Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

1.9

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
86,890 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Ram 3500 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Ram 3500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Ram 3500 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #31

Sep 022012

Ram 3500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 1,004,018 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving down the road while it was raining and windshield wiper just stop working had 30 mile to get home without windshield wipers. Had two kids in the car. I work for the fire dept and need my truck. Took it to the dealer to find out it was the tipm and there was no quick fix and that they fail all the time. Cost is over a 1000. Bucks.

- Lovettsville , VA, USA

problem #30

Jul 052012

Ram 3500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 48,500 miles
Runaway acceleration first time on onramp, hit cruise resume, once the speed hit setpoint - throttle went wide open. Second time 7/5/2012 - not on cruise, doing about 65-70 on highway, passing - then throttle went wide open to 90 in next 3-4 seconds. To stop it - shifted to neutral, engine revved to 3500, pulled over and shut down the engine, waited a minute, restarted, then vehicle immediately returned to redline. Shut down, 5 minutes, on restart, got normal idle ~700rpm. Took to Dodge dealer hw hunter in lancaster California on July 9. they kept the vehicle all of the 9th, 10th and half of the 11th. Their ran diagnostics for 2 1/2 days to duplicate. They said they could do nothing else (ran all possible tests). Drove to Alaska from California without incident. Now happened again. 7/24/12 in Alaska to stop, [xxx] left car in gear and turned off the engine) and slowed with the brakes (eilson afb) after 1 minute off - restart and redlined. After 5 minutes off, restarted and got normal operation. This is ridiculously dangerous, and there are numerous posts on forums with others experiencing the same problem www.dieseltruckresource.com/dev/2006-2500-diesel-speed-runaway-T288211.html www.cumminsforum.com/forum/3rd-gen-non-powertrain/403179-2006-5-9-wants-run-away-throttle.html. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Leona Valley, CA, USA

problem #29

Feb 012012

Ram 3500

  • 109,000 miles
The Ram 1500 had a failure of the tipm that controls the head lights leaving the truck with inadequate illumination.

- Mystic, CT, USA

problem #28

Apr 082012

Ram 3500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 125,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving I heard a popping sound followed by smoke, burning plastic electrical fire smell, pulled over and found the orange wire next to the 100 pin power distribution block under the dashboard smoking. Upon further investigation I found that the harness rests against the metal emergency brake cable holder and had chaffed through, as well as the blue wire next to it. This orange wire is a constant hot and had began to ground itself out on the bracket. I had electrical tape with me and I have taped it up as a temporary fix to keep the truck from catching fire.

- Richmond Hill, GA, USA

problem #27

Mar 272008

Ram 3500

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact was driving approximately 45 mph and the entire instrument panel failed to operate. The failure occurred intermittently. In addition, the headlights would not illuminate whenever activated. The vehicle was taken an independent mechanic, who stated that the driver's side battery fuse panel and the multifunction mechanism would need to be replaced. The trailer plug wiring harness was faulty. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 30,000.

- Wading River , NY, USA

problem #26

Jul 012011

Ram 3500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact stated that he activated the left turn signal but the right turn signal illuminated erroneously. In addition, when the headlights or high beam lights were activated, the windshield wiper would also activate. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing where the mechanic was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000. Updated 02/15/12 updated 03/12/12

- Plantersville, TX, USA

problem #25

Nov 222011

Ram 3500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 93,877 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving down the street just about to make a left hand turn so I turned on my left signal when I did that my windshield wipers stopped working plus with my left signal on it wasn't blinking to the left it was blinking to the right. So without my windshield wipers I had to pullover because I couldn't see. I turned the truck off then back on and the windshield wipers started working again. But everytime I use my left signal my right one blinks and my windshield wipers stop working.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #24

Nov 012010

Ram 3500 4WD 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
When using the turn indicator, either the opposite indicator comes on, or neither work. Also, the windshield wipers don't work properly. They seem to operate randomly (e.g., work at high speed with the switch in the off position, or don't work at all with the switch in any position). It appears to me that the multi-function switch is defective. This problem nearly caused an accident while I was driving at highway speeds (60 mph)during a rainstorm and the wipers wouldn't operate. I had to drive to the side of the highway and shut off the ignition switch to resolve the problem. A less experienced driver may have had more severe consequences.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #23

Dec 252005

Ram 3500

  • 3,000 miles
Bought the 3500 megacab cummins with the G56 6 speed manual in Nov 2005 and by the way this was the 3rd cummins I've owned and the worst, great motor but not happy with manufacture this time. So I bought in Nov 05 and Dec.25 started it up and check engine light stayed on, so I shut it off and called dealer next day. This was the start of it all. Every 3day this would happen and I had to drive 23 miles to dealer to have them plug it up to computer and still could not tell me what was wrong. This went on for 14 months ended up buying my own module to reset myself. During all this found the issue with vents and broken dampers in ductwork and started having problems with the power back window cable broke then new one[S] leaked, 3 of them and then the window stopper fell off so I have had 4 rear power windows installed. After all that at 68000 miles I lost 2,4 and 6th gear 80 miles away from home and had to limp it home holding shifter in 6th gear whole time, broken shift tower that wasn't cheap. Then I stared having problems with blowing white smoke on startup come to find I have a injector acting up and the dealer said the fix was a $120 bottle of injector cleaner and dog the [xxx] out of it. At about 75,000 miles started having the turn signal switch problem turn left and the right signal flashed and the shake in the front end and have had 4 front end alignment and new set of tires now have 125,000 mile still get the shake and past do to give up in this beast. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Haymarket , VA, USA

problem #22

Sep 262011

Ram 3500 8-cyl

  • 28,053 miles
The multi function switch was defective in my vehicle. This caused the following safety concerns with the vehicle: 1) the windshield wipers did not work, 2) the turn signals did not work, and 3) the hazzard lights did not work. I have two problems with the situation: 1) while driving the vehicle during a rain storm on 9/26/2011, the windshield wipers did not work. This caused a safety concern and could have caused a potential accident and 2) while driving the vehicle, the turn signals did not work. This caused a safety concern and could have caused an accident. After taking the vehicle to the local Dodge dealership, I was informed that the multi function switch was on back order. To be exact, four thousand multi function switches were on back order per the local dealership and Chrysler group customer assistance. Neither the local dealership or the Chrysler group customer assistance had any idea when the part would be available. I asked both parties why the part is on back order since this is a matter of safety. No answer was given. After further research via the internet, it was determine that other Dodge Ram truck owners had the same type issue with their multi function switch being defective. It would be great if Dodge would notify all owners of the problem with the multi function switch and have them reviewed and/or replaced if needed. This could potentially save someone from serious injury or death from the the multi function switch being defective while driving. My hope and prayer is to have other Dodge Ram truck owners understand the importance of this problem. It could potentially save their life.

- Trussville, AL, USA

problem #21

Sep 022011

Ram 3500

  • 62,406 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Put left turn signal on and truck signals alternates between left and right turn.

- Nampa, ID, USA

problem #20

Jun 122007

Ram 3500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 40,000 miles
Intermitten signal/brake light failure on 2006 Dodge Ram 3500. Will blink right when I am making a left hand turn.

- Canyon Country, CA, USA

problem #19

Jun 062011

Ram 3500 4WD 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
I have a 2006 Dodge Ram cummins 3500 4 door long bed 4X4. While I am driving in town, I will go to use the turn signals and the opposite side that I intended to use will come on, and often both blinkers will flash at the same time. This happens almost every time I try to use the blinkers, they rarely work correctly. We have never done any modifications or replaced anything, therefore I know I have not caused this problem. This started happening over a month ago. Since this has happend I have been in about four near vehicle accidents.

- Fellows, CA, USA

problem #18

May 012011

Ram 3500

  • 100,000 miles
The turn signal switch malfunctions and the switch for a left turn is initiated, the right turn signal lights actually blink.

- Bush, LA, USA

problem #17

Feb 132011

Ram 3500

  • 89,427 miles
I first noticed my headlights were hard to dim or change to bright. A few days later, my wipers would stop working. To get the wipers to work, I had to use the "wash" option. That would cause them to work for a while then they would go out again. About the same time, I noticed my blinkers were acting very strange. When I turned them on, they both would blink very fast. Now the problem has progressed to a point where turning the left blinker on only turns on the right blinker. It almost caused a wreck the other day. I was attempting to turn to the left but my right blinker was on. The car behind me passed me at the same time I started to turn left.

- Summerville, GA, USA

problem #16

Nov 012010

Ram 3500

  • 101,000 miles
Rear turn/hazards signals do not work, front turn signals are fine. All fuses, wiring to lights, bulbs are fine. Trailer plug is fine. This problem is causing many other motorists to not know my intentions when changing lanes or turning.

- Joliet, IL, USA

problem #15

Oct 152009

Ram 3500 6-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
When I use the switch to brighten or dim the headlights the windshield washer turns on and stays on for 3 to 5 seconds. Lately when I try to use the windshield wipers they work only sporadically. When I pull a trailer the left blinker or brake light will not work. I drive a 2006 Dodge Ram dually with the cummins engine.

- Snowflake, AZ, USA

problem #14

Sep 192010

Ram 3500

  • 89,000 miles
I have a 2006 Dodge srw 3500, laramie package diesel with roughly 89K miles. I've had numerous problems with what the dealer calls the tipm or total integrated power module. Apparently all the lights are computer controlled and the first problem I had was when my driverside signal light quit working all together after I had towed my 18' car hauler which I've owned for years and never had any issues with towing it with my 2 other trucks, well this just went away one day without a full diagnosis or repair. I thought that was a safety issue but things are now worst because now, periodically when I use my left signal light the right will flash as well practically at random, or both. Of course me being an engineer I tried to troubleshoot the problem and it's obvious that the failure can only be duplicated while in motion or turning the steering wheel. Of course the truck is out of warranty so the dealer is doing everything they can to prevent from covering the repairs or even the diagnosis at this point.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #13

Aug 132006

Ram 3500

  • 65,485 miles
2006 Dodge Ram 3500. The directional will not indicate the proper turning direction at times. If the directional is pushed to turn left, the right directional lights come on. If the directional is placed for a right turn then no lights come on. If the hazard lights are place on, then only the left directional lights come on. At time if indicating a left turn, all the directional lights will alternate back and forth. Does not happen all the time and difficult to reproduce.

- Averill Park, NY, USA

problem #12

Jul 012010

Ram 3500

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact stated that the turn signals either don't work at all or if you're making a left turn the right turn signal will activate and the right turn signal activated the left turn signal. The windshield wipers would activate at times when the turn the turn signals were turned on. The windshield wipers at times would always operate very slowly and remained on whenever they were turned off. There was a delay when the headlights were turned on and when the hi beams were on they remained illuminated. The contact stated that Chrysler was aware of the failure. The failure and current mileages were approximately 95,000.

- Lindale , TX, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?