dash is all a bunch of baloney to which Chrysler should have taken some serious action to help folks who bought a $50K truck in good faith that it was built good..

- Claremore , OK, USA

problem #93

May 012012

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2003 Dodge Ram 2500 truck's dashboard has cracked in several places. These are long cracks from the windshield to the cabin edge. Also large circles of cracks. This is a safety concern because of the possibility of sharp pieces flying through the cab of the truck. We are not only concerned for our safety but for the safety of our twin 3 year old grandsons that are often with us.

- Shannon, GA, USA

problem #92

Sep 012011

Ram 2500

  • 80,000 miles
2003 Dodge 2500 dashboard cracking severely. Clearly a hazard due to sharp edges and loose shards of plastic. The damage is extending towards the instrument panel and passenger airbag. Concerned that the airbag may become affected by the disintegrating dashboard.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #91

Sep 062010

Ram 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
Dash is cracking. Should be fix by Dodge it could be a safety hazzard...

- Clyde, NC, USA

problem #90

Apr 182012

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The dash started cracking and has not stopped. Will they ever do anything about this or will my dash be in my floor ?

- Clyde, NC, USA

problem #89

Jul 212010

Ram 2500

  • miles
At about 7 yrs old, our trucks' dash started cracking at what looks like the mounting seems. There was no crash that damaged it. We live in the desert, but always use window shades. Since we're out of warranty Dodge will do nothing. It has since broke off in larger chunks, falling into the air vents. We have owned vehicle for much longer and never had this problem. I have recently been reading forums where others with this type vehicle have the same problem, and again, Dodge does nothing. Is it going to take one falling completely apart, and a child sticking their hands in there and being shocked for someone to make Dodge recall their faulty dash boards?

- Rosamond, CA, USA

problem #88

Jan 012010

Ram 2500

  • 100,000 miles
The dashboard on my 2003 Dodge Ram 2500 truck is severely cracked and fragmented. I first noticed a long (6"+) crack down the center of the dashboard, from windshield towards the interior of the truck) in 2010. I have used a dashboard mat/cover in the vehicle since purchased in 2002. The crack was noticed when removing the dash mat cover to clean/wipe down the dashboard. The dashboard has not been subject to direct sunlight for the duration of the time that I've owned the vehicle (single owner). Since the initial crack in 2010, the condition of the dashboard has continued to deteriorate. With no instances of direct contact or accident, the small slits for the dashboard air vents have started to break off entirely, and from time to time use of the air vent near the windshield shoots little bits of plastic back into the front seat passengers. This is a safety issue during normal operation, and a further hazard should there be a hard stop, crash or other abrupt event. I am also concerned that if the dash is subject to any sort of impact from the vehicle cabin (persons or objects) it may further shatter and create unnecessary cutting or impact injuries to passengers.

- Hereford, AZ, USA

problem #87

Aug 012012

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 120,000 miles
The spare tire on a Dodge Ram 2500 is secured underneath the vehicle with a stranded cable. While driving down the road, the spare tire fell off. When it fell, it bounced into the rear bumper, jolted the vehicle, and then rolled down the road. Although no accident occurred, it could have been catastrophic if other vehicles had been on the road at the time. The root cause is most likely due to a failure at the location where the cable is swaged to the plate. Dodge should be required to inspect and repair these at their expense.

- Aiken, SC, USA

problem #86

Feb 282012

Ram 2500

  • 103,000 miles
The upper dashboard on my Ram 2500 cracked. The exposed edges are sharp, and represent a safety hazard under normal operation. The situation could be catastrophic if the sharp edges were to cut the airbag when deployed. This defect has been reported to Dodge by a large number of customers, and their typical response is that they bear no responsibility since the vehicle is out of warranty.

- Aiken, SC, USA

problem #85

May 032012

Ram 2500 8-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
The dashboard in my truck started to crack and is now falling apart with huge sharp pieces coming off I am afraid my small children will be injured from the dash.

- Norwalk, CT, USA

problem #84

Apr 272013

Ram 2500

  • 118,584 miles
Dashboard has sever cracks which developed about 4 years ago. I was driving down the road and turned on the defroster. The grill covering the defroster blew apart into several pieces and hit my check and jaw. No injuries were sustained. However, there are several more grills and they are extremely dry rotted. Question is do I remove the grills and let debris fall into the ducts and they too become projectiles or leave the grills and hope for the best.

- San Angelo, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?