Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
68,094 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Ram 2500 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Ram 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Ram 2500 Owner Comments (Page 5 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #115

Mar 042013

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,572 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that the front tires wore prematurely due to a several parts that exceeded the weight specification. The dealer had to replace the front suspension assembly, hubs and the steering pitman arm to correct the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 38,572 and the current mileage was 40,923. Updated 05/19/14 updated 05/28/2014

- Paso Robles, CA, USA

problem #114

Sep 112013

Ram 2500

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that while driving 5 mph, a loud abnormal noise was heard from the vehicle as the power steering assist failed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where unknown repairs were made to the vehicle. The contact had also received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering) but was unable to have the vehicle repaired because the necessary parts were not available. Both the dealer and the manufacturer advised the contact that the part was unavailable for the recall repair. The approximate failure mileage was 68,000.

- Prescott, AZ, USA

problem #113

Jan 102014

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 95,000 miles
Received safety recall notice N62/NHTSA 13V-528 indicating a recall against my truck. Traveling in southwest us and contacted nearest dealership in las vegas Nevada. Dealership inspected my truck and determined my truck required the kit to fix the defect. The dealership did not have the kit and in fact was receiving only one kit per week from Dodge. And they had a waiting list of 60+ vehicles. Contacted the other local dealership with similar (50+ waiting list) results. Called Chrysler customer assistance per the recall notice. The agent called several cities along my planned travel and each Dodge dealer had the very same situation - 50 or more vehicles on the waiting list, with an expected delivery of only one kit per week from Chrysler. At this rate, it will take me a year to get a safety defect fixed. I am now on the waiting list at the Dodge dealer near my home and I am approximately number 58 on the waiting list. Problem: Sufficient repair kits are not available to correct the N62/NHTSA 13V-528 safety defect. And current kit delivery indicates this situation will exist for more than a year! my safety is at risk!

- Bremerton, WA, USA

problem #112

Feb 162014

Ram 2500

  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact was driving 20 mph when the passenger's side tire rod became fractured. The contact merged safely off roadway and temporarily repaired the vehicle in order to make it to an independent mechanic for inspection. The contact was informed that the ball joint became loose and the tire rod would need replacing. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the incident. The approximate failure mileage was 36,000.

- Logan, OH, USA

problem #111

Nov 122013

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated while driving approximately 55 mph, the steering wheel and front end of the vehicle began to shake violently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the four tires were rotated; however, the failure persisted. The vehicle was currently being diagnosed by an independent mechanic. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 29,000.... updated 03/24/14 the consumer while driving between 55-60 mph if he hit a slight bump in the roadway or approaching a bridge where the bridge pavement and the road pavement was grooved, the vehicle would shake violently to the point, he was unable to control the vehicle. Also, the consumer noticed power steering fluid leaking from the steering box. The consumer believed it was due to the violent shaking that the pitman arm and the stress put on the ball joints and steering rods. The steering wheel would shake in his hand. Updated 04/01/14

- St.Leonard , MD, USA

problem #110

Dec 012013

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that the tie rod was separating from the suspension. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V528000 (steering suspension) but was unable to have the vehicle service within a reasonable time frame. The local dealer was contacted and advised that the part was not available and that they were only receiving one recall part per week. The contact was placed on a waiting list. The failure mileage was not available. Updated 04/14/14 the consumer stated as of March 17th the dealership still did not have the necessary parts available to repair the vehicle. Updated 04/18/2014 updated 7/14/14 the consumer stated the issue was resolved. Updated 07/18/2014

- Crossville, TN, USA

problem #109

Nov 072012

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Dodge Ram 2500. Consumer writes in regards to front steering recall notice and requests reimbursement for repairs.

- San Luis Obispo, CA, USA

problem #108

Feb 032014

Ram 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
2006 Dodge Ram 2500. Consumer writes in regards to the tie rod ball stud recall notice. The consumer stated over the past several years, he experienced serious problems with the vehicle. When the consumer received the recall, he went online and discovered other recalls dating back to 2007, but no one informed him about them. The consumer stated the vehicle would severely shake, if the right series of bumps were in the road. It was known as the death wobble. After receiving the recall notice, he contacted his local dealer to make an appointment. However, the dealer stated the parts were not available. The consumer called a week later, and the dealer stated Chrysler was only sending parts, for one repair per week, and there were 500 people ahead of him, on the list.

- Roosevelt, UT, USA

problem #107

Oct 142013

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 82,837 miles
The vehicle was hard to steer for about 6 months before having it repaired at my local dealership on Oct 14, 2013. It would pull one direction or the other and it would shake and be uncontrollable. The dealer ship replaced the original parts with mopar steering linkage updated kit. This cost me $831.95 parts and labor, plus $15 shop materials charge. Now that I have received a recall notice NP62 / NHTSA 13V-528 from Chrysler in January 2014 stating that if I have had it replaced prior to the recall notice to send the original receipts and or other adequate proof of payment to the following address for reimbursement : Chrysler customer assistance, P.O.box 21-8007, auburn hills, mi 48321-8007 attention: Reimbursement. Once they receive and verify the required documents, reimbursement will be sent to you within 60 days. I did this and now they are saying they will not reimburse my money for the parts and labor. This vehicle has never been used for anything except a highway truck and has never been off road.

- Salida, CO, USA

problem #106

Oct 202010

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • 40,000 miles
Chrsyler recall N62 / NHTSA 13V-528 should be for all steering linkage, not just the left tie rod. All tie rod ends failed in my truck, not just the left tie rod. I have documentation and receipts for all of the failed parts.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #105

Jan 062014

Ram 2500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received NHTSA recall campaign id number 13V528000 (steering); however, the contact was unable to have the vehicle serviced under the recall because the part was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. There are no failures at this time.

- Conyers, GA, USA

problem #104

Dec 202013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V528000 (steering) however, the contact was unable to have the vehicle serviced under the recall because the required part was unavailable. The manufacturer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Canaan, CT, USA

problem #103

Jul 112012

Ram 2500

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that while driving approximately 3 mph and making a right turn, the steering wheel suddenly malfunctioned. The contact stated that the vehicle was diagnosed and repaired by an independent mechanic who indicated that the shaft was fractured. The contact stated that the steering box was replaced to repair the defect. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 65,000.

- Kings Beach, CA, USA

problem #102

Jan 132014

Ram 2500 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that he received NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering). The contact attempted to have the vehicle remedied but was informed that the parts were unavailable. The manufacturer was notified and confirmed the parts were not available for repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Maysville , WV, USA

problem #101

Jan 072014

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering) has surpassed a reasonable time for repair. The dealer stated that the parts would not become available for at least four months. The manufacturer was not contacted. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Salt Lake City, UT, USA

problem #100

Dec 152013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering) had surpassed a reasonable time for repair. The manufacturer and dealer were contacted and stated the parts were not available for repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Orient, WA, USA

problem #99

Jul 112013

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 175,000 miles
I was coming back from lunch cross a highway bridge on one side of the bridge had a rough spot when the truck hit it the truck started going from side to side could barely get it stop before headed off the road. What it was the right tie rod end came apart causing the tie rod to fall to the ground losing control of the steering could have been a bad crash for me.I did get a recall notice for the left side tie rod end but the right side I think both sides need to in the notice.it was a near miss for me!

- Darden , TN, USA

problem #98

Jan 062014

Ram 2500

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that while driving 5 mph, he heard an abnormal crackling sound. The contact exited the vehicle and noticed that the tie rod was lying on the ground. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection but the contact repaired the vehicle himself by replacing the tie rod. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 105,000.

- Gladstone, MI, USA

problem #97

Jan 132013

Ram 2500

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that while driving various speeds, the front driver's side tie rod fractured. The vehicle was towed to the contact's home. The vehicle was repaired by the contact. The contact received a recall notification under NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering) after he repaired the vehicle. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- 5765 Maple Grove Avenue, OH, USA

problem #96

Jan 022014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that he received a recall letter for NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering) and he considers that its a very serious safety issue that he has to wait for two weeks to get the repairs. The dealer was contacted who explained that the parts were on back order. The manufacturer was not made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure. The vehicle current mileage was 149,000.

- Gridley, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?