Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
87,275 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Ram 3500 suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Ram 3500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Ram 3500 Owner Comments

problem #12

May 192016

Ram 3500

  • 240,199 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Known as death wobble. My wife and I were driving interstate 35 North to Minnesota. We had crossed a bridge and the highway was rough. The wobble started immediately and I could not control the steering. I hit the brakes right away since this has happened before. Had to get down to 10 mph + before it stopped. Had it happened going on to the bridge, we would have hit the side rail.

- Ellsworth, IA, USA

problem #11

Dec 282006

Ram 3500

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact stated that while the driver was driving at approximately 45 mph and passing a truck, the front end of the vehicle began to violently shake and vibrate. A slight turn was made and the driver lost control of the vehicle causing the vehicle to crash into the truck. The driver suffered neck, arm and knee injuries but it was unknown if medical attention was required. A police report was filed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the ball joints and linkage were replaced but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 30,000.

- Danialsville, PA, USA

problem #10

Dec 202014

Ram 3500

  • 157,000 miles
After having the entire front end and steering to include axles and bearings replaced, once. Tie rods under recall, twice, replaced tie rods on own, twice, all 4 ball joints replaced 3 times, I experienced a violent front end shake on 20 Dec 2014 doing 50-55 mph on the high way. The latest recall was for the left outer tie rod, replaced in Feb 2014. Towed my truck and found the left outer tie rod to be defective yet again! all the numerous front end repairs have taken place between March 2009 - present date as the truck is in the shop yet again for a several hundred dollar repair!

- Clinton, IN, USA

problem #9

Apr 212011

Ram 3500

  • 61,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact stated that the ball joints and the tie rod ends became detached from the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 61,000 and current mileage was approximately 73,771.

- Southburry, CT, USA

problem #8

Jan 062014

Ram 3500 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
I received recall N62 for my Ram 3500. I took the truck into the local dealer in early January 2013 and they performed the visual check and confirmed my truck needed to have the tie rods replaced. I was placed on a waiting list and was told I would be called when the part came in. A month later I called back and they said they still didn't have the part and that they were only receiving one part per week from Dodge to be used on the recalls. Last week I had my truck at my mechanic for some other work and he told me that he can call up to the same dealer and get the parts in the same day so he didn't understand what the problem was. Today, March 18, and I called the dealer again. This time they told me that Dodge had cancelled the recall and that a new recall notice would be sent out. It is obvious that Dodge and my local dealer are not taking this recall seriously. I'm tired of getting the run around and want this fixed asap!

- Chappell Hill, TX, USA

problem #7

Aug 312012

Ram 3500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 145,000 miles
While driving at speeds of 45 and above while you are going around a slight corner and hit a slight bump in the road the vehicle begins violently shaking. You have to stop in the road to get it to stop shaking. It is exstremely frightening.

- Ford, WA, USA

problem #6

Nov 152011

Ram 3500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When driving the truck at speeds above 45mph and you hit a slight bump in the road the truck shakes so violently you could be bounced right off the road if you don't slam on your brakes and get the truck under 25mph. Once under 25mph the truck stops shaking enough to control it and returns to normal. This has happened to me approximately 10 times from around 80000 miles to 83000 miles, so far. Have had the truck checked by local Dodge dealer and everything looks ok. Have been told to replace traction bars under front end by other Dodge truck owners. I believe this is a manufactures problem and they should be fixing the problem for free. Until that happens I guess I will have to fix it myself.

- Cusick, WA, USA

problem #5

Apr 012012

Ram 3500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • 142,000 miles
Re: my 2005 Dodge 3500 laramie dually - diesel truck. The tie rod ball stud fractured/tie rod assembly failed on my vehicle when I was backing up out of a parking space and made a tight turn to the left and then as I attempted to straighten my wheels no longer had any steering. If this would have happened 5 minutes later I would have been on a major freeway and crashed at 55-60 mph due to loss of steering. Dodge in bellevue Washington is refusing to have Chrysler pay the recall repair. They tried to tell Chrysler that this was a maintenance issue. I disagree. It is plastered all over the internet that this is a common problem. 2003-2011 Dodge Ram 2500/3500 vehicles. I do not believe that Chrysler has reached out to their customers with recall notices to protect their customer's driving safety. Myself and others I know in the equestrian community have not received recall notices for their vehicles which qualify under the recall years. Someone needs to make Chrysler responsible for correcting these problems and not holding individuals accountable for the repair expense. This not only effects individual's driving safety; but horses that could be hauled behind the 2500/3500 models and this failure occurring. I hope that a major fatality effecting humans and animals does not have to happen in order for an immediate correction and accountability of Chrysler.

- Issaquah, WA, USA

problem #4

May 162009

Ram 3500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 3500 quad cab 4X4 lwb. While driving approximately 50-65 mph, the front end of the vehicle began to shake violently. The contact maneuvered the vehicle to the side of the road and then continued in operation. The failure occurred numerous times and the vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnosis where the contact was awaiting the replacement of the steering box. The failure mileage was 41,000. Updated 04/25/11 updated 04/27/11

- Cave Creek , AZ, USA

problem #3

Apr 092009

Ram 3500 5-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,099 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 3500. While driving approximately between 2- 5 mph in reverse, the contact heard a loud popping noise outside of the vehicle, followed by a sudden loss of steering. The contact was able to regain control of the steering and drove to an authorized dealer where the steering linkage and damper were replaced under the recall 07E009000 (suspension). The failure occurred again two years later. The vehicle was in the process of being repaired by an independent mechanic. The failure mileage was 81,099 updated 3/22/11 the consumer stated when he turned the steering wheel, there was a loud noise. He discovered the tie rod end snapped in half. Updated 04/27/11

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #2

May 022010

Ram 3500

  • miles
I have a 05 Dodge Ram and I snapped my axle for the second time! the first time I did it I slid into a curb and snapped the end of my axle clean off with the whole brake system still attached to rim and tire which was completely intact. All hit had damaged on it was a scratch on the rim. I thought it was a freak accident so I took care of it myself and purchased the same exact axle. A couple weeks ago I was driving on a flat dirt road at about thirty miles per hour when a coyote ran out in front of me. To Dodge it I swirved into a dry up mud rut which is usually no big deal to drive into but when I went into it my truck quickly turned sideways then whipped me back around in the direction I was heading in. I got out of my truck and saw that my driver side wheel ripped completely off! I went around to the passenger side and saw that my axle was snapped in the exact same way that I did it the first time! like somebody cut it off with a knife! I was furious to see this so that next weed I called Dodge and complained because one time is a freak accident but two. The man told me he has never heard of an axle breaking and that is not suppose to happen and my warranty should cover it. Dodge sent out a warranty adjuster to look at my vehicle and after that I got a letter in the mail saying that they will not warranty it becauce the damage was do to impact. I researched the web and found daimlerchryslervehicleproblems.com and saw alot of bad info on Chrysler vehicles. I even saw a video of my exact same truck with its axle snapped just like mine was! I also read that Dodge has problems with there axles shearing/hubs seperating causing wheels to fall off! Chrysler lied to me saying that they've never heard of axles braking when it clearly shows on that website that they have this problem and do nothing about and refuse to fix there broken products. These vehicles are dangerous and something needs to be done about. Its been a month and my knee is still swollen.

- Mountain Home, ID, USA

problem #1

Feb 052009

Ram 3500

  • 70,000 miles
Ball joint fail, minor tire wear and then the wheel can fall off, upon inspection, jacked up front wheel and it fell off could have been bad deal.

- Warrenton, MO, USA

Not what you are looking for?