Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Dodge Stratus, Intrepid & other Chrysler sedans are infamous for oil sludge problems with the 2.7L V6 engine. If someone offers to sell you a 2.7L V6 model, it's only worth the price of the scrap metal it's going to shortly turn into.

NOTE: Only the 2.7L V6 has the oil sludge problem. Our "Avoid like the Plague" designation is ONLY for models with the 2.7L V6 engine. All other available engines are very reliable with no major problems.

Even with regular maintenance, the oil sludge defect eventually destroys the 2.7L engine typically around 80,000-100,000 miles. The only true fix we know about is to put in the larger 3.2L engine, which has a great reputation. Also the 2.4L engine doesn't have the oil sludge problem.

This issue was never deemed a safety defect by the Feds, so there was no recall. In the end, Chrysler got away with FOUR YEARS worth of defective 2.7L V6 engines in their sedans.

2.9

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,520 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Dodge Stratus engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Dodge Stratus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Dodge Stratus Owner Comments

problem #20

Jan 072012

Stratus 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Very fortunate this happened as we were pulling into the garage. Suddenly sounded like someone under the hood hitting the engine block with a hammer. Now have to have a re-manufactured engine installed on a car with only 65K miles. Cant afford not to, cant scrap the vehicle with this low of miles. Ridiculous after what all I have read about the 2.7L engine since then. I personally changed oil well under manufacturer recommendations, using synthetic most of its life.

- Waterloo, IL, USA

problem #19

Sep 262011

Stratus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,107 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Dodge Stratus. The contact stated that when vehicle was started, there was a loud noise as he vehicle stalled. A local mechanic was unable to diagnose the failure but advised that the failure was more than likely caused by an engine failure. The vehicle was not repaired. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 89,107. Updated 02/14/12 upated 02/22/12

- Tollhouse, CA, USA

problem #18

Jun 172011

Stratus

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Dodge Stratus. The contact was driving 60 mph when the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to a local mechanic where the contact was advised that the vehicle stalled due to engine sludge build-up and as a result, the engine would need replacing. The contact called the manufacturer and the manufacturer advised that there were no recalls forthe failure and that the vehicle was out of warranty so there was nothing they could do. The engine was not replaced. The failure mileage was 85,000.

- Monticello, KY, USA

problem #17

Dec 232008

Stratus

  • 106,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2001 Stratus and my car stalled while driving, with my two young children in the car right before christmas and the weather was 10' outside and no kidding my cell phone had enough charge for one phone call to my husband to come out and help me. I had it towed to the dealer were he could find nothing wrong. But the car was 2 qts. Of oil low. So all they did was change the oil and tell me that the car is drivable for someone that wouldn't be tough on it. I took it out the next day and it made the worst noise ever. No after reading all these complaints I feel very strong that it was also the sludge. I don't want to let this go. It makes me sick to my stomach, my husband kept up with the oil changes to prevent this from happening. I don't want to take this situation lightly, but yet unsure what can be done.

- Melrose, NY, USA

problem #16

Nov 042008

Stratus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,890 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Dodge Stratus. While the vehicle was parked in a loading zone, the engine suddenly shut off. The vehicle made a knocking noise and the contact attempted to restart the vehicle, but was unsuccessful. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and they stated that the water pump, oil gasket, and timing belt failed. The vehicle was towed to a different shop for a less expensive repair. The new repair shop confirmed the same failures, in addition to oil contamination and the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle is currently at a local repair shop. The current and failure mileages were 62,890. Updated 02-18-09 updated 02/18/09.

- Sartell, MN, USA

problem #15

Aug 162008

Stratus

  • 0 miles
2001 Dodge Stratus...noise in front end. Told it was bearings on 3 separate occasions, and they were replaced. Engine ticking/ possible valve tap numerous complaints to dealer being told that year model runs rough; and could trade it for a more expensive car. Now trying to have rear struts put in and the aluminum plate that holds them in is powder. The part is not available. Dodge is the only place to order the part and was informed this is an old car and the part was on back order.

- Pompton Lakes , NJ, USA

problem #14

Aug 122008

(reported on)

Stratus 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2001 Dodge Stratus SE has issues with the rear strut mount. Consumer states that there is a back order on the upper strut mounts. The consumer stated the blower resistor stopped working and two days later, the vehicle would not start. The consumer had to purchase a fuel pump. The consumer then started to hear a knocking noise in the steering. The consumer was informed the knocking noise was due to the fact that the steering column was too large for the components. The thermostat broke into pieces and the transmission stopped shifting gears.

- Saint Clair Shores, MI, USA

problem #13

Apr 072007

Stratus 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 109,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2001 Dodge Stratus with a current and failure mileage of 109,000 miles. The contact was driving at 55 mph when the vehicle overheated. The thermostat light turned on, and the contact pulled over. After turning the vehicle off the contact noticed smoke coming from under the hood. The contact did not try to restart the vehicle, and had it towed to Firestone car care, who determined that the engine seized, but did not specify how or why. The consumer stated there should be a recall for the engine as she has found numerous complaints on the internet pertaining to the defect. Updated 07/10/07

- Memphis , TN, USA

problem #12

Dec 152006

Stratus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2001 Dodge Stratus. The contact was driving 65 mph when the contact smelled a strong smell of fuel in the car and the engine warning indicator light came on. The vehicle decelerated, the contact attempted to restart the vehicle and tried several times. The contact inspected the vehicle for possible leaks, but there were none present at the time of the incident. This failure has occurred five times. The dealer told the contact that the engine valve failed. The first incident occurred in 2003 when the head gasket failed at 20,000 miles. The Dodge dealer stated there have been several complaints for the same incident. The contact has take the vehicle to the dealer 5 times for repairs involving the same failure since 2003. A rebuilt engine was installed in the vehicle on one occasion in 2003. The carwas 5 years old with 51,000 miles. The contact tried to register this issue with Chrysler 3 years ago but was not sure it it was successful. The vehicle was under warranty at the time. Updated 01/29/07.

- King Of Prussia , PA, USA

problem #11

Dec 282002

Stratus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2002 had to replace power steering pipe, manufactured to lean on the interior auto body, in which engine vibration rubbed hole in it. 2002 front right wheel makes continuous loud high pitched whistle noise, still does. Dealership discounted it and didn't know why it sounded like that. 2002-2006 engine dies while driving, odometer goes crazy up and down 2006 clock spring keeps breaking, no power to air bag or horn.

- Knotts Island, NC, USA

problem #10

Dec 252005

Stratus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2001 Dodge Stratus with a 2.7L engine. The engine has failed and yet I still have to make payments on my car. I have always taken care of my car and have always had oil changes every 3000 miles. I have read hundreds of stories just like mine and I believe that Chrysler is ripping of its consumers. I think that something needs to be done about this. If I didn't take care of my car that would be one thing, but Chrysler ignoring this problem as if nothing is wrong is another problem. They need to get it together and do something about this.

- Ethel, LA, USA

problem #9

Sep 202004

Stratus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
Engine failed after 50,000 miles, car out of warranty. Oil changed very frequent. Auto manufacturer refuses to acknowledge any responsibility. Also mileage incorrect on odometer when car was purchased used in May 2004 car dealer also does not accept responsibility for inaccurate odometer. All I asked for was a cost consideration in replacing engine.

- Oak Park, MI, USA

problem #8

Nov 072004

Stratus

  • 74,000 miles
While driving 20 mph, the engine blew. The vehicle was towed. The dealership was notified, but did not resolve the problem. The cause was not determined.

- Blackwood, NJ, USA

problem #7

Jan 032005

Stratus

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving the oil light came on, then suddenly engine stalled. When taken vehicle to dealer to be serviced it was determined that it was due oil pump failure. When servicing the oil pump the entire engine was flooded with oil.

- East Greenville, PA, USA

problem #6

Dec 272004

Stratus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Engine is shaking, and oil is building up on the cylinder, causing the vehicle to stall. Consumer will contact manufacturer.

- Dearborn Heights, MI, USA

problem #5

Oct 112004

Stratus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles
Driving on interstate highway at 70 mph when engine started to make noises. Loud bang at which time pulled the car over. Car began to smoke and loose oil. Sheriff gave ride to gas station to get more oil which when put in came right back out. Towed to gas station and found hole the size of a fist in the engine block. Rod that blew the hole somewhere on the highway. Towed 100+ miles home. Luckily no one hurt. No warnings or problems prior. Car no longer under warranty (58,000 miles). Will be having someone look at it to see if it can be fixed and at what cost.

- Racine, WI, USA

problem #4

Sep 202004

Stratus

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,390 miles
Consumer had a 2.7 liter engine which accumulated a great deal of motor sludge. Consumer changed the oil every 3,000 miles. Then, took the vehicle back to the dealership who had the vehicle diagnosed. Manufacturer told consumer that they were not responsible because the warranty expired.

- Fortville, IN, USA

problem #3

Oct 152003

Stratus

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,006 miles
Severe engine knock. Exceded Dodge recommended oil changes, have reciets for oil changes. Yet Dodge dealer denies warranty do to ngine oil sludge build-up.

- West Islip, NY, USA

problem #2

Nov 082003

Stratus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
I have constantly taken my car in for the same reasons. The car jerks, the whole car vibrates when it rains, if it's cold out the car refuses to start in the morning. There have been numerous transmission and piston problems.

- Clinton Township, MI, USA

problem #1

Jul 222003

(reported on)

Stratus

  • 51,000 miles
Consumer advised that vehicle was excessively overheating whenever driven. Dealer serviced several times, but could not diagnose problem. Recently, dealer discovered aluminum shavings were present inside of cylinder "head" causing overheating.

- Clinton Township, MI, USA

Not what you are looking for?