Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
72,183 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Dodge Ram 2500 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Dodge Ram 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Dodge Ram 2500 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #41

Apr 042016

Ram 2500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that the vehicle was turned off, but the engine continued to run without the key in the ignition. The contact had to disconnect the battery cable to prevent the failure. In addition, the contact smelled fumes of burning wire. The vehicle was inspected by a mechanic who diagnosed that there was a short with the wiring and the control box associated with the fuses. The dealer stated that the part was on a national back order. The contact was unable to determine when the vehicle would be repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Andover, MN, USA

problem #40

Nov 102015

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that there was a failure with the control module associated with the trailer wiring short circuiting. The failure prevented the trailer from being hauled. The contact smelled a strong odor of burning wires. The dealer indicated that there was a national back order for the part, which was more than eight months ago. The contact was unable to determine when the vehicle would be repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available. Updated 10/04/16

- Andover, MN, USA

problem #39

Jun 082016

Ram 2500

  • 39 miles
On June 8, 2016, my vehicle /truck was dropped off at the indicated Dodge dealership for recall work. Due to an issue with ECU due to battery change, I requested a reflash of the ECU be performed in order for vehicle to pass smog. I subsequently received a telephone call from dealership stating vehicle was ready to be picked up. Upon taking possession of the truck I was advised by phil (service tech) that reflash was preformed and additional updates were programmed into the ECU. Prior to leaving location, I was advised there were no problems encountered during the ECU reflash. On June 11, 2016, I began driving the truck per in accordance with General Motors "drive cycle" procedures. Approximately 10 minutes into driving vehicle, the heating element warning indicator light illuminated in the dash while the seat belt chime sounded simultaneously. This warning light/seat belt chime continued for several cycles, each time the warning light indication lasting several minutes then going off only to should again minutes later. On June 21, 2016, I spoke to phil (autonation Dodge service tech) who explained no work had been done to identify and correct the problem since June, 16. As of the submission of this complaint, I have not received telephone call back from Dodge. I currently retain voice message fro adrian, all receipts/invoices, cellphone video of indicator light/seat belt alarm sounding, as as all call logs. Furthermore, Dodge refuses to repair a problem they caused and is refusing to look for an alternate solution to repair damage they caused.

- Saugus, CA, USA

problem #38

Dec 152003

Ram 2500

  • 200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The 7 pin plug has never worked right the left turn and left brake light do not work nor have they ever

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #37

Oct 152015

Ram 2500

  • 165,000 miles
On this model, as well as others within a close date range, the forward control module(FCM) shuts off the headlights if it recognizes any disruption in current or ground. This has happened to me about 4 times in the last year and causes a safety concern as the only thing I can do is turn on my brights, which in turn blinds other drivers. The module is located outboard of the fuse box, located above driver side wheel well in the engine compartment. Price is usually around $400 for part, then I have to take it to somebody to have it keyed to my computer for another $100-200. There is no variable as to when it happens, sometimes while in motion, sometimes while stationary.

- Cresson, TX, USA

problem #36

Apr 132011

Ram 2500

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ram Dodge 2500. The contact was driving 35 mph when the vehicle became resistant to acceleration. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the battery acid corroded the cable that ran from the pedal to the control box. The cable was replaced and the vehicle was repaired. The contact added a plastic cover between the battery and the cable. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000.

- Springview, NE, USA

problem #35

Sep 202012

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • 159,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Without the clutch being engaged the truck will start. This is improper and will allow the truck to be started while in gear, allowing unwanted movement forwards or backwards....updated 01/07/15 updated 05/29/2015

- Springfield, OH, USA

problem #34

Feb 182014

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 223,469 miles
Driving westbound on M46 during dusk, headlights were on, suddenly I was being signaled my high beams were on. I stopped at a nearby gas station to check out what was going on and all of my lights had failed. Closer inspection revealed the totally integrated power module had failed without warning.

- Saginaw, MI, USA

problem #33

Sep 012008

Ram 2500

  • 70,000 miles
Problem 1) the engine has a exhaust manifold leak. This is due to Dodge using inadequate bolts on the head and the bolts broke. The removal of the exhaust manifold requires the bolts to be drilled and tapped out. Dodge should have corrected this problem but would not. Problem 2) the vehicle leaks profusely in the cab. Ever since I bought this vehicle the cab has leaked. It leaks under the rear seat and it leaks from the front visor as well. I have tried to seal with rtv since Dodge could never fix the problem. It still leaks. Problem 3) the passenger front window works intermittently at best. Problem 4) the rear doors will not release the child lock function. I have tried numerous times but apparently the switch in the door does not work.

- Laurel, DE, USA

problem #32

Aug 202013

Ram 2500

  • 69,000 miles
The drivers door lock actuator malfunctioned in the locked position and the key could not unlock the door. Without your key fob you are locked out of your car! this is a common problem from the searches I did on the internet. This could be a safety issue.

- Franklin, TN, USA

problem #31

Jul 122013

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • 109,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

You can not turn on left turn signal without the right signal coming on too. To make a right turn you need to keep pressing on right turn signal to keep it blinking. I see many other owners with same problem. This is an accident waiting to happen!!!!!!!!!!

- La Crosse, WI, USA

problem #30

Oct 012012

Ram 2500 8-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
My 2004 Dodge Ram 2500 does not have working running lights. I cannot safely drive the vehicle at night. Per the Dodge dealer, they have diagnosed it as part number 68005476aa (fuse box/power control module). The part is, and has been, on national back order for a very long time. Apparently, this is a wide spread problem that others are experiencing in varying electrical/lighting ways. The lack of improper or non-working lights poses a safety issue. The non availability of parts makes a perfectly good vehicle non-drivable.

- Columbus, IN, USA

problem #29

Jul 012012

Ram 2500 8-cyl

  • 145,000 miles
Horn goes off randomly at all speeds.

- Centralia, WA, USA

problem #28

Jul 062012

Ram 2500

  • 160,359 miles
Drivers side door lock will not in unlock using the unlock switch. Switch unlocks the other doors but not the drivers door. Will open with inside door handle. When trying to open it from the outside with the key is very hard. Lock does not want to stay unlocked.

- Fox Island, WA, USA

problem #27

Feb 092012

Ram 2500

  • 111,000 miles
Driver side door lock stuck in down position. Keyless entry will not work. Door will not unlock from outside. Only way to open door is from inside. On-line research indicates a common problem - door actuator.

- Polk City, FL, USA

problem #26

Dec 012011

Ram 2500 Diesel

  • miles
Email from the office of congressman on behalf of constituent re a safety recall on the 2004 Dodge pickup 2500 diesel. (please direct reply to constituent with copy to congressman). The consumer stated there is a problem with a module where all the wiring for the head lights, turn signals, reverse lights, running lights and hazards were routed through the module before it went into the fuse box. When the module failed, several of the lights ceased to function. The consumer stated the part is on back order.

- Galveston, IN, USA

problem #25

Oct 012011

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 400,000 miles
Either the power control module (fusebox) failed or the forward control module did (the part under the fusebox. Several lighting groups will go out even when driving down the road, including headlights. I have no doubt this is a safety hazard to have your headlights become unfunctional at night while driving. How I know it is a big issue that Dodge has not felt necessary to issue a safety recall is because when I went to order the part I was told it is on at least a 6 week back order. There are so many owners having the same problem they can't make them fast enough to keep up. So that means 2004 Dodge Ram pickup owners have to let their vehicles sit in the garage for 6 weeks as it is not safe to drive them until they receive the part. I have had similar problems with Dodge and until they are forced by you to issue a safety recall they won't. also, it is Dodge's past action in that they will put the same part on a vehicle that they originally put on the vehicle and it will do the same thing, fail. You should force them to identify the problem, identify the weakness, improve the part and replace it at their cost....not just replace the bad part with another bad part. The part (s) cost between $400 and $500 +labor.

- Galveston, IN, USA

problem #24

Dec 062011

Ram 2500

  • 126,105 miles
There was an existing tsb on these year trucks stalling while turning well mine does it. This problem happens between 35-45 mph while braking in to a turn maneuver and stall leaving me with no steering or brakes. I feel this is very dangerous and needs to be addressed further with Chrysler/Dodge to be fixed.

- Owosso , MI, USA

problem #23

May 022011

Ram 2500

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that the multifunction switch would fail intermittently. The dealer and manufacturer were contacted but denied any assistance with repairs to the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 100,000 and the current mileage was 130,000.

- Winchendon, MA, USA

problem #22

Jun 152008

Ram 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
Right trailer light failed on a 2004 Dodge Ram 2500 with factory tow package while towing in 2007. This led to being rear ended while towing with my truck. Initially assumed it was a problem with the trailer. Following a deployment when I tried to rent a trailer uhaul determined there was a problem with my truck and a repair shop in Kansas determined the failure was resultant from the power distribution center part # 68005476aa (which is on national back order and has been for some time) in 2011. The failure is on going and as a result of the backorder for said part has not been resolved. Consequence is that I am unable to safely and legally tow with my Dodge Ram 2500 with a factory tow package. I have ordered the replacement part but have not received it.

- Fort Leavenworth, KS, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?