Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
51,473 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Ram 5500 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Ram 5500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Ram 5500 Owner Comments

problem #8

Jul 212015

Ram 5500

  • 155,741 miles


7/21/15 took truck to Ram dealer for recall R-16 dealer stated it also has R-25 recall, truck still has vibration at 55 mph and now it will drift left and right called dealer the service manager advised me to have my tires checked, 7/30/15 called Chrysler hotline was told no open recalls I told her I had it in for repair but it still wasn't right she said they need to correct problem on their dime. 7/30/15 called dealer, service manager had quit need to call on 8/3/15 to talk to new service manager. 8/3/15 talked to new service manager told him what Chrysler said, he scheduled to inspect truck for 8/11/15 dropped truck off on 8/10/15 put key and note in drop box stating since airbag was repaired horn and cruse no longer worked 8/16/15 have not heard back 8/17/15 called dealer left a message to call me, 8/18/15 called dealer talked to service manager he thought truck had been picked up, said he would check and call me back. Dealer called back said tech had quit and they cant find the key but will make a new one and drive it and call me. Later that day he called back said the board was broke behind the airbag and they would have to order one if a salvage yard didn't have one, and asked me to describe problem with the steering. 8/19/15 left a message to call me. 8/20/15 I called talked to service manager he said truck drove all over the road just as described and that it could be several things causing the problem. He said he has a new guy coming in next week and could look at it but he didn't know how deep I wanted to go with it because it has 160,000 miles on it and when one thing starts wearing it will cause other things to wear out. I told him that's why they have a recall he told me they are only replacing the tie rods because they may break wear has nothing to do with it and any other repairs would have to be paid for by me. I am picking it up on 8/24/15

- Frazeysburg, OH, USA

problem #7

Mar 262015

Ram 5500

  • 21,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 5500. While driving at 20 mph, the steering wheel seized. Upon further inspection, the contact noticed that the tie rod detached from the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that the tie rod needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V527000 (steering); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 21,000.

- Indianapolis , IN, USA

problem #6

Dec 012013

Ram 5500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 5500. The contact received NHTSA campaign number: 13V527000 (steering) however, the parts for repair were not available. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Nicollet, MN, USA

problem #5

Jan 112012

Ram 5500 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 5500. The contact stated that while traveling approximately 20 mph, the front driver side tie rod suddenly fractured. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the failure was confirmed. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact indicated that the vehicle previously experienced the same defect and was repaired by the dealer. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 50,000...updated 03-12-14

- Oxnard, CA, USA

problem #4

May 012012

Ram 5500

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram. The contact stated that while driving, the vehicle began to shake. The check engine warning light and the service needed warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer however the failure was not determined. The dealer replaced the rear driver side rim, the rear and front driver and passenger side tires, and a replacement related to the rear axle however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure however no further assistance was provided. The VIN was unavailable.the current mileage was 83,000. The failure mileage was 78,000.

- Natalbany, LA, USA

problem #3

May 172012

Ram 5500

  • 58,847 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 5500. The contact stated that the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign id number: 10V657000 (steering: Linkages: Tie rod assembly) May 2011. The contact stated that eleven months later, the front driver side tie rod failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 58,847.

- Eugene , OR, USA

problem #2

Sep 082011

Ram 5500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 47,985 miles
After backing out of my garage, at an approx. Speed of 1 mph, I turned the wheels to the left to run an errand, and the drivers side tie rod end broke. The drag link dropped and the wheel cocked to the full left. At this point I don't know if it caused any other damage. I spoke with the nearest dealer and was told that there are no recalls on this vehicle at this time. Unfortunately I need this vehicle and had to order a new tie rod end at a cost of $116. Bearing any other damage, I will also have to get an alignment, at an unknown cost at this time. Thank god that I had not been traveling at a higher rate of speed when this part decided to fail, because I am sure the outcome would not have been good.

- Mcadoo, PA, USA

problem #1

Jan 262009

Ram 5500

  • 212 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 3500. The contact purchased the vehicle brand new and discovered NHTSA campaign id number 09V005000 (steering: Linkages: Tie rod assembly). The manufacturer stated that they were not aware of this recall. There had been no failure to date. The current mileage was 212.

- University Park , MD, USA

Not what you are looking for?