Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,345 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Dodge Ram 3500 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Dodge Ram 3500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Dodge Ram 3500 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #32

Jun 152015

Ram 3500

  • 115,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

"tamara recall". driving down road hit a slight bump got the death wobble and had to slow down to 30mph or lower to get it back under control on the freeway. Have had the front end rebuilt 3 times by professionals and now doing it again or still.

- Ridgefield, WA, USA

problem #31

Dec 132013

Ram 3500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V770000 (air bags), 15V313000 (air bags), 13V528000 (steering) and indicated that the parts were not available to receive the recall repairs for an extended period of time which was unreasonable. The manufacturer was unable to determine when the parts would be shipped to the dealer. The contact was still unable to determine when the vehicle would be repaired. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Bronte, TX, USA

problem #30

Sep 232015

Ram 3500

  • 53,809 miles
When driving on the highway I hit a series of bumps at 60 mph and my truck began to shake violently. I then had to slow down to 30mph to regain control.

- Orrville, OH, USA

problem #29

Mar 152015

Ram 3500 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 13V528000 (steering), 14V770000 (air bags), and 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 11/18/15 updated 2/10/16

- Bronte, TX, USA

problem #28

Nov 062013

Ram 3500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V313000 (air bags) and 13V258000 (steering); however, the parts needed to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Richfield, OH, USA

problem #27

Jan 092013

Ram 3500

  • 76,591 miles
I have had a vibration and "death wobble" on my truck since I purchased it. It has been to two different Chrysler dealers for a total of 5 or 6 times without resolution of the issue. The issue is two fold, one is when I hit a large bump at speeds greater than 45 mph the steering wheel shakes violently, and the other this speeds over 60 mph there is a vibration. I have spoken to Chrysler about the issues about a year or so ago. They tried to offer buy back because the issue could not be resolved, but then told me I was not qualified because I was the second owner. I also had to have the steering gear box replaced under warranty, and they replaced all the tie-rod ends ect. The issues is still the same without resolution. Now my warranty is up, and the truck still has this potential dangers issues and I have no where to go. Anytime I have the truck looked at now it cost me a lot of money. My truck has recall 13V-528 and 09E-001 which relate to these issues. The truck was inspected, but they did not fix anything.

- Kellogg, IA, USA

problem #26

Jun 052009

Ram 3500

  • 93,819 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Truck was purchased June 2,2009. Started having injector/lift pump problems. Scheduled appt for diagnostic for 6/5/2009. Did not fix that problem and the truck was still in warranty. Performed recall H46 for tie rod end and then the problems began. Demon shake periodically at 50+ mph. Was told nothing could be done about it. Brought truck back in for injector/ lift pump problem again, now the truck was out of warranty and surprisingly needed thousands of dollars in repair. We had to foot the bill. Demon shake continues getting worse to this day. Has been looked at again and was told there is no fix. Fortunately, no one has yet been hurt. You never know when it is going to occur. Today, I see a buy back and my truck is not on it... I have had the same problem since purchase. Why should my safety not be as important as a newer truck owner?

- Leetonia, OH, USA

problem #25

Jan 202015

Ram 3500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Culver, IN, USA

problem #24

Mar 102015

Ram 3500

  • 122,345 miles
Hit a pot hole and the entire steering system began to shake violently. Could not control vehicle steering while it was shaking.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #23

Feb 192015

Ram 3500

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 3500. While driving approximately 25 mph and making a turn, the steering and brakes seized. As a result, the gear box split in half. The vehicle was driven to the contact's residence. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 82,000. Updated 6/18/15

- Galveston , TX, USA

problem #22

Feb 092015

Ram 3500 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V770000 (air bags), 14817000 (air bags) and 13V528000 (steering) and stated that the parts needed were unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 03/30/15 updated 6/22/2015

- Monticello , GA, USA

problem #21

Dec 222014

Ram 3500

  • 185,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 65 mph, the vehicle shook violently without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering unit needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 185,000.

- West Pointe, UT, USA

problem #20

Jan 202015

Ram 3500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tusan, AZ, USA

problem #19

Sep 172014

Ram 3500 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Truck started to have severe drivability problems with the front end. Had received a recall notice for both the steering linkage and left ball joint. Took into dealer who performed the physical inspection. Was told that our vehicle was not part of the recall due to configuration but the whole front end need to be replaced and all parts needed where exactly the parts under the recall if our truck had the configuration covered by the recall. We were faced with paying for the repairs base on some technicality that somehow our configuration excluded us from the safety hazard which caused the recall. We do not feel it is a coincidence that the repair needed were exactly the now that were under the recall but our truck was not part of the recall. Our opinion is the recall is too narrow and the safety issue is broader than how it is set up now.

- Oceanside, CA, USA

problem #18

Aug 152014

Ram 3500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Stuttgart, AR, USA

problem #17

Dec 112013

Ram 3500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V528000 (steering) however, the part to do the repairs was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Anderson, CA, USA

problem #16

Jul 012014

Ram 3500 4WD 6-cyl

  • 254,000 miles
Since this truck was new it would shake violently in the front end when you hit a slight bump at 60 mph changed everything in front end and added steering dampener recommended by dealer. Does it more often now. We have named it the death rattle.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #15

Jan 082014

Ram 3500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number:13V528000 (steering) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- Evergreen, CO, USA

problem #14

Jan 012014

Ram 3500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering) had surpassed reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated the parts were not available and that the manufacturer was only receiving one repair kit per week. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Alexandria, AL, USA

problem #13

May 012014

Ram 3500

  • 100,000 miles
Traveling 55 mph, truck hit a small bump. Truck started to shake violently left and right, could not control it. Started to pull off road when hit a wall due to steering. No way to control this truck. Has been maintained form Dodge always. Stay away from these trucks. Very dangerous.

- Henderson, NV, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?