Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
68,094 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Ram 2500 Power Wagon steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Ram 2500 Power Wagon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Ram 2500 Power Wagon Owner Comments (Page 2 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #175

Feb 052015

Ram 2500 Power Wagon

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that the front end of the vehicle vibrated and a popping noise was heard from the steering wheel. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering), but the contact did not receive a recall notice. However, the contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags). The dealer stated that the part was not available to schedule the recall repair within a reasonable timeframe. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was not available.

- Lexington, OK, USA

problem #174

Dec 052014

Ram 2500 Power Wagon

  • 142,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that while driving at 2 mph, the steering wheel seized. In addition, the contact heard a noise coming from the front of the vehicle. Upon further inspection, the contact noticed that the tie rod on the front driver's side had fractured. The vehicle was towed to a mechanic, who diagnosed that the tie rod, front left wheel bearing assembly and the front left upper ball joint needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. After the vehicle was repaired, the contact heard a noise coming from the steering wheel. The vehicle was taken to another mechanic who diagnosed that the tie rods needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering). However, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 142,000.

- Columbia Falls, MT, USA

problem #173

Feb 282014

Ram 2500 Power Wagon 4WD 6-cyl

  • 271,500 miles
Driving at a speed over 55 mph and hitting a bump or pot hole my truck starts to shake and my steering wheel shakes back and forth very fast and uncontrollable until I slow down below 35 mph. I have heard this called the death wobble and I see how it got its name, if a solution isn't found soon one of these times I may not be able to slow down safely and kill some one in an accident or myself.

- Medina, OH, USA

problem #172

Mar 112014

Ram 2500 Power Wagon 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My truck has what is know as "death wobble" at certain hwy speeds the truck shakes violently, you have to slow down or you will lose control.

- Winston-Salem, NC, USA

problem #171

Mar 012015

Ram 2500 Power Wagon

  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. While driving approximately 20 mph, there was a complete loss of steering. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road and then towed to the residence. The contact was a certified mechanic, who informed that the steering gear box shaft fractured. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 63,000.

- Gainesville, GA, USA

problem #170

Mar 312014

Ram 2500 Power Wagon 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
Have received two recalls. Went to ashland Virginia dealer at least seven months ago and verified my truck needed to get repaired. The service desk put my information in the computer and said I would be notified when parts available. I have been back several times and they still haven't gotten the parts. I am extremely disappointed that nothing has been done. Every time I haul my horses I worry about the steering. Please let me know if you can help [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Ashland, VA, USA

problem #169

Jan 202015

Ram 2500 Power Wagon 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign numbers: 09E001000 (steering) and 13V528000 (steering). The parts needed were unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 03/30/15 updated 6/22/2015

- Kalispell , MT, USA

problem #168

May 282014

Ram 2500 Power Wagon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware O F the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Whales, MA, USA

problem #167

Oct 162014

Ram 2500 Power Wagon 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
2006 Dodge Ram. Consumer had car repaired and would like reimbursement, due to recall. The consumer stated the left tie rod separated, while driving on the highway. Recall # 13V528000.

- Soldotna, AK, USA

problem #166

Oct 242014

Ram 2500 Power Wagon

  • 131,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that recall NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering) had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated the parts were not available for repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. In addition, the contact mentioned that during a routine maintenance the technician informed the contact that both tie rods and ball joints had prematurely worn. As a result, the tie rod and balls joints would need to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 131,000.

- Payallup, WA, USA

problem #165

Jul 062014

Ram 2500 Power Wagon

  • 72,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph, the steering wheel seized. As a result, the contact crashed into a fire hydrant and the air bags failed to deploy. The contact stated that the failure could have been directly related to a notice he received for NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering).the contact sustained shoulder and chest injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to the contact's home. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 72,600.

- Fairburn, GA, USA

problem #164

Nov 032014

Ram 2500 Power Wagon 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
2006 Dodge Ram 2500. Consumer writes in regards to NHTSA recall #13V528.* ld the consumer stated the dealer refused to honor the recall. The dealer informed the consumer, the recall did not apply to her vehicle.

- Clinton, MD, USA

problem #163

Oct 152014

Ram 2500 Power Wagon 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Failure to complete recall notice N62 / NHTSA 13V-528 dated December 2013.

- Buford, GA, USA

problem #162

Feb 042014

Ram 2500 Power Wagon 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V52000 (steering); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 12/2/14 updated 01/08/15

- Penn Valley , CA, USA

problem #161

Jan 072013

Ram 2500 Power Wagon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering). The contact waited for nine months, but the dealer continued to state that the part was not available to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #160

Sep 122014

Ram 2500 Power Wagon

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated while driving 20 mph, the front passenger outer tie rod fractured. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was included in recall NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering). The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 98,000.

- Hawthorn Woods, IL, USA

problem #159

Aug 302013

Ram 2500 Power Wagon 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering). The dealer could not repair the vehicle for eight months because the parts were not available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 10/23/2014 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired on 9/24/14. Updated 4/22/15

- Blooming Grove, NY, USA

problem #158

Jan 062014

Ram 2500 Power Wagon 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
We have received 3 recall notices about the left tie rod ball fracturing on our truck. We have had it inspected by the dealer and it is one of the vehicles affected. We have been told repeatedly that we are on the waiting list but we are 9 months out from the recall and still have no time frame of repair. We use our truck frequently as our daughter competes in high school rodeo. We have several long trips coming up and are a bit concerned for our safety on the road. We would greatly appreciate any help in getting our vehicle repaired asap.

- Westmoreland, KS, USA

problem #157

Aug 012014

Ram 2500 Power Wagon

  • 250,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that the steering wheel made a popping sound when turned. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 250,000.

- Tifton, GA, USA

problem #156

May 282014

Ram 2500 Power Wagon 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
2006 Dodge Ram 2500. Consumer requests reimbursement for power steering pump recall repairs. Consumer has a different vehicle complaint listed in artemis. The steering linkage and pitman arm were replaced. Also, the upper and lower ball joints were replaced. The consumer referenced recall # 13V528000.

- Tacoma, WA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?