Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,345 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Dodge Ram 3500 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Dodge Ram 3500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Dodge Ram 3500 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #12

Nov 112012

Ram 3500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 151,849 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought this 2004 Dodge 3500 Ram truck used in May 2011. I was driving my 2004 Dodge 3500 Ram truck in town when the left tie rod stud broke. I was stopped at a stop sign 1/2 block from my home and as I started out and turned right the tie rod stud broke. This occurred November 11, 2012. I had my vehicle towed to my home using my aaa wrecker service. There is no Chrysler-Dodge dealership in the town where I live, so I went to the local auto parts store to get the new left tie rod. The parts store did not have a tie rod for my vehicle and the counter person called the parts department at lithia Chrysler Dodge in billings, mt and ordered a new left tie rod, (mopar part no.68038054ad). I received the left tie rod on November 12, 2012 for which I paid $131.07 for which I have the receipt. I installed the new mopar tie rod and set the toe-in. I still have the broken left tie rod. On Jan 15, 2014, I received the N62 recall notice for the left tie rod stud may fracture and the recall notice also stated my vehicle needed H46 done. I could find no history of the left tie rod being replaced, prior to the new one I put on myself, so I assume the tie rod was original from the factory. I did file a claim with Chrysler (case #24530878), but they denied the claim because I could not prove the broken tie rod had been replaced with a mopar part. My concern is why the tie rod broke and if that means the factory tie rods are defective. I had recalls L16/H46/N62 completed on February 26, 2014. The dealership replaced all the steering linkage and the left tie rod assembly.

- Hardin, MT, USA

problem #11

Jan 022014

Ram 3500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 96,660 miles
Billion Dodge in bozeman, mt replaced three components (steering, damper and arm) on January 2, 2014. Last week I received a recall notice for the replacement parts from Dodge. This morning, the service department at billion Dodge inspected the replacement parts and decided a replacement is necessary. However, I was informed that the replacement part(s) will not be available until July of 2015. I contacted Chrysler and was informed that the replacement part(s) are not available. (1) the dealer installed the defective part(s) after a recall had been issued. This is not acceptable. (2) we may be able to have the part(s) replaced with part(s) from another manufacturer, but must pay for the parts and labor ourselves. This is not acceptable.

- Bozeman, MT, USA

problem #10

Dec 312013

Ram 3500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering) surpassed a reasonable time for repair. Both the dealer and the manufacturer were contacted. The manufacturer stated that the part was not available for repair.

- Niantic, CT, USA

problem #9

Nov 132013

Ram 3500

  • 86,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This has happened before back in 2010 and I put an extra stabilizer on the front and upper and lower ball joints and a few more pieces all made by moog but the front end still shakes almost uncontrollable and I have to slow down real fast before I cause an accident I'm afraid it's going to make me wreck

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #8

Dec 082011

Ram 3500

  • 83,698 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 3500 hd. The contact stated that the vehicle was parked in a residential driveway when power steering fluid began leaking. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where the mechanic confirmed that the power steering pump needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and the vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 83,698 and the current mileage was 83,806.

- Hamburg, AR, USA

problem #7

May 302011

Ram 3500

  • 65,800 miles
In December 2009 I was involved in an accident in my 2004 3500 Dodge Ram while on my way to work. It was hit in the driver's side front tire which caused front suspension damage. The truck was not drivable. I called aaa and had it towed to telegraph Chrysler Jeep and that's where I had the repairs done. The damage was quite extensive and most (if not all) of the front steering components were replaced. The truck only had 63,285 miles on it at the time. On Monday, May 30th 2011(memorial day) my wife was backing my truck into the driveway when the left outer tie rod broke and left the truck blocking the street. I was able to move the truck into my driveway by jacking it up and straightening the tire and continuing to do so every few feet until it was clear of the road. If this would have happened less than 24 hrs earlier it would have broke while I was towing a friends Chevy van down I-75 at 70 mph! I had it towed to telegraph Chrysler Jeep because I knew that they had replaced that tie rod less than 3000 miles ago from the accident claim. They told me the part was out of warranty to call Chrysler directly. They also told me that they couldn┐T sell me the part because Chrysler's policy on this was they had to sell me the entire front steering component package and it would cost me over $600! after a dozen or two phone calls back and forth to my employer (yes I work for these ingrates!) they told me there was nothing they could do. After not being able to purchase the part I needed from the dealer and not able to find the part at a local parts store I done some research and found they replaced the 2004 steering parts with 2008 components and this was supposed to be an upgrade!? I finally found the part I needed and since aaa wouldn┐T tow it back home I had to fix it myself in their parking lot! my trucks extended warranty expired the week before the tie rod broke and they pretty much said tough[xxx]! that's how not to get your employees to┐ buy what you build"! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Taylor, MI, USA

problem #6

Nov 012010

Ram 3500

  • 101,270 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dodge 2004 3500 pickup. 100,000 miles has developed "death wobble". front end shakes extremely violently when truck hits a bump above 65 mph> have replaced ball joints, tie rod ends and steering dampener with no success.

- Goodrich, MI, USA

problem #5

Jul 162010

Ram 3500

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact stated when driving over a bump at speeds of 50 mph and above, the vehicle would shake violently and the vehicle would become very difficult to steer. The contact stated he would have to brake to a full stop to prevent the failure. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer but the dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure persisted whenever the contact was driving above 50 mph over a bumpy road surface. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 150,000 and the current mileage was 178,000.

- Currie, NC, USA

problem #4

May 292010

Ram 3500 4WD

  • 123,000 miles
My 2004 Dodge 3500 4X4 has a front end problem...it shakes uncontrollably when it hits a series of bumps in the road at or above 45mph. I have replaced the steering stabilizer and the front shocks to only have it get worse. It happens enough now that I don't dare go above 60 mph for fear of crashing the truck or hitting somebody else. It gets even worse when I pull my trailer.

- Dripping Springs, TX, USA

problem #3

Apr 092010

Ram 3500 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
Rm 3500 4X4 long bed quad cab. I have a stock truck. Tie rod ends are shot, steering gear box is shot, ball joints need to be replaced but now fall in the "limits" that Dodge decided to extend the measurements. My truck is a 2004 with only 106,000 highway miles. My friend has the same truck but dually 05 and has 62,000 miles and has to replace the same thing other than his steering gear box for now. Cost for me to repair with labor is $1300 how can parts go out this quick is beyond me. I have owned every truck and never had I needed to replace these kind of parts with low miles.

- Redding, CA, USA

problem #2

Sep 012007

Ram 3500

  • 50,000 miles
Turn signal not showing correct direction or not working at all. Wet weather may have something to do with it. Tilt steering wheel usually affects the situation.

- Raytown, MO, USA

problem #1

May 092007

Ram 3500 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,205 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 3500. While driving 20 mph, the steering failed and the contact lost control of the vehicle and drove into a ditch. The failure occurred on May 9, 2007 and without warning. A Chrysler customer call center representative returned his call; however, they were unable to assist him since the vehicle was removed from the scene of the crash. The contact received the parts from the dealer to repair the vehicle. The service manager stated that changes were made to the parts needed to repair the steering failure; however, the original parts were used to perform the repair. The VIN was confirmed with the owner; however, it was unable to be verified by the system. The current mileage is 68,700 and failure mileage was 68,205.

- Amorita , OK, USA

Not what you are looking for?