Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,426 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Ram 2500 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Ram 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Ram 2500 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #58

Jan 172016

Ram 2500

  • 80,917 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata inflator. I received your written notice. I E-mailed a reply on 7/15/16. So far on 1/16/17 I have not heard from either you folks or my local dealer about replacing the passenger side air bag. Are the proper air bags available to the local dealer in odgen Utah or near by dealer?

- Pleasant View,, UT, USA

problem #57

Dec 162015

Ram 2500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V313000 and 16V352000 (air bags). The part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available and parts distribution disconnect.

- Oakley, CA, USA

problem #56

Dec 172016

Ram 2500

  • miles
"takeaway recall" - permanent remedy for recall S43/nhtsa16V-352 passenger airbag inflators is taking entirely too long. No follow up contact since initial notice.

- Faucett, MO, USA

problem #55

May 242016

Ram 2500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

"takata recall" the notices regarding this recall state it should "remedy this defect without charge and within a reasonable time". who defines "reasonable"? I received the mailed notice of this S43/16V-352 on May 24, 2016 and I have been unable to use the truck on several trips I wished to take because of the uncertain situation. My truck has spent its entire live in Florida and is within the time frame where they state the inflator is most likely to rupture. I think waiting over 6 months is more than reasonable and I want to file a complaint against fca for this lack of action.

- Winter Haven, FL, USA

problem #54

Dec 062016

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Helena, AL, USA

problem #53

Dec 012016

Ram 2500

  • miles
In July 2016, I learned of airbag recall 16V352 through the dept of transportation recall notice program (have not yet been notified by Dodge). Have made 2 attempts since then to get the recall repair done. Today, I was told that parts are still not available. This is an important issue that could cause an accident if airbag accidentally deploys. The wait time to get this repaired is unacceptable.

- Mckinleyville, CA, USA

problem #52

Nov 042016

Ram 2500 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V313000 (air bags) and 16V352000 (air bags); however, the parts for the recall repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available and parts distribution disconnect. Updated 01/05/2017

- Alvn, TX, USA

problem #51

Oct 212016

Ram 2500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags); however, the part for the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Monmouth, OR, USA

problem #50

Oct 212016

Ram 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
I purchased the 2006 Dodge Ram 2500 mega cab in 2013 and almost immediately started receiving notices about an air bag recall, but that the parts were not available to fix the issue. It is now 2016 and I am still receiving notices that the parts are not available. I am seriously reluctant to let my wife and toddler ride with me until this problem is fixed. When will the parts be available for my Chrysler dealer to fix my truck?

- Bristol, ME, USA

problem #49

Jul 012016

Ram 2500

  • miles
Front passenger airbag inflator. This is a city vehicle that helps provide mosquito control services to the citizens of chesapeake, va. It's taking way too long for this part to be fixed.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #48

Jul 212016

Ram 2500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #47

Sep 202016

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V313000 (air bags) and 16V352000 (air bags); however, the parts for the recall repairs were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. Parts distribution disconnect and VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Hanford, CA, USA

problem #46

Oct 252015

Ram 2500

  • miles
"takata recall" we purchased our 2006 Dodge truck in October of 2015. We received a recall notice at the end of July 2016. At the time of purchase, dishman Dodge of spokane, Washington did not inform us of the defective airbags in this truck. In 2014, ntsa asked 10 car companies to recall 7.8 million vehicles because of this problem but only in 7 southern states, puerto rico and the U.S. virgin islands. True, the air bag propellant becomes more unstable over time and with hot or humid temperatures, but that is only a factor when the air bag deploys spontaneously or when the vehicle is involved in a minor fender bender and the bag should not be deploying in the first place. What about when a vehicle is involved in a moderate or major accident" why was that not considered when the recall first took place? why weren't drivers in the rest of the states notified too? accidents happen all the time. There are no available parts or replacements for these airbags so, if the takata air bag deploys in our vehicles for any reason, us, our loved ones, children, mothers, fathers are just out of luck I guess. When did Fiat -Chrysler find out about this problem? are any of you looking into the fact that many vehicles were sold to unsuspecting buyers, with full knowledge that these airbags were hazardous? I believe dishman Dodge of spokane had full knowledge of this when they sold us our truck but, they're not taking responsibility for it at all. Now I am stuck driving an unsafe vehicle. I won't allow anyone to ride in the passenger seat. I can't trade it or sell it because then I'd just be passing the hazard onto someone else, which is wrong. So who's going to help keep me and my family safe? who's going to help us? who's going to be responsible if someone gets hurt of killed because of this faulty airbag? will you only do what's right after more people are injured or die" help

- Tekoa, WA, USA

problem #45

Mar 012016

Ram 2500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V313000 (air bags) and 16V352000 (air bags). The parts were not available beyond a reasonable time frame so the contact was unable to determine when the vehicle would be repaired. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer provided a time frame for the repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Balersfield, CA, USA

problem #44

May 102016

Ram 2500

  • 176,830 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. After the vehicle was serviced per NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags), the technician stated that the air bag cover was fractured and needed to be replaced. The contact mentioned that the failure caused the horn to become inoperable. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 176,830. Updated 08/12/16

- New Iberia, LA, USA

problem #43

Jun 132016

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 08/30/16 updated 09/28/16.

- Graniteville, SC, USA

problem #42

Jun 102016

Ram 2500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Thomasville, NC, USA

problem #41

May 312015

Ram 2500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Brookline, MO, USA

problem #40

May 252015

Ram 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect....updated 04/12/16 the consumer stated the part finally arrived and the vehicle was repaired. Updated 04/13/16.

- Moundsville, WV, USA

problem #39

Mar 022016

Ram 2500

  • 128,000 miles
The contact owned a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 50 mph when suddenly a deer jumped onto the road, the vehicle was turned to the right in order to avoid the deer however, the contact crashed into a four feet deep ditch. The driver side air bag did not deploy but the passenger side air bag did deploy. The contact suffered head and body injuries. The contact had to spend fifteen hours in the hospital being treated and was released. The contact mentioned that a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) was received. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to the dealer. It was unknown if a police report was filed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 128,000.

- Bridport, VT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?