Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,417 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Ram 3500 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Ram 3500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Ram 3500 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #39

Dec 162013

Ram 3500 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Received notice of safety recall L16 in December of 2013 regarding the left tie rod. Contacted the dealership and was told the parts were not available currently, but we would be notified as soon as they were. After several months, calls to the dealership, and complaints to Chrysler - we are still awaiting parts to address this recall. We were told by Chrysler on 5/29/14 they would be available "soon" with no definition of available of how long soon would be. The dealership has estimated an addition 3-8 weeks before they expect parts to be available. As this truck is a 3500, it is used frequently to pull trailers and heavy loads. Should this part fail prior to replacement the consequences could be severe for both the driver, passengers and other motorists should steering control be impacted.

- Cadillac, MI, USA

problem #38

Nov 212013

Ram 3500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact stated that she attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number:13V528000 (steering:linkages) but she was made aware that the parts were not available. As a result, the recall repairs were unable to be performed for the recall. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Coco Beach, FL, USA

problem #37

Aug 012013

Ram 3500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 120,000 miles
Driving approx 50mph northbound; heard a loud "bang" - truck started uncontrollable shaking and steering veered into oncoming (southbound) traffic; hit brakes hard and pulled steering to right - did not respond at 1st and then was able to pull off to the right as oncoming traffic had to stop for me - had to then turn steering wheel all the way to left to get truck to quit going right. Exited vehicle, looked under front of truck and right tie rod end was wedged up against inside of rht side tire.. rht side front tie rod end came loose of socked and dropped causing loss of steering. Dealer did not have parts on hand to repair at that time. Personally went and bought parts and installed. Took to local tire dealer for alignment - could not get steering wheel totally straight and truck now "drifted" while driving. Never, ever, was steering loose on truck. Always tracked straight and true. Tires never wore to one side or other. Said steering box was damaged and could not align within tolerance. Rec'd recall notice in December and took to dealer. Dealer was able to straighten steering wheel but said truck was still out of alignment due to steering box needing replacement and stated that steering box was not damaged because of tie rod end coming loose. I absolutely disagree. Problem did not exist prior to tie rod end falling out of socket and creating a possible fatal injury due to lack of control of vehicle..

- Yuma, AZ, USA

problem #36

Jan 152014

Ram 3500

  • 69,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA recall campaign number:13V528000. The contact was notified that parts were not available; as a result the repairs were unable to be performed and the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. There are no failures at this time.

- North Lawrence, NY, USA

problem #35

Feb 242014

Ram 3500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 69,000 miles
Truck has had extreme lane Excursion since about 30,000 miles. Steering linkage was replace under a Dodge recall, the wandering and lane Excursion were not corrected. Upon inspection the steering gear pitman shaft and bushing has worn out. This is a defective component and has been well known by Dodge for some time. They have designed and issued a heavier steering gear part number 68170214aa but have not offered any financial assistance. This may have caused accidents in the past but may not have been identified as the real cause. Consumers should be able to assume that such a critical component in a new vehicle has been appropriately engineered.

- Silt, CO, USA

problem #34

Apr 042014

Ram 3500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 116,000 miles
2006 Ram 3500. Premature shoulder wear on driver front tire. Took to local mechanic and he states worn tie rod assembly to blame. Truck pulls to left and now tie rods, ball joints, U-joints, and front tires need to be replaced. Contacted Dodge January 3rd 2014 and was told recalled left tie rod assembly had been placed on order for me. Had the truck inspected by local dealer and was told they were only getting 1 tie rod a month and that I was on the waiting list. It is now April and replacement piece is still not available. I need the tie rods replaced before I can by new tires because the truck will not align with the worn out pieces that are on the vehicle now. Dodge refuses to reimburse for aftermarket parts and the customer is left holding the bag. It is going to cost me over $1600 for repair work to be performed and at least another $600 new front tires at the very least. Was hung up on by Dodge recall customer service line. No one can even tell me where I am on the waiting list. Horrid customer service. I guess Dodge will wait until they kill someone before they truly get concerned with this issue.

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #33

Sep 122012

Ram 3500 4WD 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 169,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact stated that the driver's side seat belt would not retract when released. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who diagnosed that the seat belt assembly needed to be replaced. The contact also received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V528000 (steering). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 169,000. Updated 05/28/14 MA updated 05/30/2014

- Kittanning, PA, USA

problem #32

Jun 012012

Ram 3500

  • miles
Bought the truck with minor steering issues, does not drive straight, lots of "play" in the wheel, seems to "weave" from side to side. Has continually gotten worse, when taken to a local mechanic they advised me that there was a recall on steering parts for my truck. Contacted the dealer in January 2014, as advised. Was put on a large waiting list and told that they were only being sent one part per week. It is now March 21, 2014. Two months later, still not fixed. I called the dealer today in fact, to check on the progress and was told that Chrysler!!!!! sent them malfunctioning replacement parts and they all had to be sent back. So no one has received a fix for this issue. Mean while, my truck continues to drive worse and I am now having problems with my ball joints. My question is, when my steering linkage snaps causing me to "lose control of the vehicle" (as stated in the recall letter) what are my actions of recourse" eventually this is going to happen and probably before the vehicle is ever fixed at this rate. I would also like to know, what else is being damaged due to this specific part and the problems it may cause. If I get the replacement part, only to find out that several more items will need to be replaced, someone needs to take care of that. This is my only means of transportation and what I Transport my children in. What does Chrysler intend to do when I wreck my vehicle with them inside???" there has got to be a quicker/better way to get these repairs done for the public.

- Bolivar, MO, USA

problem #31

Mar 042014

Ram 3500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 178,000 miles
I received a recall notice in the mail in January 2014. Made an online appointment to have the defective parts repaired/replaced at fort collins Dodge February. I was informed that the replacement parts would not be available until March 4, and an appointment was made by jesse. Jesse subsequentlyl called an said the appointment would be canceled as further information regarding the recall was needed. Jesse just called again today and said that the repairs/replacements couldn't be performed until after April 15. I need to use my truck to pull trailers and haul loads. What is a reasonable time to expect to have this defect resolved" what should I do next"

- Fort Collins, CO, USA

problem #30

Feb 012014

Ram 3500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 35000. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 13V528000 (steering) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The dealer advised the tie rod repair kit was received one per week therefore the dealer placed the contact on a waiting that could exceed one year for repair. The vehicle did not experience a failure.

- Big Sandy , MT, USA

problem #29

Dec 132013

Ram 3500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the recall had surpassed a reasonable time for repair. The contact stated he contacted the dealer to have the vehicle repaired but was advised that the part needed for the repair would not become available for a minimum of 36 weeks. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Harlem, MT, USA

problem #28

Sep 202012

Ram 3500

  • 117,264 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact stated that while traveling various speeds, the drag link became detached from the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where the failure was confirmed. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 117,264.

- Clarkston, MI, USA

problem #27

Aug 202013

Ram 3500 4WD Diesel

  • miles
2006 Dodge Ram 3500. Consumer writes in regards to the left tie rod ball stud recall notice. The consumer stated he experienced problems with the left and right tie rod ends, and he believed the right tie rod should be included in the recall. The consumer stated while driving, the right tie rod malfunctioned, which caused the vehicle to steer across on-coming traffic, into a ditch and finally crashing into an embankment.

- Ravenden Springs, AR, USA

problem #26

Jan 142014

Ram 3500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph, he heard a loud noise. After inspecting the vehicle he noticed that the passenger side tie rod fractured. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 125,000. Updated 3/5/14 the tie rod was replaced. Updated 03/20/14

- Richmond, KY, USA

problem #25

Jul 012011

Ram 3500

  • 64,000 miles
I have been experiencing severe front end shaking/wobble when traveling at various speeds and after the most significant event occurs when traveling at highway speed and hitting a bump when steering left or right. This causes the front-end to shake violently and the steering wheel to rapidly jerk to the left/right. The only way for this to stop is to pull over and come to a complete stop and then resume driving. I have taken my truck to my personal mechanic who inspected everything and told me there was nothing noticeable that would cause the truck to do this. After some more occurrences, I took it to the Dodge dealer to get their opinion. I was told that I needed to replace the steering damper and that would solve my problem. I thought this to be rather odd due to the fact that I just had it replace within the past year due to it leaking. I was assured this would take care of the front end wobble. Well, $144 later, it was still happening. I was told next that it could be an alignment issue, so they did an alignment on the truck. That too did not resolve the problem. I spoke directly to the service manager who, after a lengthy conversation, informed me that he has seen a large number of these trucks that have the same problem and the only way to fix it is to replace a number of front end parts that end up totaling $2,370.16. I was informed that these parts are new and not oem which I couldn't even obtain anymore. I have done some research and have determined that I am not the only one who has experienced the front-end shimmy/wobble. There is vast information regarding this problem on the internet.

- Reading, PA, USA

problem #24

Apr 252013

Ram 3500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 176,000 miles
Has what the Dodge mechanics laughingly call the "Dodge shimmy" locally. Causes loss of control in the front end, and is especially bad at higher speeds.

- Brenham, TX, USA

problem #23

Oct 252012

Ram 3500

  • 148,117 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph, the steering became erratic and difficult to control. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnosis and the contact was informed that the steering box would need to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified but offered no assistance. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure and current mileage was 148,117.

- Hollywood, FL, USA

problem #22

Nov 062012

Ram 3500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 3500 diesel. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph, the power steering assist malfunctioned and the front end of the vehicle started to shake violently. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure but proceeded to flush the power steering pump as a temporary remedy. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 74,000 and the current mileage was 79,000.

- Gillette, WY, USA

problem #21

Oct 182012

Ram 3500

  • 88,231 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact stated that the front passenger side tie rod failed while turing. The vehicle was towed to a local mechanic where the tie rod drag link and axle were replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and advised that the tie rod was inspected under recall NHTSA campaign id number: 11V350000 (steering: Linkages: Tie rod assembly) and denied assistance with the repair. The failure mileage was 88,231 and the approximate current mileage was 88,235. The VIN was not available.

- Frankfort, KY, USA

problem #20

Sep 112012

Ram 3500

  • 78,000 miles
At 15 mph, I hit a bump in the road. At that time the passenger side tie rod end and crossover stabilizer broke and all steering control was lost. The vehicle then crossed left of center but was able to stop the vehicle prior to colliding with oncoming traffic. Vehicle had to be towed for repairs.

- Barboursville, WV, USA

Read the next 19 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?