Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

5.4

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,001 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Dodge Stratus engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Dodge Stratus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Dodge Stratus Owner Comments (Page 4 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #17

Mar 012001

Stratus

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine was leaking oil and consumer had to add a quart a week. Dealer originally said it take $600-$800. After consumer told dealer there were alot of complaints on the internet, dealer reduced the price to $150.

- Macomb, MI, USA

problem #16

Oct 302000

Stratus

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
The vehcile was leaking oil, progressively getting worse, but was fixed by the dealer. The consumer stated that head gasket was a common problem with this model of the vehicle.

- Chesterton, IN, USA

problem #15

Feb 212001

(reported on)

Stratus

  • miles
The vehicle developed an extensive oil leak due to a faulty head gasket design. Nlm

- Saint Jose, MI, USA

problem #14

Mar 132001

Stratus

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Head gaskets blewout, causing oil leakage. Dealer has inspected vehicle.

- Pomfret Center, CT, USA

problem #13

Dec 122000

Stratus

  • miles
I noticed oil on the outside of engine. I brought our car to downtown tire in hastings, mn where they told me that there was a headgasket leak. The mechanic also told me that he has heard about and seen a lot of problems with the Dodge Stratus and headgaskets. Told us to take it to the Dodge dealer and have it fixed. Ron becker, Inc told us that there really wasn't any problems with headgaskets but they would check our car out. They then called us to say it was definetly the head gasket it cost me $99 for the parts and $552.50 for labor. I have been checking the internet and have found out that there has been a number of head gasket leaks and would like something done or compensation.

- Hastings, MN, USA

problem #12

Jan 312001

Stratus

  • miles
Warranty expired ON10/27/01.was told on 1/31/01 that head gasket leaking needs replacement.two months out of warranty,35,571 miles yet needs new gasket"checking your database, service bullentin 090598, seq. 291, NHTSA # SB602898, states that Chrysler develope new mls gasket to be implemented on 1999 models to correct such a problem.incomplaint database, ODI # 714001, states Chrysler aware of gasket failures.a head gasket is a costly/time consuming job especially when not under warranty.if this is a known problem, and a new gasket has been introduced, should there not be a recall or a update nade to the 1998 models.? could you please help out this situation"

- Pequannock, NJ, USA

problem #11

Dec 212000

Stratus

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I took my car in because I needed to have the brakes repaired as a regular item of repair, secondary to wear and tear. This was early in December 2000. The mechanic also checked over the car and reported that as with many 1998 Dodge Stratus' I will need to keep an eye on the cylinder head gasket. The mechanic also informed me that I should check with the dealer and see if this item has yet been recalled. I then had no problems for the next few weeks when I was turning around a corner slowly and an awful noise occurred. I then parked the car and when I returned I had a large oil leak on the ground. I scheduled an appointment with my trusted mechanic and they checked it over when they noticed that the head gasket needed replacing, the entire pulley system was seizing up and needed replacing and my manifold needs to be replaced. The cost of this was $1,000 and that was without replacing the manifold, as I could not afford it at that time. I have called the dealership and they reported that they would have to schedule an appointment to look at the car, submit a claim to the regional manager of daimler Chrysler and they have been known to help out with approx. $200. Of the repairs. Well since I was in the process of moving to ga from ca and had to stay on schedule I was unable to stay back for the appointment which wasn't until a week later. Upone my request for the name and number of the regional manager of daimler Chrysler, they said, I cannot give that information to you. We are the only ones with this information and you must bring to car in for us to inspect. When I asked them if this inpection would cost, they reported, depending upon the tests needed. I knew that financially, even if I was approved for $200 assistance I was better off getting this fixed by a trusted less expensive mechanic and fight the battle later. Clearly a vehicle with 70,000 hwy miles, with oil changes every 3,500 miles should not need a new manifold, a new pulley system and all new gaskets

- Dalton, GA, USA

problem #10

Jan 192001

Stratus

  • miles
My vehicle developed an oil leak at the head gasket, the dealer says an entire head assembly is necessary, my research at your site shows service bulletins & other complaints about this leak. Is there any recourse to the manufacturer, since I am looking at a $750 repair bill on a vehicle that should not have this problem this soon.

- Monroe, LA, USA

problem #9

Jan 012001

Stratus

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Consumer noticed large amount of oil on driveway. Dealer has been contacted. Technician stated that head gasket needed to be replaced. The head gasket failure results in leaking oil on to the engine which would be fire hazard a S well.

- Schenectady, NY, USA

problem #8

Dec 252000

Stratus

  • miles
Check oil light alerted me to a problem which was confirmed by a licensed mechanic. The problem is a blown head gasket. While car was in the shop, mechanics suggested I look for a recall. None at the present time. Talked to Dodge dealer. Was told that since I had over 75000 miles and a non-Dodge mechanic was repairing the problem, there was nothing they could do. It has become obvious that this is a growing problem. This should be addressed as a recall. I caught it early. Dodge should step up and fix the problem, regardless of the number of miles on the vehicle. Some poeple properly maintain their vehicles.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #7

Dec 011999

Stratus

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Noticed oil leak that would come and go. Recently noticed oil leaking from head gasket. Mechanic says it is verry common on these cars. Is there any help offered by Dodge?

- Westminster, MA, USA

problem #6

Feb 092000

Stratus

  • miles
This car has been a major problem. Head gasket failed at approx 11,000 on my way to airport to pick up family on April 10, 1999. Couldn't get it in for service until April 14, 1999. Transmission clutch started catching or scraping on something shortly after head gasket was replaced, I was told when work was completed (replaced cables on 11/18/1999) that problem was manufacturer defect mileage was 18,373. Was again experiencing same problem with clutch on 2/29/2000. Upon speaking with service team, was told there was a bad bearing in the transmission and they would be replacing both the cables and transmission parts; I also asked for them to check the engine light, because it was coming on and had a strong smell of gasoline; vaccum system was replaced. On 3/24/2000 internal parts of transmission were replaced at 22,349 mi. On 06/05/2000 engine stalled and was difficult to restart, engine was running really rough, replaced mapping computer @25,008 mi. Came home from work on 8/23/2000 strong odor of gasoline. Opened hood and watched gas leaking all over exhaust manifold. Had it towed to dealership on 8/24/2000 w/ 29,539 mi. Replaced cracked fuel injectors and leaking hoses. The car is now in again because of yet the same transmission/clutch problem previously complained about. Think... I'm driving down I 95 with my family in my car. Transmission fails, big truck runs the car over... does Chrysler want that headache?

- Chesterfield, VA, USA

problem #5

May 012000

Stratus

  • miles
Head gasket on the vehicle has failed. Upon research of this issue, I find more people with the same problem. One person had it replaced 4 timess. The company won't recall it. This is unexceptable. A high percentage of these vehicles have this failure at the 50,000 mile mark. Why is there not a recall. Oil and heat....fire!

- Epsom, NH, USA

problem #4

Oct 302000

Stratus

  • miles
I have talked to other Stratus/breeze owners and they told me to expect the leak because crysler was having problems with their gaskets. At the time I didn't have a problem, but sure enough, it's starting to leak alot!

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #3

Nov 291999

Stratus

  • miles
Car began leaking oil..though it was due to last oil change.took car back to place where oil was changed and was told head gasket was gone and was a common problem with the model engine.car was repaired by dealer without cost to me.

- Leominster, MA, USA

problem #2

Oct 261999

Stratus

  • miles
Gasket replaced with new style gasket. Chrysler realizes the old one fails. Mechanics at this garage have done numerous ones

- Indiana, PA, USA

problem #1

Sep 011999

Stratus

  • miles
There are several references in internet newsgroups about this head gasket problem but a clarksville dealer says that it is not a common problem

- Columbia, MD, USA

Not what you are looking for?