Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,873 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Ram 2500 Power Wagon accessories - exterior problems

accessories - exterior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Ram 2500 Power Wagon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Ram 2500 Power Wagon Owner Comments

problem #13

Mar 122013

Ram 2500 Power Wagon

  • 115,607 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that the air conditioner flap and the defroster failed. The contact stated that there was no cold or hot air blowing out of the vents. The contact was also unable to see out of the front windshield. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 115,607.

- San Miguel, CA, USA

problem #12

Jan 012013

Ram 2500 Power Wagon

  • 137,000 miles
Heater blower motor made noise and stopped working no defrost I under stand this common problem with this truck 1500,2500,3500 do to poor design and very expensive to fix no recall?

- Fishkill, NY, USA

problem #11

Apr 262012

Ram 2500 Power Wagon 4WD

  • 54,182 miles
I noticed my A/C was not blowing air out of the vents, along with a loud humming coming from the A/C motor. I discovered the recirculating air door broke and it was laying on top of the A/C fan motor blocking the air from coming out of the vents. I have read and heard of several complaints of this happening to many other Dodge owners. The cost is ridiculous to replace such an easy fix.

- Medford, OR, USA

problem #10

Mar 012012

Ram 2500 Power Wagon

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Letter from congressman dent on behalf of constituent re heater box failure in Dodge trucks the consumer stated the initial problem with the fresh air/recirculation door started 2-3 years ago. Shortly, after replacing the fresh air/recirculation door, the heat and defroster stopped working. The consumer tried to replace the control switch in the dash, thinking it was bad and not working the internal doors properly, but after the replacement, the problem remained the same. He then replaced the mode door actuators, and the motor control that controlled the doors. However, that did not resolve the problem either. The consumer went to the dealer where he was informed the entire dash would have to be removed, because the doors failed and a new heater box was needed...updated 04/19/12 updated 04/23/12

- Pottstown, PA, USA

problem #9

Jul 012011

Ram 2500 Power Wagon 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram. The contact stated that the flap under the dash board which operated the heater and air conditioner on the passenger side of the vehicle fractured, causing excess air to release into the vehicle. A local mechanic diagnosed that a hinge was fractured and would need to be replaced. The dealer told the contact that the plastic flap was discontinued and would need to be replaced with a metal flap. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 49,000 and the current mileage was 49,200. Malfunction of plastic sponge flap that allows cooled air to enter the pucals. The Dodge mechanical dept. Said this defective or broken part has now been replaced by one made of metal. I think this should be a recall and replaced at the expense of Dodge. The estimated repair cost is about. Updated 10/12/2011

- Gatesville, TX, USA

problem #8

Jan 202011

Ram 2500 Power Wagon 4WD 6-cyl

  • 97,000 miles
H.V.a.C. controls start to go out, then go out completely. The part that fails is the blend doors. This causes a loss of temperature control, directional, and or power control. When the H.V.a.C. is not working correctly, the windshield and side windows can fog up obstructing the driver's view. The whole problem is due to a plastic part working against a metal part, that causes failure of the plastic tabs.

- Racine, WI, USA

problem #7

Mar 152010

Ram 2500 Power Wagon

  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Unbearable noise and vibration comes from dash area when A/C or heater fan switch is turned on to the high position. Took truck to the dealership and they diagnosed it as the "blend door" being broken. Truck just went out of warranty so dealer wants approx $700 to fix the problem. With the blend door not working properly, this will cause the windows to fog excessively in the winter as the blower can not be turned on high to clear them. Additionally, summertime driving here in the South gets extremely hot and the A/C system will not cool properly on the low setting. Researched the problem on the internet and found this to be a common problem in that year model truck as the blend door is not engineered properly. The problem was cured in the 2007 model.

- Bossier City, LA, USA

problem #6

Apr 012010

Ram 2500 Power Wagon

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. While driving approximately 70 mph, the contact turned the air conditioner on and heard a loud vibrating noise from the instrument panel. The failure occurred whenever he turned the air conditioner on and was more pronounced when the blower was on the high setting. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the blend door was broken. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 35,000 and the current mileage was approximately 39,000.

- Bossier City, LA, USA

problem #5

Mar 012008

Ram 2500 Power Wagon

  • 38,000 miles
1)the ac / heater motor starting making a loud vibrating sound and very little air was coming from the vents. 2). the recirculation door which is located above the fan (in the duct) broke and fell on top of the blower fan. This door controls weather outside air is used or the air is recirculated throughout the vehicle. As a result the ac/heater and most importantly the defroster would not work. An internet search of this problem reveals many different Dodge years and models having the same problem. The part can be replaced by the dealership for a cost of approximately $700. The dash must be removed to replace the part. Most people (along with me) are removing the fan motor and simple removing the recirculation door altogether which is a cheap semi-fix. One blog website can be seen at autoforum.classifieds1000.com/Dodge-1500_pickup/A_C_fan_noise_excessive_A_C_air_flow_reduced?pg=5. 3). The part has not been replaced, the dealer will not do anything outside of warranty. The defroster now works after removing the door, but the ac system is not working as designed. As a result of not being able to recirculate the air, my compressor clutch (which you have to replace the whole compressor) went out due to over working of the system. This is a major safety concern if the door breaks and falls on the motor. The fan can rub on the door which can get hot and catch the truck on fire and/or the defroster will not work and the windows can fog up causing an accident.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #4

Apr 162010

Ram 2500 Power Wagon

  • 75,000 miles
Outsider air door/flap in the A/C system on my 2006 Dodge Ram pickup is broken which prevents air flow to the cabin. I removed the broken door flap, but now am unable to shut off outside air flow. This is dangerous to my family's health since I am unable to prevent outside exhaust fumes from entering the inside of the truck. Apparently this is common on all Dodge Ram trucks in this make/model. Replacing the flap requires removing the entire dash and is very costly to have done by the dealer. Likewise, people have had it replaced multiple times and it continues to break. The design is very poor - made of plastic and the hinge can easily break. It needs to be redesigned and recalled by the dealer.

- Georgetown, TX, USA

problem #3

Dec 202009

Ram 2500 Power Wagon

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contacted stated that the heat, air conditioner and defrost system failed to operate. The windows became foggy causing limited visibility. The dealer stated that the hinge was broken. The technician was unable to repair the vehicle. The current mileage was 66,000. The failure mileage was 55,000.

- Pine Valley, CA, USA

problem #2

Mar 152008

Ram 2500 Power Wagon 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles
I purchased a $34,000 Dodge 2500 diesel pickup around August of 06, 16 months later the heater defroster, and all heater controls as well as air conditioner controls stopped working. Chrysler knows of this problem, because they have sent out flyers to all their mechanics and have available a kit that is supposed to fix the problem. Without a defroster it's pretty nerve racking to drive this vehicle. But if Chrysler can get out of the recall and charge the consumer $861 to fix their problem they are way ahead of the game. I have talked to many, many people with the same problem so its not an isolated situation. Chrysler will not even talk to you about the problem.

- Hickman, CA, USA

problem #1

Jul 132006

Ram 2500 Power Wagon 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,559 miles
Intermittent climate control (HVAC) operation, poor air conditioning performance not cooling interior. After four attempts to fix a part has been on order from daimler Chrysler since 07/14/06. The part has never arrived at the servicing dealership or do they know when it will arrive. The climate control system is non-operation and has no air movement from any vent on any setting. Two weeks I ago I had to drive the truck to work without the defroster working. I had to pull over several times to wipe the windshield with a towel so I could see to drive. A written complaint letter was sent to D.Chrysler on 05/23/06 stating the problems I have had, no resolution so far. I have now gone over 30 days without a functioning climate control system. No help from D.Chrysler or the three dealers that have worked on the truck. Vehicle: 2006 Dodge Ram/mega cab, VIN#[xxx]. updated 07/12/2012 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Modesto, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?