Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
19,220 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Ram 3500 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Ram 3500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Ram 3500 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #46

Jun 302014

Ram 3500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact stated that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering). The contact notified the dealer and manufacturer numerous times to have the vehicle repaired, but they could not provide an estimated date for when the parts would become available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Wrenshall, MN, USA

problem #45

Jan 232014

Ram 3500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering) in January 23, 2014. The dealer was contacted who placed the contact on a waiting list. The contact has not received a call back in regards to having the recalled components replaced on the vehicle. The vehicle had not exhibited the failure.

- New Creek, WV, USA

problem #44

Feb 142014

Ram 3500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the needed part was unavailable to perform the repair. The dealer informed one remedy part was being sent per week. The contact was placed on a massive waiting list. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Gillette, WY, USA

problem #43

Feb 042014

Ram 3500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign id number 13V529000 (steering) however, the part was not available to do the repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mcpherson, KS, USA

problem #42

Aug 072010

Ram 3500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • 10,000 miles
8-7-2010, traveling E/B hwy 26 at 55 mph near manning, or. Just passing roadside fruit stand heard pop, truck pulled to right jumped the curb and veered directly toward steel guardrail. To avoid head on T.C. with guardrail, I pulled hard to the right toward what appeared to be clear ravine. Had to steer between two trees at bottom and struck pile of 4 foot logs left by dot. Vehicle came to rest about another 50 feet. Right front tire shredded, rim damaged, steering damaged as well as major front end damage. Have digital of same. Noted that witnesses at the fruit stand said they heard the pop and observed my vehicle pull to the right and jump the curb. Roseburg lithia Dodge body shop did all repairs. Note that left front tie rod fell off while on blm road. Had to be towed in and repairs again made by same shop.

- Azalea, OR, USA

problem #41

Jun 052014

Ram 3500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact stated that he attempted to have his vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering) but was informed that the parts were not available and that the dealers were receiving one part every per week. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in November of 2013, there should have been a remedy available before June of 2014. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cody , WY, USA

problem #40

Aug 072010

Ram 3500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 17,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

8-10-10 3500 Ram E/B hwy 47 at 55 mph passing fruit stand heard loud pop and vehicle veered right jumping curb headed toward guardrail. I pulled as hard as I could to avoid ramming the guardrail and imminent injury to both myself and son in right front seat. Dropped about 20 down into ravine in 4 foot grass and struck pile of 4 foot logs thrown there by road.crew. Front end including steering tie rod had to be replaced. 10-8-10 while driving on mountain blm road in four wheel low. I stopped to backup and left front tire turned sideways. The tie rod lock nut had come undone fell off (unknown location) tie rod dropped to ground. Had to use hay twine to tie up and hold together in order to get back to ranch out of the mountains. It took 4 hours to creep home with my son walking the vehicle around every corner to assure the tie rod stayed together. Vehicle towed to and repaired by roseburg lithia Dodge. I filed safety complaint about tie rod safety hazard. Approximately a year and a half ago, noted loud snapping when turning front end. Tire shop could hear and feel, but we were unable to locate problem. Recall came out and recall parts had to be recalled. No repair. Just notified again of recall and had to have vehicle inspected to confirm recall parts needed. 6-4-14 wife took truck into roseburg lithia Dodge for the inspection to get the recall parts ordered. She brought the loud snapping to service writers attention. He advised approximately 70 customers ahead of us and it would be about 4 months till repair could be make. She advised problem getting worse and possed an imminent safety hazard. Service writer showed no concern for safety and advised the problem was between us and Chrysler. Should another accident or tie rod failure be proximate cause, both roseburg lithia Dodge and Chrysler will be held responsible for gross negligence.

- Azalea, OR, USA

problem #39

Nov 212013

Ram 3500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering). The contact stated that the part was unavailable to do the repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Salina, KS, USA

problem #38

May 032014

Ram 3500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 33,000 miles
I have received a recall notice from Chrysler about our Ram 3500 for a left tie rod replacement. It has currently been over two months since I have been to the dealer to initiate the replacement. They are now telling me I have another 6 months of waiting due to Chrysler not shipping the parts for the recall. Chrysler has also informed me I am operating the vehicle at our own risk in the event of a part failure, and a crash. It would seem to me that since this is a huge safety issue, that they would be making the parts available so owners are not risking self injury, and injury to others by operating the vehicle. Many of these trucks are utilized in hauling horse trailers and such, and a rental cannot be found, and owners should not have to either quit driving their vehicles for extended periods of time, or be forced to pay for a rental in order to be safe.

- Carnation, WA, USA

problem #37

Jan 062014

Ram 3500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 49,000 miles
Recall N49 states "the left tie rod ball stud on your truck may fracture under certain driving conditions. This could cause a loss of directional control and/or crash without warning." Sounds fairly serious. The recall notice further states "simply contact your Chrysler, Jeep, or Dodge dealer starting January 6, 2014 to schedule a service appointment." I did contact my dealer on January 6, 2014 and several more times since. I have also contacted other dealers in my area about five times since January. Always the same story. Parts are not available. Parts are backordered. No expected date for parts availability is known. I am somewhere between #50 - #60 on my dealer's waiting list. No one can tell me if the truck is safe to drive or when it might get fixed. Chrysler needs to step it up a bit. Do I have any recourse against Chrysler at this time since my truck has been more or less setting in the garage for nearly 5 months and apparently will remain there for who knows how long?

- Waukesha, WI, USA

problem #36

Nov 012013

Ram 3500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact received 2009 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 13V529000 (steering) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact received the recall letter in November of two thousand thirteen. The dealer stated that the part was recalled and they did not know when the new designed would be available. There are no failures at this time. Updated 05/28/14

- Orlando , FL, USA

problem #35

Mar 222014

Ram 3500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 10,500 miles
I received the "important safety recall N49/nhtsa13V-529" during Jan 2014. At the time I was told by the Chrysler group recall assistance center that the parts were not available. I pull a very large fifth wheel rv and obviously am concerned about this part. I just got off the phone with the local dealer here (March 22) and was told that they did receive 2 of the parts for this repair (very courteous and respectful--apologetic). Those parts were recalled shortly after they arrived (before being placed on a vehicle) and now I'm told April 2014 is when they expect to start receiving the parts. S/F, a concerned us marine.

- Fort Leonard Wood, MO, USA

problem #34

Dec 202013

Ram 3500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the parts were not available. The manufacturer was contacted and provided an unreasonably estimated date for when the vehicle would be service for the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Wildersville, TN, USA

problem #33

Dec 272013

Ram 3500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering) had surpassed a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the part was not available and the manufacturer declined to provide the contact an estimated date for part availability. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Rock Port, MO, USA

problem #32

Jan 072013

Ram 3500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 65,000 miles
Dodge issued a recall for faulty tie rod ends on this vehicle, safety recall $ N49/NHTSA 13V-529. I am 12,00 miles from home in fla. Towing a 14,000K 5th wheel. Went to the local dealer & was told there is a 20 week wait for parts. Phone calls to other dealers, including my local dealer in N.Y. confirmed a nation wide shortage of parts to fix this recall. I was told to "be careful driving home". Dodge is obviously not facing it's responsibility in this recall, & is forcing owners to drive dangerous vehicles.

- Aquebogue, NY, USA

problem #31

Mar 182013

Ram 3500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 40,688 miles
Recall number: N49/NHTSA 13V-529 received January 2014 we contacted our dealer to get this recall taken care of. They put us on a waiting list because Chrysler does not have the parts to fix this recall. We also called Chrysler customer service. They also tell us that there is not a time frame for these parts to be available. We have steering issues with our truck :vibration when going straight and when turning. Taken in to dealership 3 times for repair they keep telling us it is tires. Truck has been checked bytire dealership:, alignment, balance. They believe it has something to do with the truck itself. We believe it is directly related to this recall and now we are concerned with driving this truck. We want it fixed sooner than later but Chrysler doesn't seem to feel it is a concern to have parts available.

- Green River, WY, USA

problem #30

Dec 302013

Ram 3500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering) had surpassed a reasonable time for repair. The dealer stated that the part needed to complete the recall service was not available for repair. The manufacture was contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Clovis, CA, USA

problem #29

Dec 052013

Ram 3500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,600 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering) and was unable to have the vehicle repaired because the required parts for the repair were not available by the authorized dealer. The manufacturer was notified of the issue but did not provide a date for when the parts would become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 4/4/14

- Granbury, TX, USA

problem #28

Feb 262014

Ram 3500

  • miles
TL- the contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact stated that he attempted to have his vehicle repaired under NHTSA recall campaign number: 13V529000 (steering) but was informed that the parts were not available and that the dealers were receiving one part per week. The contact stated since the failure was reported in November of 2013, there should be a remedy available before February of 2014. The manufacturer had already exceeded a reasonable time for the repair. There are no failures at this time.

- Potosi, MO, USA

problem #27

Jan 222014

Ram 3500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
TL- the contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact received NHTSA recall campaign number: 13V529000 (steering) and the part was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to be available. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. There are no failures at this time. Updated 3/28/14 updated 04/22/14

- Cave Creek, AZ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?