Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
78,250 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Dodge Ram 2500 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Dodge Ram 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Dodge Ram 2500 Owner Comments

problem #11

Apr 192014

Ram 2500

  • 54,829 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Failure to honor warranty. 2007 power wagon was advertised as lifetime powertrain limited warranty (attached). Purchased truck new from dealer 1/15/08. 7/18/13 dealer repaired leaking drive pinion oil seal covered by warranty. 10/18/13 transfer case malfunctions wont stay in 4X4 and pops into neutral when climbing hills off-road causing loss of power. Dealer refused to honor warranty. Said warranty coverage code 803 indicated I didn't have a free 5 year inspection of covered items. 4/19/14 rear differential lock light malfunctioning while driving on hwy. Dealer refused to honor warranty. Dealer claimed corporate notified me of required inspection. I asked for proof of notification and it couldn't be provided. I contacted Chrysler dispute resolution center and was told the dealer was supposed to inform me of the needed free inspection to continue lifetime warranty. I asked for proof that I had been notified and was told that I had no proof that I wasn't notified and that the lifetime warranty wouldn't be honored. Thousands of dollars in repairs now for items covered under lifetime warranty.

- Fairfield, CA, USA

problem #10

Jul 252015

Ram 2500 Diesel

  • Manual transmission
  • 78,650 miles
2000 miles ago as I was driving down the freeway the truck began to pull to the right and handled as if there was some broken linkage or steering box was failing. After inspecting and not finding anything wrong, I continued my trek home and couldn't comfortably go above 30 mph, it almost felt like half of the front axle was locked in 4WD. Searched online and saw that seized rear brake calipers are not uncommon so I replaced the rotors, calipers, and pads. Made several short trips and thought it was resolved. During a 1 hour drive the problem returned and I was unable to control vehicle and stopped to inspect. The brakes were not hot but the rear axle was binding badly, I limped the truck home, afraid to drive it again. As I have been doing research on the problem, the internet forums revealed many peoples stories about Dodge Ram axles "locking/seizing" while driving down the freeway causing accidents and roll-overs. Just thought you might want to look into it. Thanks, signed an immaculately cared for and broken Dodge Ram :( update 9/15/15 after replacing the rear calipers, pads and rotors the problem persisted. Pulled rear differential cover and inspected ring gear, pinion, spider gears and bearings. Everything is good. Finally after replacing all the rear brakes lines the problem was solved. Updated 09/29.15

- Kaysville, UT, USA

problem #9

Jan 152014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
Reference the below complaint, and others: Date complaint filed: 03/02/2015 component(s): Power train, suspension date of incident: 10/01/2014 NHTSA id number: 10691476 driving approximately 50 mph on winding two lane country road, while executing curve to right, after passing over a slight bump in the road, front suspension entered what is commonly called a " death wobble". steering quickly became ineffective, braking was diminished due to loss of firm contact between front tires and road surface. Wobble is regenerative in that it continues to get worse until vehicle speed is reduced to 15-20 mph. I was unable to precisely control direction of travel, crossing into oncoming lane before reducing speed enough to regain control. Vehicle shakes so bad as to dislodge items from the dash and console pockets. This event repeated several times at a particular spot on my way to work, where there was an irregularity in the roadway on a straight section of paved two lane road. Behavior was the same as described above. The last even was while pulling a twenty two foot trailer on a major interstate, while negotiating a right hand curve on a down hill merge lane at freeway speed of approximately 60-65 mph. Again I was unable to maintain my lane of travel and a crash would have resulted if any other traffic had been near me! definitely a safety issue! local dealership assured me a new steering damper would cure the problem. (it didn't) I eventually fixed the problem myself by researching what other owners had done online (there is a lot of info on this issue!), and replacing the pitman arm, drag link, tiered, and adding a steering shaft stiffening brace. The drag link, tiered and tiered ends were a mopar part kit. Much heavier construction than the original part. Response to a known issue? this issue makes the truck nearly un drivable.

- Coltons Point, MD, USA

problem #8

Oct 012014

Ram 2500

  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Ram 2500. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle experienced severe shaking on the front end and would lose steering control. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to diagnose the failure. Also, the vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that the gear box needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000.

- Wellsville , UT, USA

problem #7

Oct 212014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • 108,239 miles
The shift mechanism on the steering column for the transmission will shift into reverse without warning when putting transmission in drive park while the engine is running. Transmission shift detent does not keep the transmission in reverse but can unexpectedly shift into neutral from the reverse position.

- Lodi, CA, USA

problem #6

Feb 262014

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 96,300 miles
Updated from previous version. Driving through town, clear weather, good road conditions, luckily going only 25 mph, there was a grinding noise up front for two seconds then, all of a sudden, the front wheels locked up and the tires skidded approximately 5 feet. The engine remained running, the transmission shifted fine but the front wheels were locked and the truck would not move! the truck had to be dragged onto the tow truck. The Dodge dealership has deemed this a wear and tear incident, which I completely disagree with. Had I been going at highway speed, I am convinced I would have lost control and/or much more damage would have been done. The ring and pinion gear got so hot, they welded together, which caused the axle to seize and the wheels to lock up. Replacing the ring and pinion will cost $1,150. I also need a differential overhaul at a cost of $1,500. The grand repair total will be in the neighborhood of $2,650! when has there ever been a wear and tear repair that would cost that much" since when do wear and tear items get so hot that they weld themselves to each other" I just had the driveline serviced 6,000 miles prior to this! and before that at 60,000 miles. I keep my truck maintained to the book. It cannot be normal wear and tear! this truck is pampered and not used commercially nor never under extreme conditions above and beyond towing a 7500 pound camper. I'm afraid to continue driving it. I especially worry for my wife and teenage son if something this severe and abrupt should occur while they are driving it in the future! I feel like it will only be a matter of time before the rear differential does the same thing! something faulty had to occur either through defective materials or incorrect maintenance procedures performed by the dealership when I had the driveline serviced. But it's my word against theirs, impossible to prove.

- Berryville, VA, USA

problem #5

Feb 262014

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 96,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving through town, clear weather, good road conditions, luckily going only 25 mph, there was a grinding noise up front for two seconds then, all of a sudden, the front wheels locked up and the tires skidded approximately 5 feet. The engine remained running, the transmission shifted fine but the front wheels were locked and the truck would not move! the truck had to be dragged onto the tow truck. The Dodge dealership has deemed this a wear and tear incident, which I completely disagree with. Had I been going at highway speed, I am convinced I would have lost control and/or much more damage would have been done. They want $1,800 for this repair! I just had the driveline serviced 6,000 miles prior to this! and before that at 60,000 miles. I keep my truck maintained to the book. It cannot be normal wear and tear! this truck is pampered and not used commercially nor never under extreme conditions above and beyond towing a 7500 pound camper. They are essentially rebuilding the front differential! I'm almost afraid to continue driving it. I especially worry for my wife and teenage son if something this severe and abrupt should occur while they are driving it in the future!

- Berryville, VA, USA

problem #4

Sep 122011

Ram 2500

  • 59,436 miles
The contact wanted to use the following complaint that was emailed to NHTSA. Shift cable on 2007 Dodge Ram big horn edition comments: My husband and I recently had our Ram serviced the plastic yes plastic clamp holding the shift cable either broke or fell off the cable came to rest on the muffler the heat from the muffler burnt the cable and caused it to snap I feel this is a design flaw and a possible safety hazard what if this happened while my husband was driving? also a plastic clamp could easily break again and we would be subject to another costly repair I got in touch with Dodge and they will not assist I was told that there are a lot of plastic parts on vehicles I was also informed that the plastic clamp was damaged and therefore they could not help with a reimbursement I am angry now that Dodge basically wouldn't listen to my concerns so I decided to write NHTSA all I can say is if this happens again and my husband and/or I are hurt or worse as a result Dodge will be face a lawsuit just stating the facts. The failure mileage was 59,436.

- Twin Lake, MI, USA

problem #3

Jul 172010

Ram 2500

  • 70,000 miles
I was traveling a very curvy road to get to my destination. Time to get to destination was about 30 minutes. Once I got there, I parked, and got out of my 2007 Dodge Ram 2500 truck. The left rear wheel was smoking like it was on fire. The right rear wheel was smoking as well, but not as bad. This was the first time I'd seen this problem. I thought maybe I had been on the brakes too much going down the curvy road. I took the truck to the Dodge dealership service department to get it checked out. I was told my brakes were fine, that I had about 50% brake pad still left on the rear brakes. I told the service manager about the enormous amount of smoke I had when I parked the truck. They investigated and came back to tell me the rear seals were gone on the truck allowing the fluid to get on the brake pads. They said the fluid on the brakes pads was getting hot and this was causing the smoke. They also stated that I should not drive the truck with the rear seals gone because it could potentially cause me to have a fire. The truck only has 70,000 miles on it and the service rep told me it was not normal for the rear seals to fail like these have. The rear seals are not covered under any warranty and there is no recall, that I could find. The dealership wants $500 to replace the seals and the brake pads since they got wet. This is unsafe condition because of the potential for a fire caused by the rear seal failure. This failure should be investigated and Dodge recall and replace faulty rear seals for the consumers.

- Clanton, AL, USA

problem #2

Apr 142008

Ram 2500 Diesel

  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Ram 2500. The consumer stated the problem started a year ago with the turbo, and the check engine light coming on. Also the accelerator would open up to full throttle without any control, unless he cut the engine off. At times the gas pedal would not move at all. The rear brakes locked up and the ABS failed. The vehicle pulled to the right, due to the alignment being out of specification. The failure mileage was 12,000 and current mileage was 22,400. Updated 04-28-09 the transmission would not go into overdrive. There were times when the vehicle had to hunt for gears and the indicator would disappear on the dash. Updated 04/29/09.

- Port Saint Lucie, FL, USA

problem #1

Oct 312008

Ram 2500 Diesel

  • 45,000 miles
I have a 2007 Dodge Ram 2500 diesel 5.7. the engine caught fire on 10/31 for no apparent reason. We had noticed a funny noise in the engine but had taken it to the Dodge dealer and they did not find anything wrong with it. The day of the fire the check engine light came on and it started accelerating itself like if you had the vehicle on neutral but were hitting the gas petal all the way. Then my husband pulled over and while he was looking at the engine to see what was the problem sparks started coming out and then the entire engine caught fire and the my truck was deemed a total loss. I purchase it new in June 2007, there is no reason for this. We did regular maintenance on it.

- Bedford, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?