Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
32,118 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Ram 3500 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Ram 3500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Ram 3500 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #41

Dec 022013

Ram 3500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 13V529000 (steering) had a exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The dealer was contacted and advised that the part was not available, and placed the contact on a waiting list. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Simpsonville, KY, USA

problem #40

Feb 212014

Ram 3500

  • 46,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact stated that while entering a driveway at approximately 30 mph, a loud noise emitted from the front end of the vehicle. The contact attempted to reverse and discovered that the power steering assist ahd failed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, who performed a diagnostic and advised that the steering linkages had failed and would need replacing. The manufacturer was also contacted and advised that the steering linkage failure was not caused by the defect described in NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 46,000.

- Borger , TX, USA

problem #39

Feb 242014

Ram 3500 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign number 13V529000 (steering) and was informed by the dealer that the parts were not available. The manufacturer was not contacted about the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 04/14/14 MA updated 04/18/2014

- San Juan Capastrato, CA, USA

problem #38

Dec 172013

Ram 3500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a Dodge Ram 3500. The contact stated that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering) but had surpassed reasonable time for repair. The dealer was contacted and stated that the part was not available for repair. The manufacturer had not been contacted. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lakeside, AZ, USA

problem #37

Jan 202014

Ram 3500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 67,000 miles
My wife, [xxx], and I recently had our 2008 Dodge Ram 3500 serviced at lithia, in anchorage, Alaska, on Monday, 20 January. We made an appointment and brought in the vehicle primarily for the recall on the steering. Since we were coming in to get that taken care of, we also decided to get the agr valve cleaned and a oil change. We never did get the steering recall taken care of because the service person, [xxx], said we did not need it replaced and I said I wanted it done anyway and then eventually he admitted he did not have the parts. This is unsatisfactory. Why would you not have the parts if that is why I made the appointment for in the first place? in the end, we were told it would cost $3000 and then $2300 and then $1500 and we actually ended up paying just under $1000 for the agr valve cleaning and oil change and never got the recall taken care of. And when I got home I opened my hood and noticed the cap was hanging off on my radiator overflow. [xxx] said he would order the recall parts and put our name on it and have it there for the future. At this point I don't want your Agency to ever touch my vehicle again but I would like to get the steering recall taken care of. We are very unhappy now that we have to go back and spend a day or 2 dealing with this again...it does not engender confidence. Thought you would like to know this dealer failed to remedy this defect and that is why I'm complaining...we did not get our steering recall taken care of even though that is what we scheduled an appointment for and we feel we were lied to just so we would bring in our vehicle and so they could come up with other reasons to work on the vehicle and get money out of us. We have not received a call as of today, 1 Feb, that the recall steering parts have come in yet. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Egle River, AK, USA

problem #36

Jan 102014

Ram 3500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering) had surpassed a reasonable time for repair. The dealer stated that the parts are available. The manufacture stated that only 3 repair kits were being provided per week. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experience a failure.

- Bernie, CA, USA

problem #35

Dec 012013

Ram 3500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 13V528000 (steering) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The dealership advised that the part was not available and the contact had to be placed on a six month waiting list.

- Ozark , MO, USA

problem #34

May 312013

Ram 3500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 80,000 miles
While driving down the road whether it is on the highway running 65-75 or on a side road running 45-60 if you hit a bump, come off a bridge, or drive over anything that is not smooth road the vehicle will go into an uncontrollable wobble/shake. In order to regain control of the truck you have to slow down slowly and steadily and pray you don't start changing lanes because when she starts shaking it's driving itself! I know I'm not the only person that experiences this. The NHTSA needs to put some heat on Dodge about this because it's going to get someone hurt!

- Raeford, NC, USA

problem #33

Oct 162013

Ram 3500

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact stated while driving approximately 35 mph steering failed causing the contact to crash into a parked vehicle. The vehicle was not destroyed. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. There were no injuries. A police report was filed. The mechanic diagnosed that the steering gear ball joint needed to be replaced, and also an alignment and the frame had to be straightened. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- St. Martinville, LA, USA

problem #32

Dec 262013

Ram 3500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge 3500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number:13V528000 (steering) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to become available. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experience a failure.

- Conyers, GA, USA

problem #31

Jan 062014

Ram 3500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign number 13V529000 (steering) and was informed by the dealer that it would be 25 weeks before the vehicle could be repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 2/11/14

- Lake Havasu City, AZ, USA

problem #30

Dec 192013

Ram 3500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact stated there was a recall associated with NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering) and the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to become available. The manufacturer had not been made aware of the problem. The contact had not experience a failure. Updated 1/7/14

- Winlock, WA, USA

problem #29

Jan 302012

Ram 3500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact stated that the front driver and passenger side tires were worn from the inside. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was determined that the tie rod ball stud had failed. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 11V350000 (steering) but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 30,000 and the current mileage was 50,000.

- Glenmora, LA, USA

problem #28

Aug 052009

Ram 3500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 2,500 miles
Vehicle has a death wobble, dealerships keep replacing steering damper, three times since 2009, it comes on unexpectedly, the problem is in the front end, just turned 40,000 miles, I will not allow anyone to drive this truck, it is an accident waiting to happen, Dodge dealerships will not resolve the issue correctly. Thus why it has only 40K on it. I do not want to even drive it over 45 mph. It has the problem again, I would like to trade it in, but do not want to give someone this headache. I will not even drive with my children in this truck. Also have had egr valve issues. Please force Dodge to do something before someone that does not know how to handle vehicles like this get behind the wheels and kills a family. Thank you.

- Charlatan, NY, USA

problem #27

Jun 192012

Ram 3500

  • 109,000 miles
Driving 40 mph over a bridge, the front end of the vehicle became completely uncontrollable. The front wheels were violently shaking and the steering wheel could not be controlled due to the abrupt and violent steering shaking and vibration. It felt like the front wheels were going to break off the truck. I had to jam on the brakes and come to a complete stop in traffic.

- Ormond Beach, FL, USA

problem #26

Jun 012011

Ram 3500

  • 42,000 miles
Death wobble! I hit a pot hole or rough bump in the road and the suspension shakes so violently that I could hardly hold on to the steering wheel. All the items on the console went on to the floor, cleared the dash and center console. This was the first of 5 times I have had this happen. 3 times when coming off a bridge deck. All times the truck is at approximately 65mph. The only way to stop the violent shaking is to brake and bring the vehicle to a near stop. The problem with this is its always happened on the freeway where there are other vehicles all around. Very dangerous and scares the life out of me. I have replaced steering control link with tie rod ends. Stabilizer bar, added after market steering box stabilizer and done two alignments. All parts are like new there is only 55000 miles on the truck. There is definitely a design flaw with the suspension! I have owned 4 other trucks. 2 with solid axles in the front and never had this problem.

- Deland, FL, USA

problem #25

Apr 302012

Ram 3500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 140,000 miles
Owner of 2008 Dodge 3500 dually was driving down road when fuse box caught fire. Windshield wipers started continuously squirting and smoke came out from underneath hood. Going 75mph with horsetrailer in tow, vehicle without warning, shut off leaving owner without power, lights, steering or brakes while windshield wipers still squirting continuously and wiper blades not working. If this happened 1 hour later owner would be dead as next part of road has extreme downgrade with curves. Vehicle was towed to nearest Dodge dealer where fuse box was replaced at owners expense. Took vehicle home 6 hours later new fuse box fuse blown and wires starting to melt again. Took vehicle into local Dodge dealer and traded in for different truck. When Dodge/Chrysler engineer flew in to examine old fuse box the box was burnt to a crisp. Both local Dodge dealer and Dodge/Chrysler engineer were told vehicle in question is unsafe and will kill someone. Owner was told truck will be sold at auction "as is" and sent out of the local area. Owner still has old fuse box for evidence.

- White City, OR, USA

problem #24

Feb 052012

Ram 3500

  • 66,300 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact stated that while driving at the speed of 20 mph, the tie rod bolt sheered off without any warning and the contact lost control of the vehicle. The contact was then having trouble with the steering and was able to pull over. The contact purchased parts from the dealer and repaired the vehicle himself. The dealer was aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 66,300 and the current mileage was 66,600.

- Logandale, NV, USA

problem #23

May 172011

Ram 3500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 65,000 miles
Was driving home going around a left curve when the passenger side tie rod broke at the stud. Had to get vehicle towed to Dodge dealer where I was informed it was my fault the tie rod broke on the truck due to my vehicle upkeep(3 yr old tie rods don't just break) I told them fine fix my tie rod and anything else they find. I pickup my truck from Dodge house and breakdown again on my way home when the truck catapulted on the broken front steering assembly it caused the lower seal in my gearbox to go out and pour power steering fluid out where the pitman arm attaches to the gearbox. So opposed to letting the Dodge dealership in palestine tx work on my vehicle again I fixed it my self.. now at 80,000 miles when I hit a little patch of bumps or cross a bridge my truck starts to shake violently I swear this truck is going to be the death of me.

- Neches, TX, USA

problem #22

Apr 052011

Ram 3500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 47,000 miles
Vehicle was purchased in November 2010, and the so call "death wobble" was not noticed until April 2011. I had taken the vehicle into the dealership where purchased, they found nothing wrong with the front end, yet rotated the tires, re-aligned the front end and replaced a control arm. The Chevy dealership where the vehicle was purchased also contacted a Dodge dealer who denied any problems with the front end of these vehicle. The vehicle is driven little, and several times this month (December 2011) while driving on a major highway, while approaching a bridge doing 65 to 70 mph., or where the pavement is rough the vehicle started this "death wobble", almost to the point there is no control. The driver can not gain full control of vehicle until the speed is reduced. I did notice on the net that Chrysler did issue a service letter to their dealers that a problem may exist, yet nothing was mentioned to the Chevy dealership when they contacted Chrysler. This vehicle was purchased to tow a ten-thousand pound rv, and yet, I have not experienced a wobble while pulling that unit, I'm sure it is just a matter of time. Chrysler needs to step up, come up with a solution, recall and fix these vehicles. Customers deserve better than what Chrysler is doing, after all the customers pays thousands of dollars for their product. There is a serious safety issue here that needs to be addressed.

- Arnold, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?